Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epically gorgeous
This beautiful, moving show is supremely wonderful. The ethos and emotion of Swan Lake is re-imagined into a fantastic explosion of grace, vulnerability, humour and longing. :aving seen the live show a few years ago, I was worried the DVD wouldn't live up to the memory... Needless to say it did.
Wonderful.
Published 19 months ago by G. M. Ross

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original 1996 production
After seeing Adam Cooper as the swan/stranger and Fiona Chadwick as the Queen, I found Richard Windsor and Nina Goldman a bit of a let-down. Both in physical appearance and dancing ability the original pair were far superior in my view. Also the second production looked to be on the cheap side with the ballet-within-a-ballet and night-club scenes not as convincing as in...
Published 6 months ago by B. D. Ward


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epically gorgeous, 2 Dec 2012
By 
G. M. Ross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This beautiful, moving show is supremely wonderful. The ethos and emotion of Swan Lake is re-imagined into a fantastic explosion of grace, vulnerability, humour and longing. :aving seen the live show a few years ago, I was worried the DVD wouldn't live up to the memory... Needless to say it did.
Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This production is even more fantastic than the original performances. Dominic North and Winsor seem to add a kinetic and dynamic to the male company that seems to make the production more energetic and emotional than ever. Also I love the pyjamas - I've got similar ones from Brooks Brothers. To be honest, the first time I saw this production on the arts channel, I cried towards the end - for me that is a sign of a true and fabulous connection with an audience - and without words or song! This is the only classical music production that has moved me to tears - so well done! Also the "Pas d'action" using the tables was fantastic! A true masterpiece of interpretation, choreography and acting. We will watch this production again on Christmas Day 2012.

Peter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swan Lake 2012 - Blu-ray, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: Swan Lake [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm not a ballet fan, generally finding ballet and opera boring. However, I see Matthew Bourne's productions as being something totally different and his interpretation of such ballets as Swan Lake and Nutcracker brings them to life in a modern way. Whilst his Swan Lake may be classed as a ballet, it is much more than that with dance(?) numbers and acting, combined with humour and poignancy and you feel an affinity with the characters.

I got the original 1995 version on DVD as soon as it became available and I never tire of it. I recently got the 2012 version and am just as pleased with that. For those of you that already have the 1995 version, I'd say get the 2012 version as well. Apart from different performers, there are various minor differences and some differences in the way things are portrayed (the mobile phone going off whilst at the opera is a nice touch). The later is, of course in widescreen format and has surround sound.
Likewise, if you only have the 2012 version, buy the original version as well.

The Blu-ray version is excellent quality. The only regret I have is that there were no extras. There is plenty of material available that could have been added, such as interviews with Matthew or behind the scenes etc. Youtube has a lot, but it is of varying quality.

I would like to see more of Matthew Bourne's work available on DVD. At present, there are only Swan Lake, Nutcraker, Car Man and Sleeping Beauty available. Matthew Bourne's Christmas, which was on TV last year, was a teaser with extracts of some of the work that he's done and I'd never heard of a lot of the earlier work, such as Spitfire, Town and Country, Inferal galop, Edward Scissorhands, and other work where there are some poor quality clips on Youtube. Matthew is very talented and has produced some amazing work. It would be nice to see more of it in its entirety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Without doubt, the most amazing ballet I have ever seen. Matthew Bourne's interpretation is quite frankly mesmeric. The corps de ballet move like swans and they are both menacing and compelling. The lead..taken by Richard Winsor is absolutely right for the part. He is both sensual, strong, and compassionate. I would urge anyone who has been put off by the fact that it is not the 'traditional' choreography , to watch this performance, and then go and see a live performance...you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant DVD, 7 May 2014
By 
Young at heart (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I absolutely love Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake. I have seen it a number of times in the theatre and this DVD is a perfect reminder of a special experience. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake is just beautiful,
Just buy it....... FANTASTIC, Yes i loved all :)
wish i could put 10 stars.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I love Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake, and to have a copy on DVD with the wonderful Richard Winsor in the lead is my dream come true. They say you always remember the first person you saw play the Swan live on stage the best, well mine was Richard and no one has compared next to him since, his smouldering present and graceful, swanlike movements are just captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic....., 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Have already recommended it to friends. Would really like to see it in 3D. Lets hope that Matthew Bourne decides to have more of his productions filmed as it opens it up to many more people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this was the next best thing., 9 July 2014
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Since I stupidly forgot to go to the real thing even though I bought the tickets, this was the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for see more than one time and enjoy it, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Lake [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
great in every way posible, after i saw the show on the stage i want to have the movie for show to all my family and friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swan Lake [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
Swan Lake [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free] by Matthew Bourne (Blu-ray - 2012)
18.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews