Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter Collection
If you are new to The Jam you are in for a treat!
The Jam never made a bad song, great singles band, some cracking B'Sides which often over shadowed the A'Side and some great Album tracks.
That's Entertainment : The Collection is an Excellent starting point.
With all great bands there are plenty of Greatest Hits collections to choose from but this budget...
Published 22 months ago by Gawain Morris

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth a buy
Sorry to say, but this must be the hundredth Jam compilation in the past 30 years after the superb "Snap" album, which was authorized by Weller, Foxton and Buckler shortly before the split of the band. Looking at the tracklist it's like a guided tour through the Jam's studio albums without offering listeners any alternate versions or unissued songs. Adding up to this I...
Published 11 months ago by 60's Fanatic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter Collection, 29 Aug 2012
If you are new to The Jam you are in for a treat!
The Jam never made a bad song, great singles band, some cracking B'Sides which often over shadowed the A'Side and some great Album tracks.
That's Entertainment : The Collection is an Excellent starting point.
With all great bands there are plenty of Greatest Hits collections to choose from but this budget collection has been thoughtfully compiled.

The classics are here 'Going Underground', 'Town Called Malice' 'The Eton Rifles' 'Tube Station 'Strange Town' and this albums title track but mixed with some lesser known album tracks including my favourite from All Mod Cons 'The Place I Love' and that standout album track from Sound Affects 'Man In The Corner Shop'. We also have 'The Butterfly Collector' possibly their greatest B'Side but a real curiosity is adding one live track from Dig The New Breed 'Set the House Ablaze' which for me was always a better sounding live track than it was on Sound Affects makes this a cleverly compiled collection.
Ok its missing 'Start!' and 'Beat Surrender' their two other No 1 singles and their debut 'In The City' and no Bruce Foxton tracks but as a nice rounded mix its a very fine collection.
Sleeve notes are also particularly good on this budget collection, well worth investing in. Best Jam compilation under a fiver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent budget album - great for beginners!, 23 Nov 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I know for sure that there will be more extensive collections of The Jam's music, but as someone who was only familiar with the big hits, this three pound (from most stores and Amazon at the time of writing) compilation was just what I was looking for.

Among the tracks are 'That's Entertainment', 'Going Underground', 'Town Called Malice' and 'Down In The Tube Station At The Midnight', which were the reasons why I bought the CD. However, track 9 'Wasteland' is now my favourite, and 'That's Entertainment: The Collection'' offers plenty of other hits, as well as album highlights, B sides ('The Butterfly Collector' is a great tune, deserving of an A side) and a live recording of 'Set The House Ablaze'.

The packaging is also very nice, the cover looks cool, and the booklet contains detailed liner notes, photographs, newspaper cuttings and memorabilia. I doubt that the compilation offers anything new to someone who is a already a fan (then again, I doubt that they are the target audience), but from a causal listener's point of view - I can't fault it. Well, it would have been nice to have 'Beat Surrender' as well, but nevertheless, this budget album was a great starting point for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great compilation album. Some interesting tracks and a cool looking sleve. Nothing new on this CD if you are already a fan though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great buy. Have not stopped playing it so thank you.
This was a treat to myself as wanted a cd that had all the best songs in one cd.
For a new Jam/Weller fan you cannot go wrong with this.
THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth a buy, 25 July 2013
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Sorry to say, but this must be the hundredth Jam compilation in the past 30 years after the superb "Snap" album, which was authorized by Weller, Foxton and Buckler shortly before the split of the band. Looking at the tracklist it's like a guided tour through the Jam's studio albums without offering listeners any alternate versions or unissued songs. Adding up to this I have the impression that the compiler didn't waste a lot of time for sussing out the songs on this CD, hence the inclusion of some of the weaker Jam tunes,like "I've changed my address"; "The place I love" or "Wasteland". If you're looking for real "Entertainment" you should stick to the original "Snap" Compilation (by the way: Polydor released a brushed up and digitalised version a couple of years ago) which has much more under the belt than this uninspired cheap instalment release which is ommitting so many of the tunes that listeners can expect from a "best of" album (eg "Start", "Away from the numbers", "When you're young","David Watts", "Beat surrender",).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Instructive, 9 Sep 2012
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the anecdotal sleeve note to Spectrum Music's budget-priced collection of The Jam's work, the writer Tony Farsides refers to the band's fans obsessive concern for image and style. I'm pretty sure this neatly-presented 20 song CD will have managed to offend their aesthetic sensibilities in some way. But to a casual fan like myself, That's Entertainment provides an instructive sketch of their highly productive 5 year existence [1977-1982]. How does it accomplish this? Firstly, by including some of the hit singles with which their name has become synonymous - up-tempo high-energy songs like 'Down In The Tube Station At Midnight', 'Eton Rifles', 'Going Underground', and 'Town Called Malice'. Secondly, by focussing in on less well-known moments in their back catalogue, such as album tracks, live versions, and B-sides. Some of these selections - like 'Pretty Green', 'Saturday's Kids', and 'The Butterfly Collector' - are definitely better than others, no matter what the more starry-eyed zealots of the Woking trio would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
this album took me back to my youth,it has a good array of jam songs,my 23 old son even likes it must be good then
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from dave64 29.01.2014, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the jam takes me back to when i was in my teens wot a top album some top tracks on this album dont make songs like this anymore would recomend to any jam fans out there top marks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lost music, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's Entertainment: The Collection [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I'm sorry but I can not review this product as it did not download to The Cloud nor to my sd card. I have therefor not heard it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews