Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Immersive if repetitive
Originally reviewed on LauraofLurking

Strong language: None
Drugs: None
Violence: None
Sexual content: None

This short book is a collection of real life journals from a man in an American prison, starting a long sentence. The layout is unusual in that each entry is made up of one large paragraph as this is how it was written when sent...
Published 8 months ago by Laura of Lurking

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BORING READ
I HAVE READ LOADS OF PRISON BOOKS MOST OUR VERY INTERESTING BUT THIS BOOK WASNT ONE OF THEM DONT WASTE YOUR TIME
Published on 20 April 2013 by R. Reeves


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Immersive if repetitive, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Originally reviewed on LauraofLurking

Strong language: None
Drugs: None
Violence: None
Sexual content: None

This short book is a collection of real life journals from a man in an American prison, starting a long sentence. The layout is unusual in that each entry is made up of one large paragraph as this is how it was written when sent to the publisher due to lack of paper to write on. I think this aspect, while strange to read at first helps you to immerse yourself in what life in like inside.

"John Smith", an alias to protect his loved ones, is clearly an educated man who ran his own business. When things went sour he asked a friend for help. This volume doesn't go into detail as to what happened, but he has ended up with an estimated twelve years incarcerated.

At first I had little compassion for the man, it's easy to look down on somebody when you're not in their situation, but much of his writing was based around missing his wife and kids, parents and friends. As you read of him anxiously awaiting a letter, or a couple of dollars to buy extras to make life easier you soon realise he is a family man who likely just ended up out of his depth. At times I felt sorry for him and angry at relatives for being so cold, while I knew nothing of their side.

The 411
This is a short but compelling read. What spelling mistakes he'd made were left in to keep these journals purely him. At times it got repetitive as in every entry he waited for the same things, but I think this just epitomises the repetition of prison life in hindsight.

I give this 4 stars for immersion into his world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BORING READ, 20 April 2013
By 
R. Reeves "roysie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I HAVE READ LOADS OF PRISON BOOKS MOST OUR VERY INTERESTING BUT THIS BOOK WASNT ONE OF THEM DONT WASTE YOUR TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was Free and worth a review, 15 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No way do you feel sorry for this 40+ but at least he is doing something while doing his time. It's not awe inspiring but I got to the end and thought it would be worth getting his second diary, cos it's under £1 and he might grow into his 40+ years. He has done several diaries and I am interested to see how long he keeps my interest. I am a little concerned about the conflict between his desire to renew the threesome sex pastime (on his release when he's 58) and his wife finding God scenario but hey, it's only the first year and he has 18 years to work that one out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 16 April 2014
By 
Laura Prime (Crewe, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Prison Journal - Volumes 1-4 (Kindle Edition)
Tears ,feeling the author has to,d it as it is and with something like this , memories must be imprinted forever, a great read and plenty to put you off going into prison anywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars prison, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book really enjoy it great great story aboy a young boy in prison brill really enjoy it love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compelling Read, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read and insight into Mr Smith's life, hope to keep reading about you,
Thank you for writing your life story

Regards
Pauline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars prison journal, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
gives a sense of what it must be like to be in prison and not knowing when you are going to be free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow and uninteresting dross., 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a disappointing, boring story. Could have been written by a school kid. There are a lot more interesting prison tales than this. Won't recommend at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed reading this book very much ,good insight into what it's like being in prison
Hope John gets his freedom soon and Carey's on writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good will carry on reading the rest of these stories I love l prison dramas a lot and I hope the rest as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Prison Journal - Volumes 1-4
£1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews