Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars electro brilliance
This is a brilliant selection of electronic music featuring some well known tracks with some lesser known material & is thoroughly enjoyable.
Published 10 months ago by alan

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not ALL bad
Take the first review with a pinch of salt - it's not ALL bad. Yes, there are certainly plenty of 'empty disco' mixes. Difficult to define but instantly recognisable, with lots of twiddley bits but zero soul, rhythm or emotion. Heaven 17 kicks off with a 'natural' extended version, i.e. once heard it's the 7" mix that sounds odd and strangely truncated. Talk Talk's...
Published 23 months ago by North London Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars electro brilliance, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant selection of electronic music featuring some well known tracks with some lesser known material & is thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rare and Racy!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a partner to the Electrospective (black cover) album, this is a pretty impressive collection of classic electronica (as well as some fairly recent pop hits) and some tracks that tick both boxes; Depeche Mode's Personal Jesus and The Human League's Sound of the Crowd to name but two. The first album incorporated oddities such as the original Doctor Who TV theme music, but this follow-up treads more familiar territory, with only a handful of remixes that aren't of chart hits from the Eighties and Nineties; William Orbit's hypnotic Water from a Vineleaf, and Moskow Diskow from Telex sit fairly comfortably alongside more familiar numbers like Soul II Soul's number one hit Back to Life, and Erasure's lilting lullaby Always. Disc II is completed by the grating Milkshake from Kelis, and Tinie Tempah's Pass Out; perhaps a nod to current music fans and an attempt to ensure the album is not just restricted to electronic aficionados and Eighties synthesizer devotees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not ALL bad, 30 Aug 2012
Take the first review with a pinch of salt - it's not ALL bad. Yes, there are certainly plenty of 'empty disco' mixes. Difficult to define but instantly recognisable, with lots of twiddley bits but zero soul, rhythm or emotion. Heaven 17 kicks off with a 'natural' extended version, i.e. once heard it's the 7" mix that sounds odd and strangely truncated. Talk Talk's 'remix' is the widely know extended mix. Beyond the new rhythm track, Vicious Pink's mix doesn't add anything notable, so you're better off checking out the original 12" mixes. Grace's LL mix is another widely played club version at the time. Audibly, Inner City's mix actually sounds retrograde as if recorded around '81-'82, compared to the original (Saunderson) Chicago sound that came a few years later. Despite big names the final 4 tracks on disc one are pretty superfluous.
Disc 2 is less noticeable overall, with nearly all the mixes being of the type that enable beat-synced mixes in long sets, so only copping a minute or two of vaguely recognisable pop hit in a club environment. Not pleasurable or really intended for 7 minutes of continuous listening. An odd collection, but usefully available as individual downloads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retro but not as good as it thinks it could be!, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must admit that I was a bit puzzled why Goldfrapp, Kelis and Tinie Tempah are on an 'Electrospective' album which has artist such as Malcolm McClaren and Grace Jones also present. The remixes did have an 80's feel about them as many of them were extended by limited repartition. That being said, I did enjoy most of the mixes mainly because I have a love for such (sometimes pointless) 80's mixes. However, I urge you before you buy read some of the reviewers reviews who did not like this collection of mixes because they have some very good and worthwhile points to say about this album. I think I could be in the minority here by thinking this is good in its way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value!, 17 Sep 2012
I was surprised to read the other review, I don't think this album is bad at all! It's just a collection of rare mixes from back in the day: Larry Levan, Kevin Saunderson, Carl Craig, Derrick May, MAW for less than a fiver - bring it on I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem mania!, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Carl Hubbard (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Okay, have to agree, why Kelis etc.? Clearly NOT even born when some of these remixes were constructed! But park that - if you want to know the origins of so much of today's sounds, you will be a smart one if you luxuriate in Soul II Soul's Back to Life and the Good Life of Inner City! Of course, the League's Crowd's Sound is where so much electrochic/beep began, and Martin Rushent's extended mixes were...not perfect enough - way back then, we all wanted so much MORE of the Sound of 'This' Crowd!! All such effortless cool, Jay-Z owes it all to those guys, as he contemplates the Pavement from his Penthouse! This is a record of youth for many, miss it at your peril!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unmitigated Dreadfullness, 30 Aug 2012
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can only imagine the look on Phil Oakey's tear-stained made-up face when he realised the horror unleashed on the Human League's 'Sound of the Crowd', or the mascara stained-rivlets inflicted on Jim Kerr's latnen jaw at the abomination imposed on his 'Love Song' by these brutal vandals. Not only have they murdered these songs, they have hung drawn and quartered them.

This remix album is the worst, laziest , most pointless ever. It sounds like it was done on a laptop by a drunken chimp.

Most of the malice is kept for established 80s tracks. These have been pointlessly obliterated and reduced to cranky vocals with squeaking noises over them, or some 'beats' straight out of a cheap phone App.

Then, at the end of disc 2, a sudden change of tac as our 80's artistes are suddenly and inexplicably joined by Goldfrapp, Kelis and (gasp) Tinie Tempah (presumably to get down with the kids).

I imagine that the latter's 'tempah' has been magnified somewhat after this but also that he is consoled by the fact it won't last as long as the fifteen minutes he has- other artists on here will suffer for longer. Tinie by comparison will last as long as the gas from a firefly, and burn just as bright.

Don't waste your money on this old rope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars electrospective remix, 14 Jun 2013
Luv synth sound from the 80's?
Has some great examples of this!
Definitely worth being in your collection, as is the others in this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good collection, but could have been a lot better, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the title says, this is a good collection, but it could have been a whole lot better.
Having remixes of most of these tracks I was hoping for something a little more special, but its nothing to write home about.
Saying that however, due to the very low price, I'm glad I have it for the few gems that are on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been great - but isn't, 20 Aug 2012
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Electrospective (MP3 Download)
This was a great chance for somebody to show how the commercial side of electronic music has progressed from the 60's to the present day. Sadly, what they have done is put together "Now thats what I call hits with a synthesiser on" instead. Usual EMI suspects crawl from the swamp for the umpteenth time (Duran Duran ? Electronic music pioneers? I dont think so..) .. so where are Tontos Expanding Head Band? Kraftwerk? Gary Numan? Faust? Vangelis? Jean-Michel Jarre? Perrey-Kingsley? Oh, and if we're going to do 70's/80's electronic dance where is "I Feel Love" and "This beat is Technotronic"? .. The answer simply is that they aren't on EMI so don't get on the album. The list of missing artists who really should be on here is endless really . Summary, A very poor compilation and a real wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews