Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Afghani's Hostility to Foreigners, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An hour invested in this book rewards you with an overview of Afghan's brutal history over the last 200 years beginning with being the unwilling 19th Century game board hosting "The Great Game" on which British and Russian opponents vied for influence by diplomacy and recourse to military means.

The book recounts how the British twice invaded and twice they were eventually repulsed at a terrible cost in lives on both sides with both sides complicit in atrocities. In once case the retreating British column lost 3000 people in a matter of a couple of days.

The book takes us through the 20th Century with various factions, tribes and other nation states riding on the ebb and flow of fortune, assassination and set piece battles in Afghanistan. The book concludes with the US Navy SEAL raid on Osama bin Laden yet we all know there is far more history to come with the (planned) exit of most foreign forces over the next couple of years. The question is; will the next step be a cut and paste copy of the time after the Soviet's withdrawal? An updated version of this book several years from now will provide the answer - this really is history in the making and in terrible danger of repeating previous episodes at the expense of the Afghan civilians.

The book is made up of three main sections; a narrative history, biographies of the key players and a chronology of events. The pictures are a decent quality and do not pixelate when enlarged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise HIstory of Afghanistan problerms, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Waggers (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read concise, history of recent wars in Afghanistan. Perhaps our ex-P.M. should have read it ! Explains how we and the Russians have spent a lot of time and money - not to mention lives - trying to influence this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for Kindle users., 5 Jan 2013
By 
I. A. Thompson "Queen fan" (Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was well presented and was most interesting. It was also very educational and a real bargain to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very succinct and interesting book on contemporary history and the current Afghan conflict would recommend to Anyone interested in the current conflict and the history behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly What it Says on the tin!!, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A short and succinct history of Afghanistan that covers all the pertinent points. Would be 5 stars however it fails to cover some of the mistakes made by ISAF throughout the current conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Afghan Wars by Rupert Colley, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having started my army career in '73 with Right Flank 2nd Battalion Scots Guards, then a number of years in the T.A I have always had an interest in military history. I have read a number of military books especially those written by professor Richard Holmes an excellent military historian in his own right. This book gives an excellent and factual account of a war that let's be honest we'll never ever win. I always try to rate my books and this is no exception so I rate it 10/10.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History in an Hour, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the history in an hour books, informative and quick to read. If you like to read history this is a simple and effective way to get started and highlights which parts interest you most
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Overall Coverage. Informative, 11 Dec 2012
Very good coverage of the history of the wars in Afghan. Opened my eyes. Very easy to follow. Over all great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look back into the conflicts of Afghanistan, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Going right back to the first Anglo-Afghan conflict to the present day. An insight into the cold war supplies from Russia and America, very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews