Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2013
McLaughlin has found the ideal vehicle in The Fourth Dimension for his music. This recording fits as the third part of a trilogy following on from Floating Point and To the One. His playing is simply wonderful, full of soul and feeling as exemplified in Guitar Love. There's plenty of high octane playing as well as slower, soulful stuff and perhaps more than the other two albums, his blues influence comes through. There are also intriguing musical references to Mahavishnu Orchestra tunes of old. The band show a fluency and tightness that surpasses the previous recordings but the real difference is the keyboard playing of Gary Husband. The progression in his playing is astounding and there is a real sympathy in the way he plays off McLaughlin's guitar. This is my album of the year.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
Mclaughlin has always been a hero to me.throughout the last few decades,he has always experimented with different styles ranging from Graham Bond in the late sixties,to the grounbreaking bands such as Miles Davis'groups,the indian influence of Shakti,and finally the astonishing Mahavishnu Orchestra,which openend up the genre of fusion music,his new band "The fourth Dimension" are pushing boudaries,this music is akin to the extraordinary music that the Mahavishnus made,when you listen to the album,it sounda absolutely stunning,and belies the fact that there are only four musicians playing.
1)"Trancefusion"Starts the celebrations well,with magnificent guitar and drums playing up a storm
2)" Riff raff"seven minutes of pure fusion played with incedible dexterity,the fretless bass is awesome!
3)"Echos from then"taken at a slightly slower pace,they must be topping up their sanatogen bottles!! did i say slower,this still rocks like a sausage in a hurricane!!!
4)"Wonderfall"now this IS slower,and more reflective.
5)"Call and answer" a return to the breakneck style.
6)Not here not there"a ballad is played this time.
7)"Guitar Love"the title sums it up superbly.
8)"Take it or leave it" a great way to end a brilliant album.

If you want an album that gives every time you hear it,this is the eigth time of playing,then you will findthat this album is one of the best albums that seventy year old Mclaughlin has been associated with,briefly in sumnation,brilliant stuff!!,

49.59

Released in 2012

JOHN MCLAUGHLIN......GUITAR,GUITAR SYNTH
GARY HUSBAND......PIANO,SYNTHESIZERS,DRUMS
RANJIT BAROT.....DRUMS
ETIENNE M'BAPPE......BASS GUITAR AND FRETLESS BASS

VALUE FOR MONEY.....££££
BEST TRACKS......
PACKAGING.....EXCELLENT,A LAMINATED GATEFOLD SLEEVE

MEDIA STARZ RECORDS
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Ok I am old enough to have bought Inner Mounting Flame way back in the day which just blew me away completely. This is the most exciting recording JM has hit us with since then. Amazing playing - and not fast just for flash - very very melodic and some lovely bluesy stuff. They tell me this guy is 70 years old - hope for us all. If you buy nothing else this century, buy this. This band just rips it up to shreds !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Great to hear Mr McLaughlin back on form. Jazz/funk/Fusion/Rock in abundance :-) Industrial Zen was the last album that made me sit up.
I'm lucky enough to of seen this band live at The Barbican London November last year :-) McLaughlin, Husband, M'bappe & Borot in a groove :-D Buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I was a little disenchanted with the calibre of John's work for a little while but I have recently rediscovered him through the magic of the Montreux concerts and gave this a whirl. I am glad I did as it is a welcome return to form for this giant of modern music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Saw Shakti many years ago at the Theatre Royal Norwich. Loved Mahavishnu Orchestra since I was about 14 (1974). This album provides virtuoso performacesfrom ALL the musicians involved. It makes you think doesn't it? When we see Britain's got (NO) Talent, the X-Factor, The Voice et al. None of this dumbed-down twaddle ever features anyone who can actually play an instrument. Before they audition for any of the aforementioned, THIS should be required listening: how to play! I'll be listening to this for years to come
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
mclaughlin, always on his game, should tour the whole of britain, asap.he picks the best of people, and makes them testify, they gotta be great.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
After "Industrial Zen" and "To The One",I really didn't think it possible for a man,admittedly as talented a man as McLaughlin undoubtedly is, to come up with something that could auditorially surpass his previous endeavours. How wrong was I!
I've listened to the first track "Trancefusion" I don't know how many times already and the whole thing is incredible.
The ensemble as the French say is tight. The drumming by Ranjit Barrot, Etienne on bass and our Gary, just deliver.
What I would give to see this bunch of maestros perform, preferably in Paris, is impossible to communicate.
But ladies and gentlemen,this is an unbelievable performance from a jazz fusion legend, now allegedly in his 70th year.
There is, as the poet undoubtedly said, hope for us all.......
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
this is powerful stuff,similar to his last album,but even more energetic.the album starts with a mind bending guitar part before settling in to a typical hard to grasp mclaughlin riff,it continues with the same high energy level before eventually slowing a bit before gradually building up again.towards the end of the album,the music seems to become more accessable,with one tune being positively pop like,by mclaughlins standards anyway.this isn,t background music and demands your attention but i can,t stop playing it,if only to try to understand what the hell they are doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
This is a great CD by an established artist. John McLaughlin has been producing excellent guitar music for a long time and his ability to come up with fresh ideas and new tunes is impressive. I find some of these tunes, such as Not Here Not There, quite moving. As usual he is working with other excellent musicians although he has written all the material himself.

If you like John McLaughlin's other electric guitar albums I am sure you will enjoy this one. It's even available at a very reasonable price from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.13
£15.41
£12.93

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)