Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really nice piece of kit from Microsoft
I love this little keyboard. It is well made and small enough to be taken anywhere, but not so small that it is hard to type at decent speeds. It is a little heavier than I would like however it feels sturdy and certainly stays put when typing. The cover for the keyboard is very functional and morphs into a nice stand for the tablet. The assembly feels nice (both from a...
Published on 26 Oct. 2012 by Akroama

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great build quality, decent size, connection keeps cutting out
I received this free via the Amazon Vine programme.

The build quality of the device is excellent. The keyboard is large enough to be readily useable and is certainly a UK configuration. For the most part, the keys are full-sized. The function buttons are smaller than usual, as are some of the keys along the edges... most notably the Escape/power button, delete,...
Published 21 months ago by Seren Ade


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really nice piece of kit from Microsoft, 26 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
I love this little keyboard. It is well made and small enough to be taken anywhere, but not so small that it is hard to type at decent speeds. It is a little heavier than I would like however it feels sturdy and certainly stays put when typing. The cover for the keyboard is very functional and morphs into a nice stand for the tablet. The assembly feels nice (both from a tactile response point of view when typing) and from an overall design standpoint.

I use it with a Samsung Windows 8 tablet to turn it into from a very portable hand held device into a very usable desktop station for work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than a virtual keyboard, just not with Windows Phone, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. Mischief (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not sure what's happening with Microsoft. There was a time when its home-grown designs were considered to be functional but inelegant, something you'd happily use at work but wouldn't dare spend your own hard-earned cash on. That isn't a criticism that can be levelled at many of its products today, and although some do still reek of 80's nostalgia (ahem, Xbox One), Microsoft does, on occasion, seek to push the boundaries slightly when it comes to design.

The mobile keyboard is part of Microsoft's 'Wedge' range, which also includes a similar-looking mouse. It comes in a nice, tough cardboard box with a flip-opening lid that also houses the keyboard's hard rubber cover and some manuals. Once out of its box, you can see that some thought has gone into it, with a very thin profile and a chrome band extending right around the edge to help break up the black of the keys and the back-plate. It's also very solid, with not even the keys rattling as I might have expected them to. In fact, the only unwanted protrusion is the battery pack / stand on the back, which sticks out awkwardly but does at least serve to prop up the keyboard at a better angle. It doesn't bend in the middle, as you might think from some of the photos, so it isn't quite as portable as some mobile keyboards, but you'd have no problem stashing it in a rucksack or handbag with little problem.

The keyboard isn't rechargeable, instead relying on two AAA batteries for its power; it also doesn't have any USB ports, so if you run out of batteries while you're on the move then you're pretty much sunk. Nicely, though, the included cover switches the keyboard off when the two are in contact. The cover also bends in the middle, to double up as a stand for your mobile device, as long as you have somewhere flat to stand it up on. What the cover doesn't do, is to provide any protection for the lovely metal back of the keyboard, and a few scratches were evident on mine pretty soon after I got it.

Setting up the keyboard with both my iPad and my Windows 7 PC was a doddle, literally just a case of switching the devices on and holding down the 'sync' button on the side of the keyboard's battery pack. Getting the keyboard to work with my Windows Phone 8 mobile, on the other hand, was a painful process and despite numerous attempts I never got the two to work properly together, with the connection continually dropping out a few seconds after the devices had connected. Given the ease with which the keyboard found my other gadgets I'm hoping that this is a quirk with WP8 and not the keyboard itself, but it's certainly an oddity given that they share the same heritage. Perhaps tellingly, the MS website lists W7, W8, WRT, iOS 4, iOS 5, Android 3.2 and Android 4.0.4 as compatible operating systems, but no mention of Windows Phone.

In use, the keyboard is actually much better than I was expecting given its diminutive size. It's true that it's not overly comfortable to use for a long period of time (especially if it's balanced on your lap) but it is low to the ground so your wrists aren't held off the deck, which does help ease wrist strain. The keys are firm yet responsive, although very much on the small size, as you'd expect; then again, the keys do extend right up to the edge of the keyboard housing so you couldn't possibly get any bigger keys into such a small space. The keyboard is also clearly primarily oriented towards Windows 8, with dedicated W8 Charms and Start button keys dotted about; their inclusion won't have any effect on your use of the thing if you don't have a W8 device, but you'll get more out of it if you do.

The Wedge is certainly one of the best mobile keyboards I've tried, both in terms of its size in relation to its portability and in terms of how it feels to use. I'm not convinced that the trade-off of having to pack it with you is worth it, but that's my opinion on mobile keyboards generally as I have no problem with using the iPad and W8 virtual keyboards. That said, it is better for typing essays on than any virtual keyboard, as long as you don't want to use it with Windows Phone, that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it is very good and doesn't flex at all, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
Dimensions of this keyboard are 25.5 cms wide, 10cms deep and is 2 cms thick where the battery bulge/wedge is (otherwise the keyboard would be just 8mm thick. It is a strong aluminium construction that is reasonably heavy, about 260 grams with a further 200 grams for the rubber folding case.
This means that as a typing platform, it is very good and doesn't flex at all. The keys are tightly fitted into the allocated space and are about the same size as the keys on many full-size keyboards and I find it relatively easy to type fast despite the diminutive size of the keyboard itself. There is a good tactile response that I would be happy to see on a lot of laptops, and it is a far superior keyboard to the onscreen keyboard of any tablet.
I use it as a companion to the Microsoft Surface Pro 3 and it works very well, providing a keyboard that can be physically separated by some distance unlike the Surface keyboard/cover which has to be attached to the screen. The Bluetooth connection appears stable and I have not experienced any drop-outs.
if I wanted to say anything negative then I would say that the rubber cover is a bit excessive for my needs, however you might find it useful if you need to use it as a stand for your tablet. (The Surface has a built-in stand.) Having said that, I have used the cover as a stand for my ipad and it is secure and unobtrusive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great build quality, decent size, connection keeps cutting out, 20 July 2013
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I received this free via the Amazon Vine programme.

The build quality of the device is excellent. The keyboard is large enough to be readily useable and is certainly a UK configuration. For the most part, the keys are full-sized. The function buttons are smaller than usual, as are some of the keys along the edges... most notably the Escape/power button, delete, Control, and the right arrow. These 4 keys are positioned at the corners of the board, and the button shape has been altered to fit the curved design of the board, reducing the size of these keys significantly.

The keyboard itself is light. It's slightly longer than my iPad (about 12mm according to my measure), but is comparable in build quality. The keys are nice and neat, the board mount is brushed metal, the raised wedge section is plastic and houses the battery power supply. The board runs on 2 AAA batteries, and a pair of Duracell ones are included.

The cover, I'm not so sure about. It's a nice idea... but provides protection for the front of the keyboard only. The stand feature is undoubtedly great, if you don't already have a stand, but many a tablet case doubles up, making this perhaps a bit redundant. However, for me, where this really comes a cropper is in terms of added weight. Well built thought the rubberised case undoubtedly is, it's also a good bit heavier than the keyboard itself - despite not providing all-over protection.

Setting up Bluetooth connections is very straightforward, however using them with this board seems to be less so. If the board is inactive for a few seconds, the Bluetooth connection cuts out... then takes several seconds to re-engage. What's been irking me today, though, has been that the Bluetooth keeps cutting out for no apparent reason in the midst of typing. So far, I've experienced 4 such dropped connections while writing this review. Have tried with other devices, and experienced the same problem - finding myself with random sentence fragments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great., 13 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
Battery life is pretty good, roughly 4-5 months between changes. Does not work that well with rechargeable batteries (which it fairly states not to use) as it will cause keystroke delays around 40-50%.
Keys wear quickly but the letters do not. I have the typical "shiny" areas on the keys found on cheaper OEM keyboards which isn't great. Typing is surprisingly comfortable if you're preference is laptop hinge type keyboards.
Keyboard stand is good for any 9-11" tablet and is non-slip. Due to the non-slip material, it does unfortunately out perform a Dyson for dust collection.
Keyboard will only single pair to one Bluetooth device at a time. Keyboard supports the Windows 8 / 8.1 keyboard specifications for hot-keys only so you are required to press FN to access F1 to F12 function keys (regardless of UEFI configuration for this setting).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice keyboard - shame it can only pair with 1 device, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
The keyboard is very attractive, with a metal costruction. The cover is quite nice, folding and acting as a stand. However, it can be fiddly to put on the keyboard, and I am not convinced how long it will last before becoming loose if I keep folding it and unfolding it to use as a stand.

