Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crimea
A continuing saga, with correct firearms used, delineates the usual British upper cllass twits leading our armies, and what the troops had to contend with.
It builds on the little "special forces troop as they would now be called"
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I discovered the Crossman books quite late and am slowly working my way through them. I have enjoyed the earlier books but found this one a little disappointing. The previous books have followed Cornwell's Sharpe template. A mission for the hero, a run in with some suitably stupid officers, an equally suitable villain and ending up with the hero taking part in a famous...
Published on 22 April 2008 by Stringbok


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 April 2008
By 
Stringbok (Billericay, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I discovered the Crossman books quite late and am slowly working my way through them. I have enjoyed the earlier books but found this one a little disappointing. The previous books have followed Cornwell's Sharpe template. A mission for the hero, a run in with some suitably stupid officers, an equally suitable villain and ending up with the hero taking part in a famous set piece battle. But in this book Kilworth seems to have changed tack and I think there is a clue as to why, halfway through the book when Crossman spies an old ship out at sea - 'the Surprise'. Readers of Patrick O'Brian will recognise this as the favourite ship of Jack Aubrey, and it is the Aubrey / Maturin novels that appear to be the template for the Winter Soldiers. Thus in amongst the missions we get a lot of detail about army life, a somewhat farcical interval where Crossman is asked to run an Army school, a sub plot about a corrupt general that goes nowhere and lots about Crossman's love life, Lady Lavinia (again) and a tedious new character Cousin Jane. The set piece battle at the end, although brilliantly described as usual, occupies just ten pages. Unfortunately Kilworth does not have O'Brian's skill in evoking the period and mixing the mundane with short periods of feverish action and I found the book dragged. Hopefully he returns to winning ways in the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crimea, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
A continuing saga, with correct firearms used, delineates the usual British upper cllass twits leading our armies, and what the troops had to contend with.
It builds on the little "special forces troop as they would now be called"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Winter Soldiers, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book along with the others in the series however there appears to be a part of the story missing from the kindle edition. At 89% the engagement with the deserters is in mid flow without any lead in suggesting that one or two pages are missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Winter Soldiers, 23 Dec 2010
Excellent book follows on from his other books, thoroughly recommend it to anyone who likes C.S. Forrester or Bernard Cornwells Sharpe books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific read, 25 July 2002
By A Customer
Its been a couple of years since I read the last Crossman novel and this one was a welcome surprise. Like the others, The Winter Soldiers did not fail to engage me. I love the way the author mingles action with the lighter side of army society, much in the way Kipling used to with his Indian stories. One gets to see several facets of the main character this way, and also many of the other characters. A very enjoyable and exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Winter soldiers, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book as good as the other's I will be reading the next books hopping that thay are as good as this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like his others a good read, 18 Jun 2014
By 
David Boxall "DB" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
yet another thumping read the story runs along at a fast pace you can almost sell it..the tail seem to get better with each book I read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
This is book four in the series and hasn't had the same page turning ability of the first three, a bit of a flat line really few ups and few downs! However the last few pages were written with such feeling for soldiers in war it very nearly made up for the first 95%. I have really enjoyed these books and look forward to getting number 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Winter soldiers., 7 Sep 2013
By 
Colin Easton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
This is an earlier story of Fancy Jack Crossman. It introduced us to the character and set the scene for the following stories. I was amazed about the revelations of how the troops were treated. The battle scenes were very well handled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like a bit of old fashioned action, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winter Soldiers (Kindle Edition)
Fancy Jack Grossman is an old-school rebel, but one with a cause. Espionage, behind enemy lines, blowing up bridges, lots of action to keep you entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winter Soldiers
The Winter Soldiers by Garry Douglas Kilworth
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews