Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Bit of a Ding-Dong with the Hun"
When I was growing up in the 1970s, "War and Westerns" was an established section of the average WH Smiths, and authors like Sven Hassel and Leo Kessler were practically household names (at least to the boys, sorry "young adults" of my generation). But while military history still takes up half the non-fiction shelves in Waterstones, military fiction seems to have slipped...
Published 21 months ago by John P

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good read
I didn't realise that this was a short story,and was a bit disappointed as it seemed that just as the reader got into the story that the book comes to an end, having said that,the story is well told and enjoyable,the characters are believable. I have now purchased the other two books in this series and enjoying the follow on story
Published 5 months ago by P Roper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "A Bit of a Ding-Dong with the Hun", 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I was growing up in the 1970s, "War and Westerns" was an established section of the average WH Smiths, and authors like Sven Hassel and Leo Kessler were practically household names (at least to the boys, sorry "young adults" of my generation). But while military history still takes up half the non-fiction shelves in Waterstones, military fiction seems to have slipped out of the mainstream. Recently, however, it's been making something of a comeback, pioneered by gritty WW2 series from the likes of James Holland and Michael Asher. And indie authors have followed them into the breach, including Jack Badelaire, whose Commando: Operation Arrowhead kicks off an action-packed new series of its own.

Badelaire writes an insightful blog on what he calls post-modern pulp fiction and he highlights the suitability of the ebook format for short, punchy, 'disposable' stories written primarily to entertain. Operation Arrowhead follows the body-littered progress of a British commando mission into occupied France, a focus that is particularly welcome coming from an American writer, given that Hollywod tends to focus exclusively on the US experience of war. Badelaire clearly has an interest in the subject, backed up by detailed research, and he largely manages to make his British characters sound British (No mean feat, as Dick van Dyke could testify). Tom Lynch, the hero, hails from Ulster, and I didn't really get a sense of his Irishness, but his sergeant is unmistakeably Scottish! More significantly, Lynch can serve in the British Army with scarcely a qualm even though his father was killed by the British during the war of indepence. They're uniting against a common enemy, of course, but I think Badelaire could draw out a more conflicted aspect to his character in future stories.

The real appeal of this kind of book is that it cuts away the fat and gets stuck in to the action in short order, with numerous gunbattles, air strikes and scenes of wholesale slaughter packed into its 190 pages (I read the printed version). But there's also some insight into the characters and an appreciation of the tensions between hit-and-run raiders and their French allies who have to stay and fight on their own soil. Badelaire cites films like Where Eagles Dare and the Dirty Dozen as an inspiration, but I was put more in mind of straight-ahead commando movies like Attack on the Iron Coast and the recent Age of Heroes. He also mentions pulp war fiction such as the Rat Bastards series. I haven't read any of these, but Badelaire doesn't go for the exploitation jugular in the quite same way, at least if the Amazon previews are anything to go by. In Operation Arrowhead, a beautiful French girl must be rescued from her evil captors, but there's no time for any steamy sexual encounters amid the ongoing mayhem.

As befits the genre, the Nazi characters are reliably cruel, sadistic and/or stupid. After a spectacular final battle, I felt that the chief villain was dispatched a bit too easily, but the book ends with the arrival of a new and formidable opponent whose SS unit will obviously feature in forthcoming tales.

Those of us who take an interest in World War 2 are sometimes asked why we're still talking about it 70 years after the event. The obvious answer is that people will be reading, writing and myth-making about World War 2 for as long as they have about the Trojan War. It is an archetypal human conflict, the most dramatic (and dramatically satisfying) event in the whole of history. Operation Arrowhead is an enjoyable, fast-moving read which continues that tradition, and I look forward to the next instalment.

(The title of this review is a comment quoted in Nicholas Rankin's book on Ian Fleming's Commandos, referring to a vigorous shoot-out. It seems to sum up the attitude quite nicely)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a fictional story just like a war movie. But you find it easy to get into and follow the story line with expectation. Was enjoyable and also informative. Have also bought the follow up to this and look forward to reading when on my hols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Read this book over a couple of days and enjoyed it. It reminded me of the monthly comic books of my youth. The story rattles along at a good pace which makes you want to turn the next page which is always a good indication.
The characters have enough depth to make them believable and there is enough action for most people.
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with plenty of detail about weapons and vehicles, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great book with plenty of detail about weapons and vehicles. Very well written, you almost feel as if you are a Commando yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good read, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't realise that this was a short story,and was a bit disappointed as it seemed that just as the reader got into the story that the book comes to an end, having said that,the story is well told and enjoyable,the characters are believable. I have now purchased the other two books in this series and enjoying the follow on story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Alan Moss "mossy70" (wisbech, cambs u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good read,a little far fetched, but worth a read, have now read several of the commando series and well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Like an old fashioned Commando Comic in novel form. I real ly enjoyed it, a bit contrived in places but none the worse for that, not high art but really good fun. Good characters great story can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars War story tales, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book, found that some of the detail was gory so it left nothing to your imagination, will probably purchase more from this writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A well written, easy to follow book. An interesting subject that appears to be well researched. I'll be looking for other books by Jack Badelaire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
great book! if you like reading second world war books this is a must! first in a series about british commandos! i have read this one and the second cannot wait for the third!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Operation Arrowhead (COMMANDO Book 1)
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews