Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and repeat
The thumping rhythm of this song is great. I've never downloaded a Kate Bush song before but I can put this on at 9am and leave it on repeat all day long in the background. It's inspirational and full of passion, vibrant and desperate. Wonderful music that has opened up her music to me. It would be amazing if Kate ever teamed up with Muse.
Published 13 months ago by J. C. Chamberlain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's only okay.
The new voice is good but the re imagining of this song for me takes the life out of it. BUT it gives it a different kind of passion too. The urgency is somehow lost and replaced with an intimate weariness.
Subjective is the key word here. For me the original is near perfect so any messing cannot work completely for me but this would have been a classic if it weren't...
Published 5 months ago by P. Bramhall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and repeat, 2 Mar 2013
By 
J. C. Chamberlain (Manchester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
The thumping rhythm of this song is great. I've never downloaded a Kate Bush song before but I can put this on at 9am and leave it on repeat all day long in the background. It's inspirational and full of passion, vibrant and desperate. Wonderful music that has opened up her music to me. It would be amazing if Kate ever teamed up with Muse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reworking of a classic, 21 Aug 2012
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
ms Bush you've done it again.. your voice ..your working.. your essence of a great and meaningful song.pity you didn't appear in person at the 'London 2012 Olympics' but we cant have everything take care and keep up the good work and keep your sun shining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old friend, come to visit., 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
There are two songs that got me hooked on Bush - "Cloudbusting" and "Running Up That Hill". Whilst the first is I suppose the more emotional of the two, R.U.T.H has always held a serenely icy place in my heart. There's no denying the ache in the lyrics, there's no denying the curious pull the song exerts on you long after it has finished, and it has always been one of the songs I say it one of Bush's finest and I personally didn't think it could be bettered. Oh, I know people talk about Placebo's cover and whilst it's very good, it lacks punch, it lacks soul and to be honest is anaemic compared to the original. And then this comes along. Slightly restructured, with new vocals with a shimmering polish only possible with age and maturity. It was breathtaking at the Olympics and it's even more breathtaking with every listen. The previous reviewer says that Bush's work recently has been amongst her finest - I agree. To take a song so iconic and so spartan in structure and execution and refine - not gloss or veneer - parts you didn't even think could be improved upon? She's a genius. If that sounds crazy, then I'm sorry, but there's a reason why whenever Bush releases an album there's a flurry of excitement.

So, in short, it takes the glacial polish and buffs it to a diamond brilliance. It takes the quietly anguished vocal and mixes in the pain of experience and the shimmer of maturity. Here's hoping that whatever she decides to polish up next will be as superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you want to feel how it feels?, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
One of Kate's best songs gets a new vocal and remix, a risky move considering how cherished this track is by fans and non~fans alike, however, Kate has made this song even stronger!! With more mature vocals, it has filled this song with more depth than ever before.
Kate's recent output, 'DIRECTOR'S CUT' & '50 WORDS FOR SNOW' have been some of her best and most emotional work, and this new version of 'RUTH', likewise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REMIXED YES! QUALITY MAINTAINED, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
Yes it's always a risk when a classic like this is remixed, but this is a remix which respects the original. When it was used in the closing Olympic ceremony it created an incredible atmosphere, great to hear a classic track brought up todate with out losing it's original impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's only okay., 22 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
The new voice is good but the re imagining of this song for me takes the life out of it. BUT it gives it a different kind of passion too. The urgency is somehow lost and replaced with an intimate weariness.
Subjective is the key word here. For me the original is near perfect so any messing cannot work completely for me but this would have been a classic if it weren't a re worked classic if that makes sense.
The production is amazing with a good set of cans on. Very intimate, can't think of another way to describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cresting, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Fudge (bristol uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
as a totally biased follower of kate bush i find it irresistable when offered a new product from her and i am very impressed with this offering even though the original still sounds perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Running up that hill 2012, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
It's Kate, it's Running up that Hill, it's a new mix,

What's not to like, er nothing.

three more words required to submit??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Running up the Hill, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
This is a very atmospheric song and Kate Bush does it justice.I think she is very talented and this is one of her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic remake, 2 Oct 2012
This review is from: Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) [2012 Remix] (MP3 Download)
I don't normally like reworking of songs especially one that is still in the mind of many people. Didn't like the original song at first but it grew on me and Kate has proved that you can still make this song work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb60ba534)

This product

Only search this product's reviews