It is a pain that i have to repair it each time i switch from using it with my my phone to using it with my ipad - I really wish it could maintain the pairing with both. If it had this feature I would give it 5 starss. I know that one keyboard has this feature but it didnt look nearly as slim as this one and was a little more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great quality, easy to set up, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
I bought this to use with an Android tablet (running ICS 4.0.4) for when I've got longer emails to send and chose this rather than the keyboard dock designed to be used with my tablet so I could use it with other Bluetooth devices now & in the future. It's a great quality, solid feeling piece of kit with a lovely brushed metal back - certainly not the lightest mobile keyboard but it makes it feel like a premium product. It's very easy to set up. ....insert the batteries, make Bluetooth discoverable on the tablet and type in the code to pair. It seems well thought out in every way - the keyboard has a nifty cover for the side with keys on to protect them when not in use - replacing this switches the keyboard off automatically; this cover also doubles as a folding stand to prop your tablet on and the rubberised finish means it doesn't slip on whatever surface you put it on, but does attract dust/pet hairs. There's a slim rubber strip on the underside of the keyboard which prevents that budging whilst you type. The keys are quite closely packed but I've had no issues adjusting to typing on a slightly more compact keyboard; the keys are responsive and feel like a full sized as far as typing 'feel' goes. Great value for money based on the current price of 46 quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money! 100% Recommend, 7 May 2014
By 
Liam McNulty (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
Pros:
- Quality build with a nice 'expensive' feel
- Works with Windows and iPad flawlessly
- Cover is great to protect keyboard when not being used and ingeniously doubles up as a universal stand for tablets

Cons
- None what so ever!

I previously bought the Anker bluetooth keyboard which was £25, however it felt extremely cheap and flimsy, and broke after only a couple of moths. I'm now glad I spent a little more for something that is well worth the money and far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would have been a nice keyboard if it wasn't for the constant problem of ..., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
Would have been a nice keyboard if it wasn't for the constant problem of repeating keys. The only fix was to turn it off and on at least 4 times and then it would allow you to type again before repeating the same character until it was turned off again. This is a common problem with this specific product which is why it is reduced so much. Ended up smashing it to pieces after it deleted hours of work. Not worth the money, even at the reduced rate because of this problem. Support from Microsoft is also terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent PS4 Keyboard, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout (Accessory)
My primary use is pairing it with my PS4 and playing the MMO FF XIV online - as a result I type frequently and have periods of non-typing/typing to fully test the product.

Overall I have found it excellent. Over the past few days and during sessions of a few hours, it has never disconnected (besides inactive sleep) with no lag presses ('Heeey') or delay in typing after inactivity (such as pressing a key to wake it constantly). It does sleep after a long period of inactivity, but the PS4 will notify you when this happens.

It feels like a wired keyboard to me in terms of its connection performance - which I applaud. The build quality is top touch with a metal back and chamfered edge. The keys are not squishy and have low travel, they are also relatively quiet.

The cover doubling as a stand is premium quality - there seems to be a metal hinge in the middle of it allowing it to hold any position whilst used as a stand. It also turns off the keyboard when it's used.

My only gripe is not being able to instantly touch type on the keyboard - however over time you will get used to it and reduce your errors (such as the smaller Return Key). People with large hands might struggle with this keyboard, however could adapt with some time using the keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard - UK Layout
£58.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews