Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars103
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2013
I haven't yet completed reading this book, but I have flicked through it and have started reading it seriously. So far I have no complaints. It is well written and although I am only about half way through serious reading, it is answering my questions as it goes, and teaching me more than I had hoped. I would advise doing the set tasks at the end of each chapter in order to cement learning, particularly if like me, you are a novice.

I strongly suspect that once I have completed reading from cover to cover, it will remain an important reference source, making it good value for money and ensuring it will never gather dust.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Just purchased the NikonD3200 so wanted the book on it, and very pleased I am too for getting it.
Easy to follow and very clear print. Certainly would recommend to purchase it.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Excellent guide - starts from the very basics and takes you through all aspects of the camera and its functions. It explains technical issues in a clear and comprehensive manner and is very 'practical', guiding you through set up, shooting and output. It really adds to the manual and has given me the confidence - as a 'new' SLR user - to explore the manual settings.
The language is clear and concise without being simplistic - technical terms and themes are explored and explained.
A great buy.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
New to DSLR photography so wanted a book that would take you through the practicalities of operating my new camera and getting good results. The great thing about the book is that it is not a instruction manual but leads you through how to make the most of your camera in certain situation. There is some technical information but this is pitched at a level which is good. Overall, I would thoroughly recommed this book.
0Comment22 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
If like me you are a complete novice when it comes to DSLR photography, then I would have to thoroughly recommend this book.

Well laid out, everything is in a logical order and is much more that a guide book for your camera, if you follow it you will get really great results out of your D3200. Lots of great tips and suggestions which you won't find in the user manual, well illustrated too. Take some time following the instructions on setting up your camera, and it will help you get the most out of it. There are some very good assignments at the end of each chapter to help you too.

There is a great online section free to download to help you "pimp your camera"! Gives information on using a remote control for example.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
I made a mistake in buying this book as a kindle product and it is really difficult to follow in that format. Otherwise like its previous incarnation in d3100 it is a really good browse.
33 comments7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
I was looking for a book directed at total beginners and this one is exactly it. If you know a thing or two about photography and have used other DSLRs, this is NOT the book for you.

It contains nice photos as example, guidelines on what to look for in each photo and how to reproduce the effects. It also contains a wealthy number of quick tips and good advice that every beginner should learn before taking the camera out for a trip.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The 'From Snapshots to Great Shots' series is a growing one and covers a variety of topics mostly on one aspect of photography, such as landscapes or black and white, or in a couple of instances to date on a specific camera. This is one of those and the camera, although priced for and with a feature set aimed at the user for whom this may well be their first serious camera or dSLR. However, there is one feature of this model that rather sets it aside - and rather far to the side - of many of its similarly priced and featured alternatives; that is its 24 megapixel capability!

The purpose of this book is not to replace the camera manual, although it could, but to expand upon it. In most instances, the manual may explain what a certain button or dial will do and under what circumstances and may also include a list of those items and adjustments that exist within its several layers of menu but does not have the space to explain some of them more fully. Some are quite obvious and speak for themselves but when or why you should allow ISO settings to be controlled by the camera or selected manually may not be fully explained. There are many others where this may also be true, not least the various image qualities on offer. The book offers an opportunity to explore the camera a little further, to add sections which the manual omits and possibly, should you choose, to store it in the gadget bag or otherwise with the camera should you need to clarify something at some later date.

This is one of the first books from any publisher to appear for this model. Whether or not it is any better or worse than its competitors will depend solely whether or not it answers the questions you may have. That isn't a question I can answer for you. You will need to decide.

Of those titles I have seen, the series is one that is worthy of consideration by any new(ish) photographer or one wishing to further explore the subject. Those of its titles that comprise 'camera guides' are slightly different and are likely to be purchased either by those who had recently made the purchase or are seriously considering doing so. There are reviews to be found on-line, but this provides a far more detailed - but different - look at the camera.
0Comment22 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
As i'm a new DSLR owner and have no prior experience of DSLR cameras I needed a book that taught me in an easy to read format.

This book is great, its laid out in easy to understand chapters, building knowledge as you read through. At the end of each chapter are assignments (should you choose to accept them !) and as it's specific to the D3200 it's a great addition to the user manual.

Highly recommended to D3200 owners especially if you are new to DSLR cameras.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Great book with the right balance keeping it simple but technical at the same time, I bought it for my 13 year old boy to get him started in photography and he loves it.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Nikon microscopes and accessories, digital imaging and image analysis.
  -  
We Part Ex Most Cameras Towards The New Nikon D3200. Get A Quote Now!
  -  
Same Camera Brands. Same Quality. Up to 40% Off Everyday, Shop Now!