Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps players swing into action
The book includes sections on grip, aim, posture and swinging the club, buying equipment, basic rules of the golf course, handicaps, scoring and competitions.
This instructional book is for newcomers to the game and succeeds in its intention of teaching the basics in a way which anyone can understand.
Published on 7 April 2006

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Fix
Read before last outing on course, could be a little smaller so as to fit into bag pocket but apart from that no complaints
Published on 14 April 2010 by M. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps players swing into action, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
The book includes sections on grip, aim, posture and swinging the club, buying equipment, basic rules of the golf course, handicaps, scoring and competitions.
This instructional book is for newcomers to the game and succeeds in its intention of teaching the basics in a way which anyone can understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 18 May 2009
By 
Mr. M. D. Brocket (Sheffield,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shows you what you need to know and how to do it in very good diagramatic form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a well illustrated manual, 28 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't played golf for a number of years and got this as part of my return to the game. I found it very useful for self learning of the basics of positioning, grip etc.
This is not one of those manuals that requires hours of reading and it has excellent cartoons/illustrations throughout.
Definitely I found it to be a useful companion and would recommend it to beginners and someone like me who is returning to the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book for all levels, 12 Aug. 2006
Don't be fooled by the title of this book. It sets out the basics of the golf swing and serves as a great aid in sorting out swing problems. Very simple to understand for the begginer as there are more diagrams than words. Can't wait for the other books in the range. Best Golf book i've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To start learning..., 14 Jun. 2011
My partner plays golf. I've recently become interested. As someone who plays golf well ( Handicap 8) he says this book is very good.
As someone about to embark on learning - it appears to be a very effective way of explaining, through simple diagrams, what is required.

Time will tell......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 16 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a superb introduction to the game of golf. I have found it immensely useful and very easy to follow. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous introduction., 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would be hard to imagine a better introduction to learning to play golf, or for those struggling and needing to go back to basics. Without a trace of unnecessary jargon, the authors explain the basic principles of the game in the clearest possible terms. The diagrams are invaluable, so much better than photographs, as they indicate in the simplest terms how the body and arms should move. The whole book is essentially visual, a slowed-down video that allows understanding and provides a key platform for practice. Useful tips are included at every stage without detracting from the clarity of the essential points. There are also most useful sections on equipment and etiquette as well as introduction to the basic rules of the game.

The book will have little to offer to the solidly established player with a decent handicap, but for those of us taking up the game, or struggling to master cleanly struck straight shots, it is by far the best of its kind I have met. Does the job without a trace of pretension or any quirky ideas. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got received this book as a gift as I have just this year taken up golf. The book is fantastic. Great diagrams easy instruction. Every beginner should read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to Golf, 21 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very clearly illustrated and easy to follow instructions. Easy colour coded pages with excellent tips and "did you know" information.Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast track method for learning golf, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its novel approach of using wireframe drawings and brief bullet points allowed me to understand what I needed to know quickly. I don't have time or patience to read reams of text, and probably wouldn't understand it anyway. My golf has become better than ever before, although still very patchy (I'm not an athlete)

Now, if only they'd bring out a version adapted for left-handed golfers like me, life would be perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews