Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine period drama, Mads shines again.
A superb film. A young queen moves from a peaceful life in England to become a queen in Denmark, married to a man who has the mentality of a boy. From the beginning its obvious that the king is treated like a joke, a temperamental and unexperienced young man. His flaws are exploited by the political movers and shakers in the royal court by those who seek power for...
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by godzilla78

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic
Not bad but I think this dvd is overrated also it kept freezing as I was watching it even though new video not my DVD player so dissapointed
Published 13 months ago by Sue Freeman


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine period drama, Mads shines again., 16 Aug 2012
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A superb film. A young queen moves from a peaceful life in England to become a queen in Denmark, married to a man who has the mentality of a boy. From the beginning its obvious that the king is treated like a joke, a temperamental and unexperienced young man. His flaws are exploited by the political movers and shakers in the royal court by those who seek power for themselves. The queen trys yet fails to love the king and soon her head is turned by the arrival of a physican (Mikkelsen) hired to work with the king.

As a friendship/kinship bond develops between the king and physician, the queen also shares the political views of the physician - to give more freedome to the Danish people and not stiffled by the rich and powerful. Unfortunately for the trio, their attempts to change society are hampereed by religious fanatics within the court who find their revolutionary ideas distasteful.

Essentially this is a love story set during the time of political and religious upheaval but is superbly acted by the main trio of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Borgen C18 Style, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I join in the praise of this Danish, Swedish and Czech co-production which deserves to be more widely promoted than is likely. Both entertaining and moving, it is based on a true story little known in England, of how in the eighteenth century an English princess was packed off to marry the young Danish king, Christian V11, who proved to be mentally ill at a time when there was little understanding or treatment available for his condition.

We see examples of the ludicrous situation in which his crazy wishes are imposed on his subjects, because he is a monarch "whose word is law". Since his young wife has to endure his cruel and humiliating behaviour, it is not surprising that she falls for Struensee, the charismatic physician brought in to keep the young man under control. Struensee is an interesting character: he forms what appears to be a genuine friendship with Christian, his desire for a more equal society seems sincere, and gives him interests in common with the young queen from a country which is already a parliamentary democracy and relatively "free-thinking", but is he corrupted by the power gained from having the king's ear? Do his ends justify his means? The pain created by the complex "love triangle" is also explored, with all three arousing some sympathy in this skilful production.

Beneath a well-constructed plot, there lie some complex moral issues which may linger in your thoughts for some time. It is also interesting to see how Denmark has progressed from being a repressive and backward feudal monarchy as recently as the C18.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining royal palace drama, 27 Oct 2012
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
"A Royal Affaire" (2012 release from Denmark; 137 min.) brings the true story of Caroline Mathilda (played by Alicia Vikander), the English teenage princess who married King Christian VII of Denmark (played by Mikkel Følsgaard) in the early 1770s. Caroline's dreams of a fairy tale-like marraige are soon destroyed when it turns out that the King is utterly mad. After the royal couple's first child is born, Caroline becomes attracted to, and eventually becomes romantically involved with, the King's personal physician, Struensee (played by Mads Mikkelsen). As it happens, Struensee's role is much larger than just being the King's physician, as he has substantial influence over the King's political actions as well. Soon Struensee and Caroline are using the King as a pawn to advance their political ideas of freedom of speech and other such "radical" ideas. To tell you more of the plot would ruin your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Several comments: first and foremost, kudos to the producers who worked with a budget of 46 million Danish Krone (about US$ 8 million, mere peanuts in Hollywood terms) and bring us a grand scale historical drama, the likes of which we don't get to see made very often in Europe. The overall feeling of the movie is quite epic as a result. Second, also kudos to Mads Mikkelsen for his portrayal of the German physician Struensee, it is quite the tour-de-force.

This movie premiered at the 2012 Berlin Film Festival, to great acclaim, and rightfully so. I saw this movie on a recent home visit to Belgium, and the particular theatre and screening where I was was well attended. I think this movie has some legs, and it will be interesting to see if it eventually finds a release on the US market as well. Meanwhile, if you like historical dramas or are simply in the mood for a quality foreign movie, "A Royal Affair" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 18 Aug 2012
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I stumbled across this film accidentally, just picking it on the basis of title and not having a clue what it was about.How glad am I that I went to see this film, I have to say this has to be the best film I have seen this year. A very interesting and unusual story (I don't want to give too much away)brought to life by a group of accomplished actors, great director and some of the most beautiful sets i have ever seen.
Also it taught me a great deal about Danish history, a subject I intend to explore more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting & devastating, 22 Sep 2012
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is a film that stays with you - harrowingly beautiful to watch.
I really felt it showed the grim reality of how it was to live at the time - perilous whether you were poor (highly likely to die young from some unpleasant disease) or rich (always guarding you back with slightly less of a chance of dying young from some unpleaseant disease).
The acting was was fantastic - I was completely caught up with the characters' feelings of hope, disappointment, elatation, terror and frustration. One of the scenes toward the end of the film, where one of the characters has a realises the truth of what is about to unfold but manages to carry on as 'normal', has been stuck in my head ever since I saw it, it was completely devastating. Everything conveyed, for me at least, how it would have been to live at the time, without feeling the slightest nod to dress it up for the standard cinema audience of today.
An amazing, harrowing, enlightening film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Royal Affair, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Royal Affair [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It is extremely well-played and the story is based on historical events which makes it even more interesting. The performance by the actors is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy early candidate for the Best Foreign Film oscar, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I must confess to being a great fan of this period of history on film ever since seeing Barry Lyndon in the 1970's but the factual basis of this drama was wholly unknown to me which is always a plus point for me with any film. In a production with uniformly outstanding acting, the most notable is Mikkel Boe Følsgaard as the young king who takes us brilliantly and believably on a journey from unsympathic boorishness to becoming arguably the hero of the film. The design is also exceptional with costumes that mirror the worthy subject matter rather than trying to stun us with unrealistic Marie Antoinette-style colour and the use of what appear to be original locations wherever possible with appropriately subdued lighting. So why only 4 stars? Just because I felt that, despite the design, the story was a little too sanitized? Would the goodies have been quite so good and the baddies quite so bad? An absorbing film nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good historical drama, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Rena Lyons (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
When you overcome the foreign language (to me at least) which is Danish as the incidents it depicts have to do with the Danish Royal family, the film is excellently produced and acted and adheres pretty close to actual events that took place in that kingdom at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This movie needs to be stuck with when watching after 30 mins it turned out to be a great movie I am glad I brought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A royal affair, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Royal Affair [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A superb film, especially Mads Michelsen. And a true story, almost incredible to believe. I've read the book by the Swedish author Per Olov Enquist. The film is very true to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Royal Affair [Blu-ray]
A Royal Affair [Blu-ray] by Nikolaj Arcel (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews