Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!
THe actors pull this one off so well! Whatever liberties taken with the true story itself for dramatic effect, the trueness and directness makes this documentary is outstanding.
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Nauseating Movie
I'll start out by trying to be positive here. This film depicts Stan Laurel and Oliver "Babe" Hardy as old men reminiscing about their shared careers. In some of the camera shots the actors playing elderly Stan and Babe bear striking resemblance to the actual pair as they appeared later in life. That's a happy chance and it's the only measly happy thing I can summon to...
Published 6 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Nauseating Movie, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
I'll start out by trying to be positive here. This film depicts Stan Laurel and Oliver "Babe" Hardy as old men reminiscing about their shared careers. In some of the camera shots the actors playing elderly Stan and Babe bear striking resemblance to the actual pair as they appeared later in life. That's a happy chance and it's the only measly happy thing I can summon to say about "Stan".

Lots of folks apparently like this film. This can only suggest that there has been an appetite amongst the public for a Laurel and Hardy biographical drama, and also, that the public generally knows next to nothing about the real lives of the two famous movie comics. For watching this wretched travesty of a film reveals less than nothing about those real lives. All it reveals is gross falsehood. The script writers knew nothing about their subjects. Whenever the script happens to touch on facts it distorts the facts. This film stinks. It stinks so bad it makes you want to wretch. I don't simply dislike this movie, I execrate it, I want every copy of it burnt, with wide scattering given the ashes.

I'm not going to criticize "Stan" point by point for it would take a lifetime to enumerate all the things that are horribly wrong about this biography. Every frame of this movie, twenty-four of them every second over the excruciatingly unendurable duration of the reeking film, is a lie. If you suffer a viewing of "Stan", simply repeat to yourself during the the course of it, over and over to soothe your pained eyes: "The opposite is true." You will always be right.

Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy were great comics who worked together with profound mutual respect from the onset of their pairing. Stan was not an egotist, or a pathetic neurotic, or a hermit, or anything else that he is portrayed to be here. Oliver Hardy was anything but the sheepish dolt he's depicted to be in this script. Both men, by all knowledgeable accounts, were delightful personalities off-screen. Their private lives were arrayed, as are all our lives, with quotients of joy and sorrow. A good biographical picture could be made based on the facts of their lives. This film is based on something that rose up in the script writer's bowel.

I will parse one particular. Aging Babe Hardy, who had been variably chubby to fat since childhood, began dieting strenuously in 1956. Within months he got down to his ideal weight; he was not at all fat anymore; he was happy for that. Then, suddenly and sadly, Babe got very sick and dwindled down to a rail. So it's the Hardy of about 1955 that his hefty portrayer resembles in the film's 1957 death bed scenes, and so really those scenes are inaccurate too; Mister Hardy, at the very last, actually looked about opposite to what the actor looks like in the death bed.

Of course, typically only knowing him from his corpulent days in Hollywood films, the film's general audience would naturally expect a fat Hardy in this film. Viewers would tend simply to be baffled by a skinny Ollie. So I'll forgive the film makers their poetic license on this point. But that's all I'll forgive them. Their movie is an insult to two very fine fellows. In the introduction to his novel "Slapstick", Kurt Vonnegut called Arthur Stanley Jefferson and Norvell Hardy (Laurel and Hardy's birth names) "two angels of my time." Just so. Dear Stan and Babe deserve all love and gratitude for the unique and tremendous joy they brought to our world. They do not deserve this silly sensationalistic hatchet job. There is no excuse for the existence of this nauseating movie. Avoid it for what it is: filth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
THe actors pull this one off so well! Whatever liberties taken with the true story itself for dramatic effect, the trueness and directness makes this documentary is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drama, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
good drama and a must for every laurel and hardy fan it was well done and I recommend it to every one. I am glad I now have a copy of STAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STAN THE MAN, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
SUPERB ACTING AND STORYLINE ON A KING SHY MAN WITH SOME EXCELLENT ACTING AND WILL MELT THE HEART OF ANY LAUREL AND HARDY FAN - THANKYOU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stan, 11 Aug 2014
By 
H. Geldard "Helen" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
This is an emotion charged true story of the last moments Stan Laurel spent with Oliver Hardy whilst Oliver was on his death bed. Both my husband and myself found this true story really moving. It was well worth buying and was reasonable in price. Thanks Helen x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish it was longer..., 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
So the BBC bring out the Stan DVD, and as a fan of Laurel and Hardy this was an eye opener, brilliant story, just wish it was longer but hey, we cannot always get what we want..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stan, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Henry Northey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
Agood told life story of stan worth a viewig from
comedy fans a must to watch good value for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it!, 3 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful drama from the BBC and its release on DVD is long overdue.

If you love Laurel and Hardy you will want this.

A very special tribute to two very special men.

'Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remeber the old days with a smile., 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend to this product to any one who enjoys family comedy. Ideal as a f=gift for an older person wanting to remember
a brilliant due to set the sandard for Morecombe ad Wise.
The quality of the videa wasn't perfectbut good enough to watch without distraction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars STAN, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stan - The acclaimed BBC drama telling the story of one of the greatest comedy duos of all time.... Laurel & Hardy [DVD] (DVD)
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOING TO BE JUST AS ENTERTAINING AS LAUREL AND HARDY. HARDLY. IT JUST GAVE YOU CLIPS INTO THEIR LIVES AND NOT A LOT ELSE. I WAS QUITE DISAPPOINTED WITH IT AND VERY BORED. I KEPT WAITING FOR SOMETHING INTERESTING TO HAPPEN, BUT SADLY FOR ME IT NEVER DID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews