Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good 3D movie, definitely worth's watching in 3D
I watched this film recently at a preview screening and I thought it was pretty outstanding. The 3D is ingenious and is the first time I have seen a film with such inventive action sequences. In a number of scenes it feels as if you are fighting side by side the heroes. I definitely recommend seeing if you are an action movies fan.
Published 23 months ago by E. NEROMYLIOTIS

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining movie
This movie takes place 3 years after Tsui Hark's own "New Dragon Gate Inn" (1992), with Jet Li taking the role of Tony Leung Ka-fai and Zhou Xun taking the role of Maggie Cheung.
Just as with "Legend of Zu", a lot of the CGI are quite "experimental" and often feel poorly executed, especially fighting sequences in the air (see the trailer to get an idea of what I am...
Published 22 months ago by Orakaa


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good 3D movie, definitely worth's watching in 3D, 17 Oct 2012
I watched this film recently at a preview screening and I thought it was pretty outstanding. The 3D is ingenious and is the first time I have seen a film with such inventive action sequences. In a number of scenes it feels as if you are fighting side by side the heroes. I definitely recommend seeing if you are an action movies fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining movie, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie takes place 3 years after Tsui Hark's own "New Dragon Gate Inn" (1992), with Jet Li taking the role of Tony Leung Ka-fai and Zhou Xun taking the role of Maggie Cheung.
Just as with "Legend of Zu", a lot of the CGI are quite "experimental" and often feel poorly executed, especially fighting sequences in the air (see the trailer to get an idea of what I am talking about).
Some action scenes are good (most of the ones not involving too much CGI) but you can feel Jet Li is getting older and is not as good as he used to be.

This is an entertaining movie, but definitely not as good as "New Dragon Gate Inn" and much less nervous and thrilling. Story is okay, but not excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D REVIEW - Better Than Avatar 3D in Places !, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Jack Daniel "J.D." (The Highlands Of Scotland) - See all my reviews
Firstly this is mainly a review about the 3D Quality of this Blu Ray.
Avatar is widely regarded as the best example of Blu Ray 3D, but 'Flying Swords' is in many ways it's equal and in several scenes a better example of how great 3D technology can be used.
With live action 3D you do not always see a lot of 'pop out' 'in the room' type visual effects, (see 'Rise Of The Guardians' or 'Madagascar 3' if you really like that sort of 3D, however this film does sometimes like to show that live action can do that also with the actual 'Flying Swords',spears and arrows etc flying towards you at various points in the film.
The 3D is used in great effect by giving you the feeling of depth in all manner of scenes and locations using height, distance and the layering/positioning of actors in each scene, and also the flying scenes are excellent.
In fact in a nutshell the film just looks beautiful all the way through.
The clarity of the 3D is absolutely astounding and totally natural, I do not have a bad thing to say about it at all.
The whole film is an absolute joy to watch even the dark underground scenes were very good as they got the lighting just right to make it work.
The actual film is just as good as '13 Assassins' and also has one of the most amazing scenes in Cinematic history which is a fight between two men inside a huge Tornado up in the air (you have to see it: amazing)
You have the ability to watch in English language with no subtitles.
Of course people's opinions will vary as some people have better quality equipment than others and some may not have it set up for optimum output but what I saw showed me exactly how good 'live action film' 3D can get.
I have to see it again = #1 with Avatar 3D !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular First Chinese 3D film, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A re-imaging of the film Dragon Gate in which rebels battle it out with evil ennuchs and various parties looking for the wealth of a vanished civilisation in the desert buried near the inn of the titular name. Whilst not possessing a 3D player and accessories the scope of the special effects etc are plain to see even if the story is a bit convoluted in places. Those liking action chinese martial arts style and aren't too worried about wire work as opposed to old fashioned martial arts fighting style will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Use Of 3D - Entertaining Film, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A quick review of Flying Swords Of Dragon Gate - Blu Ray 3D version.

I was looking around for some decent 3D live action films at Xmas and did some research on the subject matter, i found most ( not all ) live action films are converted and not actually shot in 3D, this particular film was shot using the same camera system as Prometheus and was shot in 3D, unlike Prometheus which was all about using the 3D for depth, Flying Swords has great depth to the image and some decent pop out moments, some people consider pop out a gimmick, perhaps so, but it's an entertaining gimmick and i like 3D films to have pop out.

The movie itself is okay, it's entertaining and passes a couple of hours easily, you get a choice of a 2D edition on another disc or the 3D edition, you also get the choice of a dubbed 2 channel soundtrack or a 5.1 original Mandarin language version, i chose the latter, it's a pity the subtitles are in the picture area as this sometimes causes minor issues with watching in 3D, when i say issues i mean it can be distracting reading the subtitles while trying to enjoy a 3D film, not a problem if you are viewing in 2D and anyways as already mentioned you can select the 2 channel dubbed option, for a dub it's not too bad, light years ahead of all those badly dubbed seventies films which came from Hong Kong.

Jet Li has made better movies than this, as has director Hark Tsui, try watching Once Upon A Time In China as just one example, i also enjoyed Detective Dee: Mystery Of The Phantom Flame too, Tsui made that one the year before making Flying Swords.

I absolutely love the use of 3D on this film, better than almost all Hollywood productions, the film itself is not perfect but i liked it, i knock a star off merely because the film is good but not great, the packaging that house the disc is good and the disc transfer is very good, no annoying edge enhancement, no compression issues, no contrast boosting or trying to change the original look of the film, a very good transfer to blu ray, sure the CGI effects are not always the best but they are good enough for me, if you like this type of film, like the actors and directors work and enjoy 3D depth AND 3D popout then i recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine movie, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie has several excellent scenes. Jet Li is on form. My only gripe is that the 3D didnt really contribute much to my viewing experience, So whilst I'm glad to have this in my collection, I'll stick to the 2D version. There were several scenes where the environment could be seen in glorious and impressive 3D but then lots where that was not the case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what 3d was made for, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off i must say i'm a big fan of the 3D and hope that it continues to improve,also i'm a long time fan of Asian martial arts film and appreciate that they are not everyone's cup of tea.All that said i think that this is probably the best 3D move i have yet watched,not only is the 3D simply awesome but the film as a whole stand head above many of the films from the same genre over the last few years.Jet Li has a knack for picking this type of film ad he is the best in the world at bringing these stories to life.I do not speak Chinese and i hate dubbed films so i watch with subtitles which in a 3D film can make it a little confusing to keep up i agree,so watch once in 3D and then again on normal blu ray.Then again and agian and again,great fun a must have for all fans of the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Kung fu, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Flying Swords of Dragon Gate [DVD] (DVD)
The Kung fu was good but the storyline was very weak rather boring aside from action. Wouldn't recommend to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great outdoor scenes blurry 3d, 9 Nov 2012
By 
chris wray (BROUGH, EAST RIDING United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bad points, blurry 3d in second half of the film ( first 1/2 amazing maybe my equipment though or my eyes ) ultimately got very confusing who's who and what faction is actually fighting in the action scenes.

sub titles flick all over the screen so your forever looking at the top the bottom etc which gets annoying also the english soundtrack is only in stereo.

good points

some of the best 3d i have ever seen second only to avatar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Film is ok but you have to read subtitles so will need to watch a few times until you get it. The subtitles do not stay in one place. One second they are at the bottom, next second to the left, next second at the top. Pain following the story around the screen, then realise you are not watching the film. Would be better if it came with an audiobook to read the subtitles out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Flying Swords of Dragon Gate [DVD]
The Flying Swords of Dragon Gate [DVD] by Hark Tsui (DVD - 2012)
2.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews