Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly inventive and packed with fun
I must admit that I had poor expectations for this. A dubbed Dutch horror from the '80s with a cheesy cover that none of the avid film fans I knew had seen? It didn't sound good. And it didn't impress wildly upon the first 10 minutes either - despite the inventive 'diver's point of view' opening shots, all of the dialogue overheard by passers by was tacky and there was...
Published on 11 Mar. 2013 by Benminx

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The film features a good speedboat chase around the cannels of Amsterdam
Police drama. The search is on for a killer in a wetsuit who spends most of their time in the canals of Amsterdam. From the music, to the underwater camera angle of the woman in the inflatable, the way a corpse suddenly appears under water, all look heavily inspired by the film Jaws. The film features a good speedboat chase around the cannels of Amsterdam. There appears...
Published 8 months ago by Shaun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly inventive and packed with fun, 11 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Amsterdamned [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that I had poor expectations for this. A dubbed Dutch horror from the '80s with a cheesy cover that none of the avid film fans I knew had seen? It didn't sound good. And it didn't impress wildly upon the first 10 minutes either - despite the inventive 'diver's point of view' opening shots, all of the dialogue overheard by passers by was tacky and there was little sense of menace. Luckily, once the establishing first scenes are out of the way the plot improves substantially. Huub Stapel's hero detective and single-father 'Eric' is rugged and likeable, his partner fun, and his love interest Monique van de Ven is sparky and attractive. Barring the awful dubbing of 'Eric's daughter and her best friend, the dubbing in general improves enough to be enjoyable. And the plot is a thing well worth enjoying: taking advantage of Amsterdam's canals with the same glee that John Landis took advantage of Werewolf myths, director Dick Maas has his violently deranged killer stalk and then pounce from the water in a wildly inventive array of ways, and doesn't stint or hold anything back for a sequel - this is an all-or-nothing slasher where there's very little harsh gore, but a lot of excitement and terrific pacing.
There are also some truly standout shots, including a jaw-dropping corpse reveal involving a tour-boat, and a speedboat pursuit of amazing skill that blatantly inspired several later movies including 'The World Is Not Enough's' docklands chase.
With an exciting ending that just builds and builds and builds until the final denouement, this is hugely recommended and well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Follow the bubbles...., 22 May 2015
This review is from: Amsterdamned [DVD] (DVD)
A mysterious diver hiding in Amsterdam's canal system embarks on a rampage of gruesome murders.

Terrifying city officials and leaving few clues for the city's best detective, who doesn't suspect that both his new girlfriend and twelve-year-old daughter may be closer than he is to finding the killer..

An absolute hoot from beginning to end, the fact that this film is so full of humour, despite the bad script, makes this a curious watch.

It's a typical eighties film, we start with the hero, sporting a hangover and a mullet whilst in the bath, getting alerted to the first murder, only to apprehend a robber in the bakery and then giving a payoff one-liner.

He finds the first body, gives a one-liner and starts his investigation proper. We are given a few red herrings along the way as to who the murderer is, but the story and the narrative, make it a little hard to understand what is going on.

It's part slasher, part horror, part crime, part comedy, and it all works in a random way.

The cast are good, but a lot of the support tend to overact, and the main speed boat chase isn't just the longest one in history, it's the single funniest action set piece i have ever seen.

Throw in a random sex scene, with some extremely questionable noise coming from the fairer of the two, Riffs on Jaws and Friday the 13th, then you have one weird entertaining film.

It's the best Dutch film about a disfigured deep sea diving killer in the world ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Action Packed Slasher Film, 30 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Amsterdamned [DVD] (DVD)
In an age where horror films are more shock less coherent plot revisiting films like Amsterdamned is a joy. Unlike many Slasher films Amsterdamned doesn't rely solely on gruesome killings, it has the feel of a thriller, along with some amazing action sequences and some imaginative deaths. A very well acted, well scripted film with comedic touches, it also ends with an unbelievably catchy theme tune. Next time I visit Amsterdam I'll think twice about walking right next to the canals edge!

This release also includes a making of documentary which, when watched after, only serves to make you appreciate the film even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skuba Doo, 7 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amsterdamned (DVD) (DVD)
A deranged frogman is claiming victims in the canal systems of Amsterdam. Detective Eric Visser (Huub Stapel) is hot on his flipper clad heels.

Amsterdamned. is one of the better slasher efforts of the late 1980s. There's a slightly Jaws-esque quality to some of the watery kills and the odd nod at Hitchcock's Frenzy, though it's nowhere near as perverse.
The emphasis is on the detective worker rather than the deaths. There's a very good boat chase and the killer's lair is well realised, as are the giallo-like atmosphere and interesting killer. I was thrown by the unexpectedly a-typical ending.

The presentation is in 1.85:1/16x9 enhanced widescreen. Extras include a making of documentary and the option of either a dubbed English language version or the original Dutch release with English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The film features a good speedboat chase around the cannels of Amsterdam, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amsterdamned [DVD] (DVD)
Police drama. The search is on for a killer in a wetsuit who spends most of their time in the canals of Amsterdam. From the music, to the underwater camera angle of the woman in the inflatable, the way a corpse suddenly appears under water, all look heavily inspired by the film Jaws. The film features a good speedboat chase around the cannels of Amsterdam. There appears to have been quite a budget spent. On the acting front, no one’s inline for an Oscar, that’s for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amsterdamned dvd, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amsterdamned [DVD] (DVD)
top action thriller,nice to see it in an uncut form.Have not seen it since the 90's
great fun brilliant.10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars European Entertainment, 26 Mar. 2015
By 
This review is from: Amsterdamned [DVD] (DVD)
Amsterdamned was a sort of lightweight European answer to some of the American action films. Tellingly, with European films, its tongue was fairly firmly in its cheek, and there were some great set pieces that could only have happened in Europe.

It was the first major outing for the director...whose name eludes me, but I think he went on to bigger, better things in Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Cult Movie!!, 9 Mar. 2010
By 
Andrew Parker (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amsterdamned (DVD) (DVD)
I always loved this movie, but I never knew the name of it or the actors names. Then I found the name and bought it on DVD. Despite the voices being dubbed over by English speaking actors instead of subtitles, I actually found it didn't put me off.

The main story being a serial killer who is based underwater and keeps evading the Police who are desperate to catch him. The great car chases and especially the speed boat chase along the canals are all very exciting. There is even a commentary on how the movie was made and film footage of them filming the stunts.

This is truly a great movie and one that has gained cult status. I'd recommended it as a must buy for any movie collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Piece of Dutch Cinema, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Eric Blair (Teesside, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amsterdamned [DVD] (DVD)
Coming from the director of another Dutch horror classic, De Lift (1983), comes Dick Maas action/thriller Amsterdamned (1988).

This is what lead to the English dubbed version available here. Many of the actors can speak English (as most Dutch people can) so it is refreshing to hear a dub with the actual actors voices. The score is slightly different in places but still a fun soundtrack created by Maas himself.

While a little silly at times Amsterdamned is a worthy film. Huub Stapel (his relationship to Maas is similar to that of De Niro and Scorsese) is a believable actor as he hunts down the killer stalking the famed Amsterdam canals. Halfway through the film Stapel nearly captures the killer leading to a dramatic and exciting car/motorbike chase which ends in a fantastic speedboat chase via the canals. Maas delivers the goods with that sequence.

The killings don't take place on screen: Maas cuts to another scene usually just as it happens. One 'kill scene' features a young, bikini glad woman (who would be used in other Maas works)being attacked by the scuba diving killer in a very crude and distasteful manner. This attack was cut by the BBFC upon original release and the cut footage only re-inserted in 2009.

It is easily one of the directors best works and a thrilling piece of Dutch cinema. Its a shock this hasn't been remade yet by a big Hollywood studio.

Amsterdamned is a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slasher of a movie, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Pa Wallis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amsterdamned (DVD) (DVD)
I really recommend this movie I first saw this film back when it
was made in 1988 on tv and have been waiting for its relase on dvd.
When I saw that it was going to come out on dvd I could not wait
the film has a great plot about a killer using the cannals to get
around amsterdam and select his victims and to flee the crime scene,
there is some great car chases and towards the end of the film a
fantastic speedboat chase through the labrinth of cannals in Amsterdam
so all I have to say is buy the dvd you will LOVE IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amsterdamned [DVD]
Amsterdamned [DVD] by Dick Maas (DVD - 2012)
£8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews