Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti virus package.
I have used other packages in the past but I am now used to the mcfee system, although these days it needs less and less user interface, it works far more in the background. It is a large program which can slow your PC / laptop down when scanning, no more than others I think. Never ever pay the normal price, £70 plus, I got this one for £15, 3 user from Amazon. Open your...
Published on 14 Feb. 2013 by Colin

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A continual frustration
I have used Mcafee products for many years, (on 12 machines for my company) but in the past couple have been driven to distraction by their irritating behaviour and poor backup from the company. The scan feature brings the computer almost to a halt and takes anything up to 5 minutes to stop. If you turn it off, it turns itself back on again later. Productivity suffers and...
Published 24 months ago by J. V. Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
This rubbish let through a very nasty piece of malware/virus which cost me £80 to remove and reset. The technician advised me to use something other than mcaffe in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and well worth the money, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
perfect product. well worth the money and easy to use ! got this for a business and we are now covered for one year. defo recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable & robust!, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Silvester (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
*** Antivirus/Malware Feature ***

As with most Security Suites, you've got on-access protection and scheduled scans. On-access protection simply scans files for threats as and when you try and access them. For example if you access a folder and it contains a virus, as soon as you open the folder McAfee will scan it and if it locates a threat will remove it pretty much instantly making it really difficult to open a virus even for people who are not very confident with their PC.

Scan speeds seem reasonable:
Quick scan: About 8 minutes.
Full scan: A few hours.

I also found that when I switched from Norton to McAfee, McAfee picked up a number of items Norton had simply missed.

The only gripe I have with the description of this feature is the fact that it doesn't seem to pick up a massive amount of malware. If anything it seems to pick up malware after its been installed, but it would be so much easier if it could pick it up before it was on your PC.

For my day job I work providing Tech Support and I must speak to 20+ a day who have malware on their machine and they can be pretty argumentative because they assume McAfee will protect them against malware. Although this will pick up some malware, it misses a lot of programs which cause popups, redirects and inline adverts.

I personally find the best option is to have a program like this installed to protect you against the serious stuff, then have a free malware removal tool such as Malwarebytes or Adwcleaner on hand for if you do inadvertently installed malware.

I would however add that although McAfee's ability to pick-up malware seems slightly limited, I would say it seems more effective at picking up malware than its main rival Norton.

*** Firewall ***

As far as I can tell the Firewall seems fairly reasonable.

For those that are sat behind a home router, the chances are you won't see many messages from McAfee relating to your firewall (at least for incoming stuff) as most routers now a days have a built in firewall. This means that most unusual connections from the outside world are blocked well before they get anywhere near McAfee.

The main feature of the firewall when you are sat behind a hardware firewall is actually to monitor outgoing connections. If a program appears to be trying to connect to the internet and McAfee believes it may be malicious or suspect, it will prompt you and ask you if you trust the program.

This will generally block malicious programs from capturing your personal details and sharing them online, but can also be used if you can see a program is connecting to the internet and don't want it to.

Sometimes you may find that it thinks a perfectly innocent program could be malicious and blocks it. In that instance its nice and easy to go into the settings and tell it to allow that program full access to the internet.

*** Web Browsing Protection (SiteAdvisor) ***

SiteAdvisor is a useful feature which alerts you when you are navigating to untrustworthy sites. If a website has been reported to be well known for sharing viruses, malware, etc you will often be presented with a page advising you the content of the page you are about to visit could be unsafe. You get a big warning sign which is impossible for anyone to miss. There is also the option to continue to the website if you are 100% confident it is trustworthy.

*** Parental Controls ***

I haven't really used the Parental Controls feature much as I don't have kids. I did have a play around with it though to see if it was any good for the purpose of this review. It was easy to set-up and manage and seemed nice and secure. Protected by an administrator passwords made it really difficult to make any changes without an adults permission.

*** Anti-Spam ***

Again I haven't really used the Anti-Spam features a massive amount – simply because I mainly use webmail which is pretty effective at filtering out spam emails anyway. However I was pretty impressed with the features it does offer. Even for those using webmail you can use it to filter out your junk mail by connecting to your mail server and filtering out the junk emails before they appear in your webmail.

*** Potential Problems ***

I've not personally experienced any problems personally with my copy of McAfee. I do however work providing Tech Support as my day job and there are really only a handful of issues I ever seem to come across with Mcafee and to be fair these are issues which can effect all security suites.

The 2 problems are:

1) Loss of internet access – this is a really common issue which can happen regardless of which Security Suite you use. You generally find that you show as being connected to the internet, but you don't have access to the internet through any of your browsers.

This seems to happen when McAfee has become a little bit corrupted and decides it wants to block all connections to the internet. Sometimes when trying to uninstall it from programs and features, your PC then struggles to remove it because of how corrupted it is or because its still running in the background.

The best way to fix this problem is normally to restart your PC into safemode (this can be done fairly easily with a bit of research, even for those not overly confident with PC's) and download the McAfee Removal Tool. This allows you to remove McAfee completely in safemode ensuring no corrupted components are left behind.

2) Sometimes you just can't get McAfee to open – You'll generally find the icon shows in the bottom right hand corner of your desktop, in the system tray, but try and open it and it either doesn't open at all, or it opens but you can't navigate around the options.

As above. The best way to fix this problem is normally to restart your PC into safemode and download the McAfee Removal Tool. This allows you to remove McAfee completely in safemode ensuring no corrupted components are left behind.

3) It does seem to slow the machine down from time to time, especially when performing a scheduled scan. To be fair however I find this happens regardless of which Antivirus I am using and simply put this down the fact it is having to process a lot of information.

4) Limited malware protection – As mentioned previously although McAfee seems more capiable of picking up malware than alternative Security Suites, its ability to remove malware is nothing like what you would find in free programs such as Malwarebytes and Adwcleaner.

*** Conclusion ***

I have used pretty much every Security Package going at one point or another and McAfee remains my favourite.

It seems a much more reliable package than other Security Suites and its available for significantly cheaper than most of the other packages available.

For those reasons I would personally recommend McAfee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If it was possible, I would give it no stars, 6 Dec. 2013
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
I foolishly switched from Bullguard to this heap of steaming ordure. Oh how I long for those days when I could switch on the kettle and the PC at the same time and the latter was ready to use by the time the former had boiled.

Nowadays I have time to make the coffee, drink the coffee, drum my fingers and quite possibly go for a walk before the damn thing has finished doing whatever the hell it is that it needs to do. Hell, my kidneys have finished filtering that cup of coffee before I have a working machine at my disposal.

But this is nothing compared to the utter ball-ache endured when McAfee suddenly decides it needs all my system resources - yes, all of them - even when, and this is the bit that really gets me, I haven't so much as a browser open.

When I first installed it, it would switch the firewall off every five minutes. I would switch it back on. Five minutes later, it would switch it off again. This went on all day, like an electronic Dead Man's Handle, testing me every five minutes to make sure I hadn't nodded off.

That issue is now resolved

Instead, when I switch off the real time scanner because, frankly, it crashes the lappy, a rather counter-productive feature, it switches itself back on. It asks me when I would like it to switch back on. I tell it ''Never''. 10 minutes later, it's back, like the mother in law from hell. I am convinced that only by digging a large hole, filling it with acid, tossing in the hard drive and capping it with reinforced concrete will I ever see the back of that scanner.

It is, as my dear old Gran used to say, a massive turd. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish!, 20 July 2013
By 
J. Mcshane "Joe McShane" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
I bought McAfee around six months ago because they had a good deal. However, the so-called antivirus allowed all sorts of viruses to get onto my pc. When I contacted McAfee with regard to my computer being infected, they told me that I could pay them around £60 and they would try and clear the infections. I explained that the reason I bought the software was to prevent the infections in the first place and they told me that infections get through anyway. In addition to the poor quality service from McAfee, the antivirus itself substantially slows down the computer. I have now cleaned my computer by carrying out a complete restore and cut my losses by dumping McAfee and getting Kaspersky, which is much better. My advice is, that even if you get offered a discount with McAfee, don't bother. It is more hassle than it's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anti Virus, 17 July 2013
By 
M. Speck (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
Easy to set up on several pcs - initially. However after a few weeks one of the pcs was no longer recognised by McAfee. Sorted out by a very helpful call centre taking over the pc remotely - but that is an hour and a half job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does wghat it says on the packet, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
Cannot tell which internet security is the best, so have tried most. I have to say that McAfee seems to do everything I need, and set up & installation is simple. The only thing I found is that I registered my copy last year then they were asking £54.99 to renew this year. This seems crazy, especially as I just re purchased off Amazon for £23 and still got cover for 3 PCs at half the price. Come on McAfee let's not rip off your customers!!! Offer returning customers a good deal to stay with you !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 21 May 2013
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
The first problem was that the disk didnt work? May be the reason why an £80 package is on sale for £20? ..... Anyway I am a member on the website anyways so I logged in, punched in the code & off I went .... Easy as peas! Also can protect x 3 computers for £20 .... Your mad not to buy this protection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate protection and poor customer support, 4 May 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
We purchased this software and installed it on a new laptop (Windows 8, in case that makes any difference to techie people who know about this sort of stuff)

A few weeks ago, we noticed adware pop-ups (despite having our browser set to disable pop ups), and a programme that was inserting random links onto web pages (hovering over the links demonstrated that they would take you to porn and Rolex sites). So a) the McAfee software did not prevent this infection and b) when we did a scan, the McAfee software said that our computer was fine and fully protected, and no viruses or malware detected.

So, this is bad enough - but then when we phoned McAfee for support, they told us that it was nothing to do with our software, that our settings must be wrong. After we fully explained the problem to the rep (a process that took about 15 minutes, which is rather disappointing), she admitted that it might be a virus, but we would have to pay £59.99 extra to have it removed! So.... if their software fails to detect a problem and allows your computer to get infected, you have to pay twice what the original software cost to remove a problem that you paid for their software to avoid.

Fully frustrated with McAfee, I went to AVG (I have no idea why I ever left them - I think I had some stupid idea that McAfee were more 'professional', as they seem to be the one used by a lot of companies I've worked for) and downloaded their FREE trial - and the free trial detected the problem during the scan (adware virus) and removed it - and the problem is now gone.

With AVG, for free, I got rid of a problem that McAfee would not even look at unless I paid them an additional £60!!!!!

I will definitely never purchase McAfee virus software again. It's the customer service and attempt to sell me another service which should have been free which has really hacked me off (no pun intended).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unhappy with perfomance, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC) (CD-ROM)
This product would not install completely from the disc, necessitating contacting McAfee help. The online agent completed the install remotely after several hours. When the pruduct performed a task, the box informing of the actions completely obscured the screen and would not close. Once again I sought help from the online agent. After two or three days of repeated attempts by the agents to rectify the problem, I finally lost patience and faith and returned the faulty product to you. Unable to say if I would recommend as the product appeared faulty and I did not try again to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

McAfee Total Protection 2013 - 3 PCs, 12 month Subscription (PC)
£24.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews