Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read
very good value, by one of my favourite authors. would recommend to anyone who likes a good thriller, very very good price
Published 17 months ago by Mr. George B. Buchan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit far fetched!!
Quite a good read but really too far fetched but hope to see more books by this author....Good luck to Allan Guthrie
Published 13 months ago by Tuiga


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like your stories dark..., 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Allan Guthrie has a knack for telling this type of tale. If you like your stories this way you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. George B. Buchan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
very good value, by one of my favourite authors. would recommend to anyone who likes a good thriller, very very good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BATESY, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Cracker ,I really enjoyed this book , well written , gave an insight into every character. Didn't stumble through any chapter kept me page turning till the very end . I would recommend this book and will be looking for more from this author. Top drawer !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brit noir of the highest order, 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
I'm a fan of Allan Guthrie, and Bad Men didn't disappoint me. If you've a taste for bad people doing very bad things to each other, as casually as you or I might make some toast or take the dog for a walk, then this is for you. It has memorable characters, a serviceable plot (though plotting's not really what it's all about)and some highly inventive violence. Not for the squeamish, but if you've got this far that's probably not you. Guthrie reminds me a little of Charles Willeford, and that's a very good thing. I highly recommend this, and the rest of Guthrie's canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Very Bad!, 10 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
I'm a long-time Guthrie fan. His writing has a quality that sets him above so many of the crime-writers of today. 'Hard Man' was always up there as one of my favourites by him - Slammer and Two-Way Split also taking their turn from time to time. Now I have to bring in 'Bad Men' to muddy the waters. Pearce is a fantastic character and here he goes against someone who is also a very hard man (as well as being slightly insane). Pearce is dragged into a family crisis and it leads to a real romp across Edinburgh. The writing's top-notch as you'd expect - tension, energy and pace - with the usual smatterings of very dark humour and highly vivid protrayals of violent behaviour.

Bad men? Nobody writes them better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a hard life in Edinburgh, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Similar in many ways to his 'Savage Night', this is another Guthrie tale of the dark side of Edinburgh. Again there is lots of violence, some interesting characters, and nobody comes out a winner. Credibility is stretched at times, where the various protagonists continue their activities despite very inconvenient injuries, such as having both feet nailed to plank. Guthrie fans won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rip roaring reading, 12 July 2014
By 
K. Nixon (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Pearce and his 3 legged dog, Hilda return in another rip roaring read fm Allan Guthrie. For once Pearce isn't looking for trouble, in fact he's had enough of it. His sister turned to drugs, was raped and killed herself - Pearce found the drug dealer who'd fed her habit and killed him. He got 10 years in prison. Then his mother died in a robbery. So Pearce has no one left, besides Hilda.

When Pearce is approached by a family to protect a pregnant 16 year old from a mad man called Wallace Pearce say no, whatever the price. Then Hilda goes missing, apparently stolen by Wallace. Pearce cannot lose the one good thing he has left and goes after Wallace, with deadly results.

An excellent story told at pace, laced with broad language and a prose that'll make you laugh and punch you in the face this is a top story from a master of tartan noir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars bad men, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
far fetched but interesting. would not go out my way to look at other works by this author. give it 2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Heart, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Warren Stalley (Bradford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
I first came across the author Allan Guthrie in the ebook anthology True Brit Grit. Being curious I decided to investigate more of his work. Bad Men is a crime novel set in Edinburgh featuring one of Mr Guthrie's most interesting characters. Gordon Pearce is an ex-con and loner with only his three legged dog Hilda for company. But he's also a hard man with a heart who unwillingly gets mixed up with the Baxter family whose pregnant daughter May is being threatened by her abusive husband Wallace. Events soon pit Pearce against Wallace but things are not as black and white as they seem. Suddenly halfway through the book events take a dark and sinister direction where horror and terror are absolute. The narrative is packed with short, very readable passages full of random violence and is definitely not for the faint hearted. The novel ends with a bleak finale where no one escapes without some heavy damage. If you've got the stomach for it this may be just your thing. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit far fetched!!, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Quite a good read but really too far fetched but hope to see more books by this author....Good luck to Allan Guthrie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Men
Bad Men by Allan Guthrie
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews