Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic
It is a shame that this film is not as popular now with younger children as it once was with children when it first came out. It remains one of my favourite Disney Classics, along with The Sword in the Stone, Aladdin, Pinocchio, Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid. You can't help but fall in love with Penny, Bernard, Bianca and Penny's cat and you can't help but...
Published on 27 Jan 2004 by R. Kuske

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good.
Good product at a reasonable price with excellent service - Thank you.
Published 1 month ago by Alan Maloney


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 27 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
It is a shame that this film is not as popular now with younger children as it once was with children when it first came out. It remains one of my favourite Disney Classics, along with The Sword in the Stone, Aladdin, Pinocchio, Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid. You can't help but fall in love with Penny, Bernard, Bianca and Penny's cat and you can't help but hate Madame Medusa and her cronies. This one will be enjoyed by those who love Disney and those who have never seen a Disney film before. One for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brrrrrilliant!, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great kids film! The songs are catchy but not too annoying (Think more in the background like Toy Story). It's a Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming tale with all you'd expect of a good Disney film., 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This is a story well-told, with lots of charm, humour, pathos and excitement. There is a wonderful team of goodies pitted against a delightful team of baddies - Disney does great baddies! A little girl has been kidnapped, and two heroic mice, with lots of animal help, set out to rescue her. The story is a visual delight, in the best Disney tradition, and still has my family on the edge of our seats many viewings down the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's most charming films ever!, 27 April 2003
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
"The Rescuers" has got to be one of the best, dramatic, dark-atmosphered films that Disney has ever created. You can't help to fall in love with the sweet tale of a little orphan girl taken away from the orphanage and used as a slave in life-threatening underground missions. That piece of storytelling, on it's own is tear-jerking, but how emotional can it get? Very.

Beautiful, dramatic melodies that sound like lullabies are carefully added as finishing touches to the most warm scenes, beginning with the artistic musical sequence "The Journey," which opens the film in one of the most heart-calling ways Disney has ever done, to the soft "Someone's Waiting for You" in which the young girl Penny, loses and regains her faith and hope once again, you can't help but feel the urge of crying during scenes like this. The scene in which Penny says her night prayers before going to bed was carefully crafted to bring up a bit more emotion to the upcoming climax.

Songs like "Rescue Aid Society" and "Tomorrow is Another Day" are nicely added to allow the viewer a few moments of happiness during the charming film.

Besides the music, Disney has added several moments of action and suspense, including one in which Madame Medusa, the kidnapper, lowers poor innocent Penny into a dangerous and humid cave at the shore in which the girl's life might be threatened enormously, Medusa could care less about that, making you hate her even more, which makes her a fantastic villain whom from the first moment of the film's opening, she is motivating the story.

A lot of humor, fun and colorful and lovable characters are added to take you away from the dark atmosphere once in a while. The ending is one of the happiest among Disney's finales and certainly leaves you hoping for a sequel, one in which you can be sure Penny is happily living and away from harm's way as it would have happened in early development of "Oliver & Company" and not at all what we got in the lame "The Rescuers Down Under."

Overall, "The Rescuers" along with "Dumbo," "The Fox and the Hound" and "Bambi" is definitely a charming story anyone can enjoy. Disney's currently releases of the film leave a lot to be desired, especially the picture quality. Hopefully Disney will soon release this film properly like it deserves to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Amazing, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
"The Rescuers" is still a movie shown to animation students everywhere; the animation in it is simply that stupendous and magical. This 1977 animated movie still delivers. Strong characters and story help it to shine as brightly today as the diamond on which the whole story centres.

At the Rescue Aid Society in New York (beneath the UN Headquarters), a message in a bottle pleading for help is examined. Bianca, a foreign representative, takes the case and selects timid but moral janitor Bernard for the job. They set out to find the girl, Penny, and help her all they can. That the two are mice won't distract them from dealing with larger-than-life foes such as the incredible Medusa, her bumbling partner-in-crime Snoops and alligators Brutus and Nero. Penny, whom Medusa uses to search for the legendary diamond the Devil's Eye due to her small size, needs all the help she can get. But the Rescuers are up against formidable foes.

The Rescuers is a short movie, only about 75 minutes, but it packs its punch into its short time frame. The characters really make the movie shine. Bernard and Bianca work wonderfully together, as does the troupe of supporting characters such as the swamp rodents. The only character I don't like is the mosquito whose name I keep forgetting, and who has a large part in the movie. Penny is adorable and we totally feel for her in the horrible situation she finds herself in.

However, the star of the movie is Medusa, the sort of character who only occurs once in cinema. She is despicable and repulsive, yet beautifully so; she is fascinatingly and charismatically evil. Here is a person who has pet alligators and deals with rodents by shooting them with a shotgun. Geraldine Paige nails the voice role, but it's the animators who bring her so fantastically to life. Disney was using another sort of production style at the time, where they xeroxed their drawings, resulting in the rough pencil style also seen in the Aristocats and Robin Hood. Some reviewers here don't like it, and I couldn't disagree with them more. I personally love this style, as it draws out the true rawness and beauty of the animation; it isn't trying to hide the draftsmanship behind it all. As I stated above, The Rescuers is still noted for its animation. More than once, in my animation school, have my teachers liked to show us Medusa's first clip, on which you could model a whole animation class. Medusa's gestures, moves, looks and little mannerisms represent a level of animation that only a master can stout at possessing. What did you expect, from someone like Milt Kahl? All this makes Medusa not only a marvel in animation, but a timeless and electric character that will live on in our minds for a long, long time.

Interestingly, the villains in the movie attracted all the best animators. Not only Medusa but her "sweetheart" Snoops is fantastic. Pet alligators Brutus and Nero are then simply astounding, doing for animal animation what Medusa does for human animation. The scene where they're playing the organ is simply delicious to behold.

The Rescuers is an amazing animated movie for the ages. It's got something for everyone; great story, awesome characters, stupendous animation (which brings both of the aforementioned to life). This is one of those times when animation fully reveals its potential. Let it be forever heralded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disney Classic Gets Upgraded, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I have always been a huge fan of the film's sequel Rescuers Down Under, with this one always merely being fun to me, however I was still excited when heard this was getting the blu ray treatment, and I was not disappointed.

Film - the film itself is a classic, and contains an interesting balance between the sweeter side of Disney as well as some of it's darker more forgotten about elements that push the limits of a child-friendly film. However that said, having grown up watching this and darker installments, I don't think it would have any lasting effect and if anything works as an ideal starter for your child to grow curious about darker films as they get older.

Transfer - the transfer looks great, with only minor distraction being how crisp and clear the visuals looked mixed with the slightly scruffy line art style of film characters itself, but this is easy to settle in to.

Extras - comes with a deleted song, sing-a-long, and two animated shorts which are relatively fun for a fan. As well as an introduction to Blu Ray with Timon & Pumbaa, and of course the Disney Movie Rewards card to redeem on the site and earn points towards a free title.

So overall, although this is not the most amazing visually, or crammed with extras of the Disney catalogue, if you enjoy the film or wish simply to see how it holds up, this is notably superior to the dvd equivelant, and worth the money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grants all wishes of all ages, 9 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
This is Disney at its best !
Younger kids are guaranteed to be watching this movie until they know every word, and sing along with every song.
The 'older kids' will be appreciating the truly mastered animation and non-violent storyline. Disney has always had its way of making the audience feel for the characters. Nobody knows how they do it, but they manage to turn a series of drawings and sounds into a magical, emotional tale like no other. 'The Rescuers', once again, pulls it off and leaves everyone satisfied.
A 'pure' Disney-adventure, suitable for all ages...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film but the picture quality needs serious improvement, 30 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
Movies like The Rescuers are simply not made anymore. Nowadays, it's all CGI with retarded, unfunny jokes, with no real seriousness or conflict to be found. The Rescuers has all that it says in the tagline - Mystery, Fun and Intrigue! Despite what others say, this truly deserves to be called a masterpiece.

The very idea of two little mice saving an orphan girl sounds very juvenile and slushy - but here, it isn't. The Rescuers combines dark themes such as child exploitation to light refreshing comedy which does not detract from the seriousness of the whole film. Benard and Bianca are very admirable characters, and the swamp creatures are hilarious. Madame Medusa is an excellent villainness. She's intimidating and funny at the same time. There are plenty of colourful characters, Brutus and Nero, the two crocodiles, Orville the albatross and Penny, the sweet yet strong spirited little girl.

The animation is typical scratchy 70s style, but the backgrounds are really top-notch, especially in the swamp scenes. They portray a foreboding atmosphere that works well in the appropriate scenes. The paintings shown in the opening credits were inspirational. There are not many songs in The Rescuers, which is probably one of the reasons why it's such a serious film. The soundtrack is fits in well, and nobody bursts into song. 'Someone's waiting for You' is one of the fews songs that moves me to tears. It is just so touching and beautiful.

Sure, it's not entirely loyal to Magery Sharp's books, but who cares? You might as well just get mad at 'Monty Python and the Holy Grail,' because that doesn't stay loyal to the original Arthurian legend.
So in short, I love this film.

However, I only rate this four stars because of the DVD.
The extras are quite good - the highlights being a True Life Adventure about aquatic birds and a funny little short called 'The Three Blind Mouseketeers.' There's also a featurette about Disney villains and some concept art, which are also quite good. The only real letdown is a pointless, low-tech two minute game that failed to keep my interest (and I'm usually a real sucker for DVD games). But all in all, the bonuses are a nice addition to the film.
As for the film itself, this is the reason for the deducted star. The picture quality is terrible. Not only is it dirty and grainy, but Disney seem to have 're-mastered' the film by making the image darker. The colours seem washed out and dull, with not enough attention to detail. In one scene, Madame Medusa's skin appeared to be grey! The Rescuers would look stunning if the colours were allowed to show there full potential, but, as it is, the picture is worse than my old video tape.

I'm ashamed at how Disney has treated this film. I find this so much more fun and enjoyable than the likes of Tarzan, The Jungle Book or Finding Nemo. This is one of my Mum's favourites, this is one of my favourites, and it is beloved by many fans who are eagerly awaiting a Platinum Edition with superior sound and picture quality. But if you can't wait that long, you might as well pick this up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rescuers, 1 Jan 2014
By 
J. A. Royall "Her maj" (Burton on Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this in the pictures when it first came out and I loved it then and I loved seeing it again and again. Great family watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I remember, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rescuers [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this movie as a kid with my siblings and we all loved it, I got this for my nephews and they loved it too, my sister and I enjoyed it as much as when we first saw it. would recommend any day!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rescuers [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Rescuers [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Art Stevens (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews