Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars37
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2012
Kindle edition has photographs

History in an Hour is a series of books which each deal with a big subject in a short and punchy way to give you the grand overview before you delve into other, far more detailed, books.

As with the other books in the series, there is a quick paced overview before a section of biographies about the main people involved in the story along with a timeline of events.

The story rapidly moves across Russia and Europe as coup and counter coup, both governmental and internecine, takes effect before finally we are left with Stalin. The book starts in the 1800s with an enlightened Tsar trying to enfranchise the people before everyone misreads everyone else's intentions and events spiral downward towards WW1 and the Bolshevik take over.

It is sometimes hard to keep up with who are in exiled in which country but that only goes to illustrate the size of the subject they have condensed into such a short book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
I'm a history teacher and learnt at the last minute I'd be teaching the history of Russia which I'd never done before. This was an easy, quick read. My mind didn't drift once (which happens with some history books) and I got a good grounding in the main events of the Russian Rev. Of course it lacks the detail that a student GCSE and above would need, but for a foundation and a feel of the period it was a good starting point
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
These history in an hour books are first class. I've read 12/13 now and enjoyed everyone. I have also gone deeper into some of the subjects raised because these books excite the imagination.

Rupert Colley has written a lot of the history subjects. He does a fine job. No fancy words that have you searching the dictionary. No convoluted sentences that don't make sense. Just straight to the point factual overview of the subject area.

And above all he makes history interesting. After this one I now understand the timeline leading up to the Russian revolution. I have a grasp of the leading figures involved. I also have a newly awakened desire to read further in this area. I just hope the further reading will be as succinct and well written as this book. ( Past experience leads me to expect otherwise).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
This is a great structured introduction to the events and people of the russian revolution. It contains a handy timeline of the most important events and snippets of little known facts throughout. Also great for anyone studying a level history!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Allowing for more pages than other one hour histories, but written at a pace that allows for it to be read in that time, this is an excellent synopsis of the revolution. It's purpose is to convey the salient facts with some analysis and it succeeds in doing it. If you have some knowledge of the events from school history lessons this is a very good refresher. If you have no previous knowledge it is a good place to start but should be followed up with something more in-depth in order to understand the reasons why events took the turn they did. All in all this is an excellent introduction and one I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Very brief, but seems to set out the key historical facts of the revolution. You can make up your own mind about Lenin. Easy to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
I bought this book to better appreciate Russia's journey in the build up to WWII. This definately helped clarify the main points of the revolution and the proceeding fallout which greatly influenced the major players through the war. Its pretty short but serves as a good introduction, if like me, you have no prior knowledge of the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Having studied History up to A level many moons ago; I decided to buy this as a 1st purchase on my new Kindle Fire. It's a very good & simple introduction or refresher for those wanting to read some history without buying large expensive text books. Well worth the 99p.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
The book is just so easy to read and contextualise. The language used allows you to get through the book easily. The descriptions keep the reader intrigued and takes you into that part of history. The book enables you to visualise the scenes. I loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
If you are interested in this period of history try this before one of the bigger tomes, such as Montefiore or Figes. Lots of good information to allow you to five in many directions in depth with other more detailed books. Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)