Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great film from Leyla Hakim
This is a film regarding a community in Lebanon divided by religion. It is not light hearted and some scenes you really feel for the characters, yet it is not so heavy that you would not want to watch it again. It is humurous at places however it is the type of humour of the absurdity of the situation rather than crass humour. Well worth watching this film.
Published 13 months ago by Cotochris

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad and Happy, Srong and Humouristic
Lebanon- very Lebanon- a film from the hard times of the war- sad, happy, pragmatic and ingenious- just as one would remember Lebanon
Published 19 months ago by Gry Kristiansen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great film from Leyla Hakim, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film regarding a community in Lebanon divided by religion. It is not light hearted and some scenes you really feel for the characters, yet it is not so heavy that you would not want to watch it again. It is humurous at places however it is the type of humour of the absurdity of the situation rather than crass humour. Well worth watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chocolat in Lebanon, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Michael Gross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
It's received very little attention around here, but I really liked the film. The very obvious formula is, of course, to concoct fairy-tale solutions to real-world problems. A bit like in Chocolat [DVD], just that it's set in Lebanon, and comically remote villages in Lebanon have a different set of problems from comically remote villages in France profonde. For instance, instead of one religion we have two. And instead of river pirates (or whatever Johnny Depp was playing in that film) we have Ukrainian burlesque dancers (though they are already part of the solution, not of the problem).

Anyhow, the peace of the village is severely threatened, and you won't be surprised to hear that the crafty women of the village manage to save it, though their tricks and twists weren't quite as predictable as you may think. The film has gorgeous images (some might say too beautiful, but it works for me), including some landscapes at dusk that really need a big screen to work. Altogether it's a feelgood fairytale that isn't going to solve the problems of the Middle East, but who or what is going to solve them?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well scripted and funny, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
Really funny. Don't usually watch subtitled films but I watched this in Canada and fell in love with the film do bought a copy for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only!, 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? (DVD)
Highly amusing yet poignantly satirical film in which men and religion are shown to be the utter stupidity they often are, and where women take the lead in bringing commonsense to a situation. A lot more of this in real life would be really welcome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome story, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
Very well filmed and narrated story. I laughed a lot! I love clever cross cultural stories and this one belongs to the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 20 May 2013
By 
T. Jaradat "eclectic" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
it is a movie worth watching, the type that makes you laugh and cry , the type that makes you think and the type that educates you....superb!.....thats all i can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lebanese, Christian and Muslim Tragi- Comedy that is just superb., 29 Nov 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
This is a French made film that was originally released as `Et maintenant on va où? It is set in a remote Lebanese village. Christians and Muslims live side by side in an unsteady truce. The village lacks for most modern conveniences, such as television, or links with the outside. So some of the enterprising young men rig up a satellite dish to try to be able to get a signal, of sorts. Then news of outside events start to filter in, and the villagers realise that religious war has broken out all around them. The women folk though have seen enough death through stupid intolerance and they decide that they have collectively had enough and decide to do what ever it takes to stop their men from fighting each other.

So they start by enlisting the help of both the Priest and the Imam in the on coming subterfuge. But then one act of sabotage set the men off on a tit for tat in fight that looks like snow balling out of control. The women will invent miracles, use drugs and even get the `ladies' from the gentleman's club, known as `The Paradise Palace' to entertain their men into not fighting, the question is, will it work?

This is an absolute gem of a film, it is a tragi- comedy as it is both heart breaking and sombre in places. The humour is never far from the surface though and makes this feel like a breath of fresh air. There is also a love interest between a Christian and Muslim that although it may look contrived as a message for unity, it is actually used more as a vehicle for showing why people sometimes fail to get on. It has good sub titles and is in Arabic, Russian and some English. There are only excellent performances here and a warmth that takes you in from the very start. It is a film I knew very little about, but is one that should have got a lot more attention. This is for lovers of World cinema and those who like things very original very funny and very moving - absolutely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
By 
JOHN "John" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Truly wonderful film, heart warming and life affirming, immediately bought "Caramel" after viewing this, cant recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contradictory and uncomfortable, but still excellent. I'm not sure I even know wh, 16 Dec 2012
By 
C. Edwards (Leeds U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
OK describing this film cannot be easy. It is an at times uncomfortable clash of whimsical comedy and tragedy is thrown in with a sense of realism which clashes with the fairy tale perspective of the former.
Rom com, musical, tragic, realistic, sentimental, funny..... Yes all of them, in fact I have read many professional reviews stating that trying to do too many things is the problem this film suffers from.
A fellow Amazon reviewer states that it plays to Western stereotypes of its area, perhaps it does, but I feel the messages are more universal and just as pertinent to the West.
Conflicts ostensibly created by power holding men and media, using religion as justification as contrasted with an underdog female, inclusive attempt to keep the peace and create harmony. Plus a look at how small places change when exposed to wider influences such as TV.
If you think the last paragraph was rubbish, this film probably isn't for you.
I like the unabashed sentimentality and respect that Nadine didn't downplay the real human cost of conflict. One could even suggest that the contrasting styles of the film reflect the related cultural group they portray.
Also I have to emphasise that the comedy is superbly observed and has great timing, it is laugh out loud funny at times.
It is more like a Gurinder Chadha film than Caramel (technically - in terms of reviewers tatses at least - probably a better film than this one), but this story is engaging and enjoyable, perhaps if it lacks anything really, it is depth of characterisation.
A romantic comedy with a bit of a message, it shouldn't work, but it did for me. Unless you are a fundamentalist (of any persuasion other than feminist) and/or hate women - give it a go, you may not watch it twice but you will watch it all I am sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 25 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the characters, the music, the story and the filming - it was really a treat for me when I watched it at the cinema with friends. It was laughter and tears, and I enjoyed how the women outsmarted the men to prevent an outbreak of violence and the solidarity between the women. I will most likely watch this film again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where Do We Go Now? [DVD]
Where Do We Go Now? [DVD] by Nadine Labaki (DVD - 2012)
Used & New from: 19.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews