Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars21
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2012
I'm a fan of Allan Guthrie, and Bad Men didn't disappoint me. If you've a taste for bad people doing very bad things to each other, as casually as you or I might make some toast or take the dog for a walk, then this is for you. It has memorable characters, a serviceable plot (though plotting's not really what it's all about)and some highly inventive violence. Not for the squeamish, but if you've got this far that's probably not you. Guthrie reminds me a little of Charles Willeford, and that's a very good thing. I highly recommend this, and the rest of Guthrie's canon.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
I first came across the author Allan Guthrie in the ebook anthology True Brit Grit. Being curious I decided to investigate more of his work. Bad Men is a crime novel set in Edinburgh featuring one of Mr Guthrie's most interesting characters. Gordon Pearce is an ex-con and loner with only his three legged dog Hilda for company. But he's also a hard man with a heart who unwillingly gets mixed up with the Baxter family whose pregnant daughter May is being threatened by her abusive husband Wallace. Events soon pit Pearce against Wallace but things are not as black and white as they seem. Suddenly halfway through the book events take a dark and sinister direction where horror and terror are absolute. The narrative is packed with short, very readable passages full of random violence and is definitely not for the faint hearted. The novel ends with a bleak finale where no one escapes without some heavy damage. If you've got the stomach for it this may be just your thing. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Pearce and his 3 legged dog, Hilda return in another rip roaring read fm Allan Guthrie. For once Pearce isn't looking for trouble, in fact he's had enough of it. His sister turned to drugs, was raped and killed herself - Pearce found the drug dealer who'd fed her habit and killed him. He got 10 years in prison. Then his mother died in a robbery. So Pearce has no one left, besides Hilda.

When Pearce is approached by a family to protect a pregnant 16 year old from a mad man called Wallace Pearce say no, whatever the price. Then Hilda goes missing, apparently stolen by Wallace. Pearce cannot lose the one good thing he has left and goes after Wallace, with deadly results.

An excellent story told at pace, laced with broad language and a prose that'll make you laugh and punch you in the face this is a top story from a master of tartan noir.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Cracker ,I really enjoyed this book , well written , gave an insight into every character. Didn't stumble through any chapter kept me page turning till the very end . I would recommend this book and will be looking for more from this author. Top drawer !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
I'm a long-time Guthrie fan. His writing has a quality that sets him above so many of the crime-writers of today. 'Hard Man' was always up there as one of my favourites by him - Slammer and Two-Way Split also taking their turn from time to time. Now I have to bring in 'Bad Men' to muddy the waters. Pearce is a fantastic character and here he goes against someone who is also a very hard man (as well as being slightly insane). Pearce is dragged into a family crisis and it leads to a real romp across Edinburgh. The writing's top-notch as you'd expect - tension, energy and pace - with the usual smatterings of very dark humour and highly vivid protrayals of violent behaviour.

Bad men? Nobody writes them better.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Bad Men is one of them reads the more you take in, the more involved you are in the story, despite how complicated the story becomes.
The story depicts Pierce a tough but lonely fellow, who only has a three legged dog called Hilda for company.
When Pierce is hired by a gangster lto take out a psychopath called Wallace who is the husband of the mans pregnant sixteen year old daughter things become complicated when one of the gangsters sons are shot by Wallace, and things soon become heated and spiral out of control.
The plot gyrates and spins the reader and you can get into the minds of the characters. And though there are some gory scenes, it clearly demonstrates the sadisticness of Wallace.
A well deserved 8.5\10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
very good value, by one of my favourite authors. would recommend to anyone who likes a good thriller, very very good price
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Allan Guthrie has a knack for telling this type of tale. If you like your stories this way you will not be disappointed
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
Similar in many ways to his 'Savage Night', this is another Guthrie tale of the dark side of Edinburgh. Again there is lots of violence, some interesting characters, and nobody comes out a winner. Credibility is stretched at times, where the various protagonists continue their activities despite very inconvenient injuries, such as having both feet nailed to plank. Guthrie fans won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
A well written book but a bit too violent for me. Very graphic but I still had to read to the end to see what was going to happen. Believable characters and a change to read a book set in Scotland. As I said earlier, not really my cup of tea but you don't know too you read a book what it's going to be like, but i unfinished it and it was fine. Others will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99
£0.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.