Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic
It is a shame that this film is not as popular now with younger children as it once was with children when it first came out. It remains one of my favourite Disney Classics, along with The Sword in the Stone, Aladdin, Pinocchio, Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid. You can't help but fall in love with Penny, Bernard, Bianca and Penny's cat and you can't help but...
Published on 27 Jan 2004 by R. Kuske

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable sequel
Quite a different dynamic from the first film. A little less polished, and a bit less quaint. Rough around the edges by comparison but still has some good new ideas.
Published 16 months ago by Olivia13


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but goodie, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
A family favourite when my daughter was younger now getting all videos replaced with DVDs and this is still a firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rescuers DVD, 10 Jan 2011
By 
AnitaLin (Hemel Hempstead) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for my 14 year old daughter for Christmas. She wanted to relive her childhood! She couldn't wait to watch it. She and her (older) sister are still reminiscing. They loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madame Medusa; Disney's greatest villain?, 24 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
Possibly my favourite Disney film, though I'm also fond of The Sword In The Stone and Basil the Great Mouse Detective. They're all classics that have sort of fallen off the radar, not as well known or celebrated as Bambi, Snow White, Beauty and The Beast etc, but as a child they were my favourites. For the most part The Reascuers is a very sweet film, about two little mice who are part of a society dedicated to rescuing children in peril. One is Bernard, a chubby, bumbling former janitor, who is charmingly awkward and nervous, and his glamorous and exotic compainion Bianca, who loves excitement and adventure.
They set off to rescue a sweet little girl named Penny, with a cute lisp, who is an orphan who's afraid noone will ever want her (awwww!). They get help along the way from a sweet old cat named Rufus, and a boisterous albatross who runs his own airline with himself as the plane.
It's all very nice, but as usual a disney film is really only as good as its villain, and the film really comes alive with the arrival of the fabulous Madame Medusa. She is a flame haired monster, with a hilariously pronounced sexy walk and disproportionately prominent rear, a wonderful array of facial expressions and a perfect voice for expressing contempt and bad temper. I used to fall about laughing when ever she snarled 'oh, shuttup!' at her hapless accomplice, Snoops, which is something she does fairly frequently. She is just a wonderful work of character in animation, whether she is driving recklessly in her demonic, exhaust spewing car, attacking her pet crocodiles with a broom, or persuading Penny to go into a dark, flooded cavern to retrieve a diamond; my favourite Disney villain, just a little above the gloriously self absorbed Gaston and the evil professor Rattigan!
Its a great film for children, but I have to be honest, I watched it just the other day and still loved it as much as ever, so either its an ageless classic, nostalgia got the better of me, or I haven't matured a day since primary school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Amazing, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
"The Rescuers" is still a movie shown to animation students everywhere; the animation in it is simply that stupendous and magical. This 1977 animated movie still delivers. Strong characters and story help it to shine as brightly today as the diamond on which the whole story centres.

At the Rescue Aid Society in New York (beneath the UN Headquarters), a message in a bottle pleading for help is examined. Bianca, a foreign representative, takes the case and selects timid but moral janitor Bernard for the job. They set out to find the girl, Penny, and help her all they can. That the two are mice won't distract them from dealing with larger-than-life foes such as the incredible Medusa, her bumbling partner-in-crime Snoops and alligators Brutus and Nero. Penny, whom Medusa uses to search for the legendary diamond the Devil's Eye due to her small size, needs all the help she can get. But the Rescuers are up against formidable foes.

The Rescuers is a short movie, only about 75 minutes, but it packs its punch into its short time frame. The characters really make the movie shine. Bernard and Bianca work wonderfully together, as does the troupe of supporting characters such as the swamp rodents. The only character I don't like is the mosquito whose name I keep forgetting, and who has a large part in the movie. Penny is adorable and we totally feel for her in the horrible situation she finds herself in.

However, the star of the movie is Medusa, the sort of character who only occurs once in cinema. She is despicable and repulsive, yet beautifully so; she is fascinatingly and charismatically evil. Here is a person who has pet alligators and deals with rodents by shooting them with a shotgun. Geraldine Paige nails the voice role, but it's the animators who bring her so fantastically to life. Disney was using another sort of production style at the time, where they xeroxed their drawings, resulting in the rough pencil style also seen in the Aristocats and Robin Hood. Some reviewers here don't like it, and I couldn't disagree with them more. I personally love this style, as it draws out the true rawness and beauty of the animation; it isn't trying to hide the draftsmanship behind it all. As I stated above, The Rescuers is still noted for its animation. More than once, in my animation school, have my teachers liked to show us Medusa's first clip, on which you could model a whole animation class. Medusa's gestures, moves, looks and little mannerisms represent a level of animation that only a master can stout at possessing. What did you expect, from someone like Milt Kahl? All this makes Medusa not only a marvel in animation, but a timeless and electric character that will live on in our minds for a long, long time.

Interestingly, the villains in the movie attracted all the best animators. Not only Medusa but her "sweetheart" Snoops is fantastic. Pet alligators Brutus and Nero are then simply astounding, doing for animal animation what Medusa does for human animation. The scene where they're playing the organ is simply delicious to behold.

The Rescuers is an amazing animated movie for the ages. It's got something for everyone; great story, awesome characters, stupendous animation (which brings both of the aforementioned to life). This is one of those times when animation fully reveals its potential. Let it be forever heralded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time favourite, 5 Sep 2008
By 
Jennifer Wood "Jen Wood x" (Merseyside UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
This film is not a very famous disney, however it is one of mine and my sisters favourites!
Funny, happy and tear jerking, this film is fantastic and a classic that can be watched over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Rescuers, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of fun! I particularly like Evinrude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
Family favourite film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Rescuers, 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my very young grandchildren. It's one of my favourites but I think it was a bit sophisticated for the children in that they were unable to appreciate the subtle irony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rescuers [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Rescuers [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Art Stevens (Blu-ray - 2012)
11.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews