Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars70
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 October 2014
More of a disturbing psycological thriller movie that is well acted and filmed despite a sprinkling of 'shakey camera' scenes. It is a slow moving movie that never gets out of second gear so those wanting action scenes will be disappointed. The story is ambiguous in places and does leave the horror fan wanting more. Ultimately depressing, it is difficult to recommend Lovely Molly as entertainment but it is an example how good acting can be brought to a budget project.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Couldn't even get through this. Watch if you enjoy paint drying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Slightly weird but compelling movie that's very creepy at times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
goods as described
I would use this supplier again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Welcome to the filmic equivalent of treading in dog sh t. One star for the acting, which was alright but must be shared with the hilarious beast of the piece which, for me, was the real star of the show. Other than that, a tedious, uninspired affair; I wish I hadn't.
55 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
When I saw this movie was made by the same guy that did Blair Witch Project my natural reaction was to avoid at all cost. I'm glad I didn't. Unlike Blair Witch Project this isn't a movie where a bunch of kids wonder around woods for two hours it actually has a plot! The film is set out in part handheld camera and part third person narrative. It opens with Molly, a newly-wed cleaner and former heroine addict holding a knife to her throat and crying when she says 'I'm not in control anymore'.

Molly and her new husband move back to her childhood home Molly herself doesn't remember much about her childhood though and throughout the film old memories and ghosts start to resurface. Molly finds when exploring the house with her handheld camera as strange shrine hidden in the floors of a barn with an insignia of horse heads with antlers and she finds a closet where she can here crying. When she opens the closet she goes into a trance-like state and reaches out her hand. Throughout the film Molly is tormented by resurfacing memories of abuse and being haunted by the demonic entity that only she can see (though we regualrly hear horse hoofs) related to the token she found in that shrine. Despite the best efforts of her sister Hannah and husband Tim, Molly's personality dramatically changes she becomes a stalker, an abuser, cheat and murderer as she gradually succumbs to the demon haunting her. After killing her husband, neighbours child and the local pastor (who she seduced) Molly wanders off into the night naked where we see the outline of a horse headed man with antlers and glowing eyes opening his arms to her. It is then revealed Molly has gone missing, her sister Hannah returns to the house and looking through the family photo albums she finds every photograph of their father has had his face replaced with that of a horse. She then finds the same closet that Molly heard crying from and opens it reanacting Molly's actions at the begining of the film.

Though the identity of the demon tormenting Molly is never revealed I suspect the demon it is based on is either Prince Orobas, one of the grand princes of Hell and patron of the conjurer or perhaps King Amdusias a king of Hell with the head of a unicorn. Orobas however is the most likely candidate as he is famous for his truthfullness and willingness to answer any questions about past, present or future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
YAWN YAWN!! here we go again.I nearly switched this off in the first few minutes,as it starts as a "found footage" film,suprise,like the "Blair Witch".The one saving grace with this is it's never quite clear wether it is a haunting,or all in Mollys head.This treads on a very very well worn path & has many of the cliches found on it..
The plot is simple,after getting married Molly & Tim move into her perants old house witch,yes you've guessed,is in a quite remote spot.There is the odd flashback to Mollys odd childhood witch becomes more clear as the film goes on.Three months in & odd things start happening round the house,usually at,oh! guessed right AGAIN,at night.Bring on the creeping round the house in the dark,creepy basement,that room where something isn't quite right AND footage as Molly goes round filming nothing happening.

This niether scary or creepy,it's just very very old hat.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
ok to watch on a lazy sunday I guess
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Firstly Lovely Molly is a first rate attempt at bringing the horrors of traumatic events into a mainstream audience but using the themes used often in regular chillers and for the most part avoids the usual tropes set by some of its predecessors that go in for this creepy atmospheric stuff. Paranormal Activity this is not, even if the trailer is slightly misleading. It is a beguiling often disturbing film that has a rather brilliant central performance.
The movie, a little like the recent Berbarian Sound Studio, focuses on the atmosphere and in particular the use of sounds and interesting audio assisted along the way by a foreboding score by the prog rock band Tortoise. These sound effects often become too shocking to handle, but director Sanchez wants more and adds in rumblings of deep, dark noise to crank up the hostility.
the movie at times tries to add a little too much to see what sticks and what doesn't but despite it flaws , kudos must be given to Gretchen Lodge, who performs masterly as Molly throughout, and keeps the film knitted neatly together. In only her second film, Lodge brings tenderness and humility to Molly, as she struggles, quite literally, with her demons. A little like Martyrs but less graphic and profound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Good
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)