Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars242
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on 14 February 2013
I have used other packages in the past but I am now used to the mcfee system, although these days it needs less and less user interface, it works far more in the background. It is a large program which can slow your PC / laptop down when scanning, no more than others I think. Never ever pay the normal price, £70 plus, I got this one for £15, 3 user from Amazon. Open your mcafee account, load the disc and mcafee online does the rest. I also purchased an extra user for £10. Please don't forget to disable auto renewal on your mcafee account!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 16 February 2013
I have had McAfee installed which i purchased directly for several years. I recently had an email saying that my subscription was due for renewal. I found this on Amazon and saw that i could get exactly the same package but for the 3rd of the price. Not too sure why it was so much cheaper on Amazon though.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 16 June 2013
It is always hard to know which anti-virus to get and if you check out top 10 lists they change constantly. I tried many, but this is the best I have used so far and unless it starts to give me problems I will keep using it.
This gives anti-virus, firewall, anti-hacking, malware and shows safe sites. It does everything you need to try and stay safe on the net and once installed you can forget about it as it works behind the scenes. I choose to let it update automatically and it does this often, mostly without my knowing, but occasionally there seems to be a deeper update and I can see my PC lowing down briefly - but better this than a virus. A you can use it on 3 computers I was able to buy one and use it on my desktop and also my lap top, and this makes it great value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 2 June 2013
I have used Mcafee products for many years, (on 12 machines for my company) but in the past couple have been driven to distraction by their irritating behaviour and poor backup from the company. The scan feature brings the computer almost to a halt and takes anything up to 5 minutes to stop. If you turn it off, it turns itself back on again later. Productivity suffers and people get cross with their machines before they realise the problem and try to turn it off.

I have had a continually re-occurring problem where the firewall turns itself off and will not be switched back on again. This has been happening for years, but there still does not seem to be acknowledgement from the company how serious a problem it is, or a readily available solution (input "Mcafee my firewall keeps turning itself off" in any search engine if you want to verify this). The best I can find it to carry out a complete re-install, which is fine if you only have one machine, not it it happens to several. Having just spent half my sunday fruitlessly trying to solve this - again - I am ready to switch to another product.

Updates intermittently cause computers to stop working properly, which seem to then be fixed in later updates without acknowledgement that there was a problem. It used to be a very good product and it is a shame that it now seems to be more trouble than it is worth. I notice that the magazines no longer list it as one of the best in its software class. There must be a good reason for this.

I recommend not purchasing this software if you run a company and do not have an in-house IT expert ready to sort out the regular problems for you. Perhaps McAfee monitor these feedback messages and may wish to comment?
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 February 2013
I bought this in a promotion for £16 november 2012, still now I feel robbed.
First of all it is horribly complicated compared to my previous antimaleware. You are obligated to register on the website, changing computer or op-sys will take a week of unactivation period, free support is unaccessable since the site is faulty (details below), remaining option is calling the local HQ for additional money with robots and waiting times. I have to admit though that finaly I could talk to a support agent who was helpful and professional.
The interface is anything but intuitive. Finding reports or adding exceptions are hours of a challange.
Over being complicated it feels also unsafe. Among other problems it blocked my news RSS I've been using for ages, meanwhile I got something that stole my facebook login and sent it strait to Jordan... Never happened similar with Kaspersky.
McAfee's free online support requires to fill a data form (even if you are logged in). This form is buggy. When it asks for e-mail you can type in your e-mail without a problem, then it asks for confirmation and the box wouldn't take the "@" character! Tried four browsers, several page-coding systems on different computers. Talking about a software company- this is quite scary. And how do you tell if a firewall is good? Not necessarily needed for a virus but blockin things Im sure about says to me: It's a software hasn't the faintest idea what it is doing.
Why did I change from Kaspersky? Well, tried to save a few bucks thinkin that McAfee is a big brand too after all,
mustn't be so bad. Now I think it is .
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 27 June 2013
I have been using McAfee for many years but do avoid automatic renewal..Each year I can find it cheaper than the renewal by spending a few minutes internetting. The total protection is easy to use and updates regularly as it should..I cannot compare it to other security services but it does for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 20 January 2013
I have used McAfee for some years now and like the user interface as it is easy to use and seems to cover me from attack.
I have never had any problems installing it on my main desktop PC, laptop and now my Tablet PC running Windows 8.
It has been good value over the years but I would suggest looking around each year for the best price for either download or by purchase of discs. Be wary of auto renew
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2013
I foolishly switched from Bullguard to this heap of steaming ordure. Oh how I long for those days when I could switch on the kettle and the PC at the same time and the latter was ready to use by the time the former had boiled.

Nowadays I have time to make the coffee, drink the coffee, drum my fingers and quite possibly go for a walk before the damn thing has finished doing whatever the hell it is that it needs to do. Hell, my kidneys have finished filtering that cup of coffee before I have a working machine at my disposal.

But this is nothing compared to the utter ball-ache endured when McAfee suddenly decides it needs all my system resources - yes, all of them - even when, and this is the bit that really gets me, I haven't so much as a browser open.

When I first installed it, it would switch the firewall off every five minutes. I would switch it back on. Five minutes later, it would switch it off again. This went on all day, like an electronic Dead Man's Handle, testing me every five minutes to make sure I hadn't nodded off.

That issue is now resolved

Instead, when I switch off the real time scanner because, frankly, it crashes the lappy, a rather counter-productive feature, it switches itself back on. It asks me when I would like it to switch back on. I tell it ''Never''. 10 minutes later, it's back, like the mother in law from hell. I am convinced that only by digging a large hole, filling it with acid, tossing in the hard drive and capping it with reinforced concrete will I ever see the back of that scanner.

It is, as my dear old Gran used to say, a massive turd. Don't buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
We purchased this software and installed it on a new laptop (Windows 8, in case that makes any difference to techie people who know about this sort of stuff)

A few weeks ago, we noticed adware pop-ups (despite having our browser set to disable pop ups), and a programme that was inserting random links onto web pages (hovering over the links demonstrated that they would take you to porn and Rolex sites). So a) the McAfee software did not prevent this infection and b) when we did a scan, the McAfee software said that our computer was fine and fully protected, and no viruses or malware detected.

So, this is bad enough - but then when we phoned McAfee for support, they told us that it was nothing to do with our software, that our settings must be wrong. After we fully explained the problem to the rep (a process that took about 15 minutes, which is rather disappointing), she admitted that it might be a virus, but we would have to pay £59.99 extra to have it removed! So.... if their software fails to detect a problem and allows your computer to get infected, you have to pay twice what the original software cost to remove a problem that you paid for their software to avoid.

Fully frustrated with McAfee, I went to AVG (I have no idea why I ever left them - I think I had some stupid idea that McAfee were more 'professional', as they seem to be the one used by a lot of companies I've worked for) and downloaded their FREE trial - and the free trial detected the problem during the scan (adware virus) and removed it - and the problem is now gone.

With AVG, for free, I got rid of a problem that McAfee would not even look at unless I paid them an additional £60!!!!!

I will definitely never purchase McAfee virus software again. It's the customer service and attempt to sell me another service which should have been free which has really hacked me off (no pun intended).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 19 December 2012
I bought this software to replace a the preloaded trial program which was about to expire on my new laptop (which uses windows 8). I downloaded from the McAfee website as recommended but this caused some of my computer functions to be temporarily deactivated. They returned but a warning appeared indicating that my computer was at risk. The McAfee screen design had changed and the Real Time Scanner was not operating properly. Searching through McAfee Help was not a user friendly experience and an alert appeared indicating that this was a common problem. Eventually, after trying different possible solutions without success, I uninstalled the program (this is not straightforward, you have to use Windows Uninstall followed by a downloaded McAfee program) and then reinstalled it again, this time using the disc. This seems to have worked. I wish I had used the disc in the first place and avoided a lot of hassle. I presume the product will work well, my free one month's trial was OK, but I have reduced the star rating because of the installation grief.

Two days after writing the above I was prompted to upgrade. The changed screen design reappeared, with the same Real Time Scanning problem. I could not contact McAfee via the phone or email link on their website, they didn't work, and I searched in vain for a direct line. Very frustrating and poor customer service. So I uninstalled and reinstalled by disc again. I'm keeping fingers crossed it stays working but I'm very wary of this product. And I've removed another star rating.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

McAfee Internet Security 2014 - 3 User (PC)
McAfee Internet Security 2014 - 3 User (PC) by McAfee (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista / Vista Home Basic / XP)

McAfee Total Protection 2015 - 3 PC (PC)
McAfee Total Protection 2015 - 3 PC (PC) by McAfee (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
50% Off - Latest 2016 Edition. Award winning All-In-1 Protection.
Protect Your Computer From Viruses. Full Protection - Free Download!
New 2015 McAfee Antivirus Security Save 50%, Get Protected Instantly