Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2014
Another classic release from the hairy genius, 'Over-Nite Sensation' (1973) is an eclectic mix of jazzy, progressive rock; lyrically, Zappa pushes the boundaries in all directions and, musically, hits the heights frequently with impressive cameo performances from 'The Mothers'. 'Camarillo Brillo' is a lovely opener whilst 'Dirty Love' and 'I'm The Slime' are short, but highly entertaining tracks. Of the longer material, 'Dinah-Moe Humm' (not a song to play at full blast with grannies or kids within earshot!) is filthy but well-executed whilst 'Zomby Woof' and 'Montana' - both of which have searing guitar solos - are also highly impressive; lyrically, 'Fifty-Fifty' is deliberately (and amusingly) raucous and has a wonderful instrumental passage.

If you've enjoyed this crazy collection of songs then I can wholly recommend a couple of other albums from Zappa's vast back catalogue, namely 1974's 'Apostrophe' and 1975's 'One Size Fits All', both of which are brilliant releases.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2007
Probably amongst Frank's top ten - though you do have to think about that carefully, now there are 80-odd to choose from, in a variety of genres - Overnite Sensation remains an utterly fabulous album. Sticking to a rock/jazz format (with the emphasis most definitely on the former), it delivers a solid and consistent helping of great tunes, brilliant musicianship from all the players, superb vocals from Frank, sounding wonderfully gruff and impossibly deep and Ricki Lancellotti soaring to demented and voicebox-bursting heights (such a shame his tenure with Frank was so sadly cut short), plus Tina Turner's fabulous contributions throughout, particularly on "Montana" (a contribution which was uncredited at the time of release, due to her record company's nervousness about the association with Frank - shame on them!) and some awesome, room-shaking guitar solos from Frank, especially on Zomby Woof and Montana. You've got the great George Duke on keyboards, Ian Underwood on sax and woodwind, Ruth Underwood on percussion, Jean Luc-Ponty on violin, the Fowler brothers on Bass and Trombone, Ralph Humphrey on drums; with every single one of them working their socks off to deliver Frank's wonderful arrangements, as unique and imaginative as ever. Not to mention the laugh-out-loud lyrics, with the biggest guffaw-jerker reserved for the very end of the last track. You really can't fail to enjoy this - you simply wouldn't be human!
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
One of Franks finest albums , a great listen.

This review is for 2013 vinyl.

This is a fantastic pressing , really quiet vinyl . Mastered with great care to the original dynamics.
Really punchy but smooth analogue sound.
Highly recommended
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Perhaps one of Mr Zappa's more commercial releases but just because it's easy to digest, that doesn't mean it's a sell-out. Every single track is a winner in my book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
This was my first real introduction to FZ and I was immediately knocked out by the quality of the music, from the very accessable 'Camarillo Brillo' and 'Dirty Love', to the strangeness of 'Fifty Fifty' and 'Montana'. Probably Franks' most revered and/or reviled piece of sexual satire comes in the form of 'Dinah-Moe Humm', complete with female backing soul singers that really add an edge to the piece. You also get comedy horror with 'Zomby Woof' and social comment with 'I'm the Slime' which is about the pernicious effect of television on our minds. It would be hard for me to say which is the best album but this one has to be in my top three. FZ is admirably accompanied on this recording by all the usual MOI members plus Jean-Luc Ponty on violin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2001
Only 7 tracks, but every one as good as the last... no, better... no, as good.
Displaying Zappa's wonderful bassy tones after his perculiar accident and featuring both Dianamo Hum and Montana, two of my top five Zappa tunes, and I'm The Slime, a song that George Clinton Himself has been know to play live - you cannot ask for a more tuneful and amusing tribute to Zappa mad invention... wonderful from start to finish.
also check apostrophe(') for more of frank's best vocals and more mad funky soul.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2004
Having been a fan for well over 20 years, this is his best in my opinion - great guitar, vocals, lyrics and a wonderfully "sleazy" 70's groove - all wrapped up with fantastic musicianship. Not as challenging as some of Frank’s more, shall we say, idiosyncratic albums, this is a masterpiece as well as a timepiece from that classic era of good old-fashioned rock. Having said that, don’t be under any illusions – this is Zappa through and through! BTW – whatever happened to xylophones in rock music?!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Another amazing Zappa/Mothers incarnation. Yet another fantastic incarnation. (One size fits all for me -depending on mood - Mothers from Freak Out to YCDTOSA had more than one album for each taste; Frank being the constant throughout). This album is so funky yet guitar based to my ear. Tom Fowler is often overlooked in the Mothers career. George Duke is sublime as usual and Ponty delivers. Ralph Humphrey on percussion this time. Mfp for those who remember! Cracking solos from FZ too (no surprise)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
This is a joyous, uplifting album bristling with humour and energy, which never ceases to put a smile on my face when I play it. It's a very good starting point for anyone new to his work, as Zappa is at his most accessible on this album. His sublime solo on Zombie Woof is one of my favourite guitar solos of all time. All the musicians are, of course, top notch, but I particularly enjoy Ralph Humphries' lively and inventive drumming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
I bought this Fantastic album on its first Vinyl release in the 1973 then the Ryko in 1995, but this remaster has been done very well, drums are clear and precise, Franks guitar perrrs, there seems to be a lot more going on with percussion and keys so overall rich clear sound amazing improvement brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)