Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Finale to "The Strathglass Trilogy"
Affric, Duncan Chisholm's fifth solo album, is the third and final part of a musical journey that started six years ago with the recording of Farrar (Album of the Year at the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards in 2008) and continued with Canaich in 2010.

Those three albums "form the Strathglass trilogy," Duncan Chisholm's musical homage to the Chisholm lands in...
Published on 7 Nov 2012 by R. Muir

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet!
This was my first purchase of material by this Artist and for my money he is brilliant if you are into soft traditional Celtic music. There is a fine mix of sad laments and up tempo tunes. Unfortunately, just as I was beginning to enjoy it, it suddenly stopped, and on checking the sleeve I couldn't believe it only has 43 minutes of running time! A bit of a cheek in this...
Published 13 months ago by Wendywoo 59


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Finale to "The Strathglass Trilogy", 7 Nov 2012
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Affric (Audio CD)
Affric, Duncan Chisholm's fifth solo album, is the third and final part of a musical journey that started six years ago with the recording of Farrar (Album of the Year at the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards in 2008) and continued with Canaich in 2010.

Those three albums "form the Strathglass trilogy," Duncan Chisholm's musical homage to the Chisholm lands in Inverness where the musician grew up.
The Chisholm lands are also part of the family's ancestral history.

The tunes on Affric, like its two predecessors, form musical pictures and create mini-soundtracks to some of the most beautiful areas and places in Scotland.
Each piece features Duncan Chisholm's fiddle as the narrator, with accompaniment or complimentary colour added by way of percussion, guitars and other traditional instrumentation (courtesy of a number of excellent musicians including Phil Cunningham, Tony Byrne and Jarlath Henderson).

Duncan Chisholm is one of the best slow air fiddle players in the business - many believe THE best - so it's of no surprise he positively shines on such material, including the emotive and evocative 'An Ribhinn Donn' and `Night in That Land.'
But Duncan Chisholm has more than one string to his fiddle bow, as perfectly exemplified by the up-tempo, rhythmic number 'Running the Cross,' a modern take on the traditional sound.

Each album in the Strathglass series has something to offer, but Affric has the feel of presenting shorter stories as opposed to bigger pictures.
It's as if the credits are rolling on the final instalment of the trilogy while images of `The House in Rose Valley' and `The Flooded Meadow' flash into the listener's mind.

Affric is a fitting culmination to the six years work that went into creating the Strathglass trilogy, but it's not quite the end of the story...

In January 2013 Duncan Chisholm, complete with full band and twenty-piece orchestral ensemble, will present the Strathglass Suite, a special show that will form part of the Celtic Connections festival in Glasgow.

It's a much deserved accolade for the musician, his music and the event.
Because not only will the festival be celebrating its 20th Anniversary, Duncan Chisholm will be celebrating some of the finest traditional based music you'll ever hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime music. Absolutely faultless., 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (MP3 Download)
I'm not always a big fan of music with no vocals as it can struggle to keep my attention. This an album of instrumental music but I've listened to it many times in the first week and never tired of it. Its varied and with enough hooks to get you humming or whistling along. Seriously tempted to get the first 2 albums in the trilogy if they are anywhere as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Chapter, 10 Sep 2012
By 
E. R. Hartley "Axel North" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (Audio CD)
Duncan doesn't disappoint on this, his final album in the Strathglass trilogy. It's up there with the very best Scottish fiddle playing but what sets the album apart is the use of modern rhythm and atmospherics. Both Cainach and Farrar were groundbreaking CDs and this continues in the tradition. Make no mistake, it is traditional music but the links to the landscape and the weather make it a true Folk classic. If you love Scottish music then this is a must buy. If you love Scotland's scenery, then treat yourself to this beautiful record of an awe inspiring place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (Audio CD)
One of Duncan Chisholm's finest albums. I definately recommend that everyone should get The Strathglass Trilogy (Farrar, Canaich and Affric).

Scottish music at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caviar to the ears, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (Audio CD)
Very delightful from beginning to end . The mix of slow thoughtful and faster tunes works very well . At times I just wanted the last tune to carry on longer as it is so beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Album, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (Audio CD)
So good we actually went for a long weekend to Glen Affric - there isn't any other album I've bought that's made me do that.

A great piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evocative, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (MP3 Download)
Moody magical melodies making more sense of life-this is definitley for relaxing although I also listen to this when I am on the hills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon recommendation, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (MP3 Download)
This came to me on my recommended for you list, from Amazon.
I love Scottish folk music and this came out of the blue, absolutely brilliant album, will be purchasing more from Duncan Chisholm would highly recommend you,ll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (Audio CD)
This album (and the two prior parts of the trilogy) is/are amazing. Whirl away with Duncan and his magical fiddle, you will be transported to the highlands and to the best parts of it at that! Treat yourself and a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affric (Audio CD)
One of the best fiddle players I've heard.
He can play the fast foot tapping jigs and make you weep with his slow traditional tunes. I drove from Scotland to Norfolk and played it in the car all that way and never got bored. I'm learning the fiddle and will I know never get to play this well (started too old) but I can dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Affric
Affric by Duncan Chisholm
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews