Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle
I'm reserving judgement on this as I've only had it a few days and there have been some comments about leakage, so 4* so far, else it would have been 5.

Bought to replace a cheapo plastic supermarket own brand which was still perfectly OK, but a little on the slow side being only 2.2kW. At 3.0kW, this is considerably faster. At 1.7l, it is only 100ml smaller...
Published 20 months ago by RIKI

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaks
A pleasing looking kettle, but should you pour too fast water leaks from the spout and I would recommend looking at other models.
Published 15 months ago by Mrs L F Cusack


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
I'm reserving judgement on this as I've only had it a few days and there have been some comments about leakage, so 4* so far, else it would have been 5.

Bought to replace a cheapo plastic supermarket own brand which was still perfectly OK, but a little on the slow side being only 2.2kW. At 3.0kW, this is considerably faster. At 1.7l, it is only 100ml smaller capacity yet appears a so much smaller, neater and stylish overall shape and size. There are water level gauges on both sides, which glow blue when it is actually operating, and are useful for either left or right handed use.

Numerous reviewers comment that the lid does not open sufficiently for easy filling. This is simply not entirely true. True, it only flips up to about 45 degrees on the button, but from there you can easily push it further up to a useful 90 degrees. It kind of flips fully up over a notch, rather like a car mirror which is spring biased to out but with a little extra pressure, folds flat.

It is not particularly noisy either. You can hear it alright but claims that you can't hear anything else over it are somewhat exaggerated.

There have also been some negative comments about it not pouring easily, particularly for those with limited dexterity. Well, I have had no trouble; it pours very cleanly. Whist I sympathize with those of poor dexterity, nobody has ever claimed that this is especially made for the disabled. There are plenty of mobility shops around selling ones that are..

At £24.95, it is an absolute bargain if you're looking for a modern,stylish kettle that boils fast and looks good in the kitchen..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kettle, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
This is the third kettle from Russell Hobs over many years and it is by far the best yet I would recommend it to anyone looking for a really good kettle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russell Hobbs Orleans Polished Kettle, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
I would recommend this kettle to everyone who needs to purchase a new kettle. It looks great, very quiet when boiling, nice blue colour when turned on, goes well with most kitchens, no funny tasting water. It makes an excellent Cuppa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good kettle - no problems here, 31 Mar. 2015
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
This was bought to replace a supermarket own brand suddenly leaking kettle which lasted around 12 months.

After having a quick look around this one seemed to be a good choice and cheap enough thanks to the reviews. It came in a box with the corded base and an instruction booklet. There is a one year guarantee with this one. I have uploaded a few pics to accompany this review.

It's a nice looking kettle you get here. It's stainless steel so easy to keep/wipe clean. The element inside is concealed which means it will last longer and work more efficiently. There is a measuring window either side of the body which goes upto 6 cups or 1.7 litres. When boiling water this window is illuminated by a blue light which goes off once boiled - a nice visual touch which I like as somebody who comes from a family with visually impaired people. The electric cord is approx 26 inches long.

The lid opening mechanism is easy and smooth and there is a filter in the spout. The spout is also perforated which aids a steady stream when pouring so it doesn't go all over the place!

This is a 3kw kettle so it does boil quick but with power comes noise! It is a bit noisy but that's the way it goes if you want a quicker boil. It's not that bad to be honest - it won't wake the baby anyway! :)

I like this kettle and think it will last some time longer than my last one. If you're looking for a good but inexpensive kettle - you won't go far wrong choosing this one. Recommended.

I will update this review if anything comes up or it explodes or something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what is says on the tin, 20 May 2014
By 
Mr. T. Jones (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
Nice design
Quick boiling
Auto switch off
measurement indicator
what more do you want from a kettle especially at this price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaks, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
A pleasing looking kettle, but should you pour too fast water leaks from the spout and I would recommend looking at other models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kettle, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
This kettle replaced a previous Russell Hobbs kettle. We prefer a polished finish kettle and the water measure is helpful. Good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished kettle, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
Russell Hobbs polished stainless steel kettle, just the size for my needs. Looks very attractive on work surface.
Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a kettle and does exactly what it's suppose too ..., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
It's a kettle and does exactly what it's suppose too. Our last Russell Hobbs latest about 9 yrs so hopefully this will be the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Seems okay, returns policy means I am stuck with it though, even though not required, 24 May 2015
By 
Glittterball Girl (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle (Kitchen & Home)
This was bought because my old rather nice kettle seemed to be leaking, but then decided it was not allowing itself to be pensioned off for a newer model! Amazon has become quite peculiar about returns now - this kettle was no longer needed it would have cost about a fiver to return. The new returns policy will prevent me from buying so much from Amazon now, not that I have ever returned anything much. So, I now have to store this, all boxed up, ready for my old, happily working, kettle to die. It could take years by which time this kettle will be well out of date and its guarantee will not apply. I used to think of Amazon as the John Lewis of the Internet, but will probably just buy small electricals in the future directly from John Lewis as their returns policy remains a good one. I have bought loads of small electricals (steam cleaners, microwaves, laptops, pressure washers, food processors etc) directly off Amazon in the past, but John Lewis now gets all the business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Russell Hobbs 19390 Orleans Polished Kettle
£26.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews