Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT IN MOM'S KITCHEN!
The movie cycles back and forth between a home movie video that displays the time and date and a bad hand held camera that doesn't. Tim (Johnny Lewis) and Molly (Gretchen Lodge) get married in 2010 according to the camera, but don't move into her parent's home until a year later in 2011. We know that her parents, Ben and Tammy are deceased...in heaven watching the...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!
I was expecting more from this. Had there been some kind of clarity at the end (I won't spoil the ending but it did ruin what could have been an 'open to interpretation' finale by seemingly throwing something else into the mix). There was much needless violence throughout without explanation and although I was never bored (use of video camera 'footage' created tension...
Published 11 days ago by Ruby Tuesday


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT IN MOM'S KITCHEN!, 10 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The movie cycles back and forth between a home movie video that displays the time and date and a bad hand held camera that doesn't. Tim (Johnny Lewis) and Molly (Gretchen Lodge) get married in 2010 according to the camera, but don't move into her parent's home until a year later in 2011. We know that her parents, Ben and Tammy are deceased...in heaven watching the ceremony.

Tim is a truck driver who travels. He has installed an alarm system, one that goes off on occasion as if someone inside the house unlocks and opens the door. But they seemingly own no gun living in a rural area. Hannah (Alexandra Holden) is Molly's F-bomb dropping, pot smoking, blond sister. There is a mystery concerning the house and its past that Molly doesn't recall. She is creeped out by being alone in her childhood house. All this adds up to only one thing to horror genre fans who have seen this recently in too many films. However this film doesn't care if you gather this clue early as there is much more going on.

To add to the uncertainty, Molly has a history of drug use and at times doesn't seem to be all there. Interesting film, although clearly not for everyone. This is a slightly more complex "ghost" story than the Paranormal series and fans of the simple hand held camera genre may not find this feature enjoyable. While the film is slow at times, it doesn't stagnate as every scene drops a clue or tells a story. It is a film I am considering watching again to pick up things I missed.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, sex, full frontal nudity (Gretchen Lodge)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely eerie, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Had wanted to see it in the cinema, but limited release meant didn't get a chance.

Good performances (particularly Alexandra Holden as the eponymous Molly), genuinely creepy build up. Is it a horror movie or a horrific drama about a young woman sinking (back) into addiction and trauma after moving back into the old family home which evokes memories of a terrible childhood. There's a final shot which had the hairs on my neck/head/arms standing on end - quietly freaked me out and stayed with me for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars creepy film, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: Lovely Molly [DVD] (DVD)
When I first saw this in a shop I thought it might be just an ok film considering a lot of horrors nowadays aren't that good, but wow I was totally wrong it was excellent as I hoped it would be when I realised it was from the same guy that made the 'Blair Witch' and at a great price I was pretty chuffed.
Its the kind of film that is creepy and you don't think you will get to see the demon or ghost at all like in the 'Blair Witch' though because its very good anyway that didn't matter. But unlike the 'Blair Witch' the vision of the demon is shown in the film once but when u least expect it, which was great as it looks very creepy and because its unexpected this makes it even creepier and in fact I think it looked like one of the creepiest demons I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most disturbing and vile modern horror films, its amazing. It's scary and shocking and everything you want in a horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting more from this. Had there been some kind of clarity at the end (I won't spoil the ending but it did ruin what could have been an 'open to interpretation' finale by seemingly throwing something else into the mix). There was much needless violence throughout without explanation and although I was never bored (use of video camera 'footage' created tension well and kept the viewer in suspense) the plot does not 'unfold': nothing is ever revealed so you are left as clueless at the end as you are at the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supurb chiller!, 19 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovely Molly [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Newly married Molly and her husband move back into molly's old family home, as a struggling young couple it helps save some cash. Unfortunately the family home comes with plenty of baggage for molly and a few ghosts as well and pretty soon poor molly begins to deteriorate and fall back into bad habits as she's left alone in the house to face its demons.

I just rented this from work and I'm definately looking at buying it. Writer/Director Eduardo sanchez, most famous for the BLAIR WITCH PROJECT, as crafted a subtle and chilling horror that refuses to state explicitly whether the apparitions that haunt the central character are real paranormal occurrences or simply in her head, so it leaves it to the audience to decide whether the film is a Repulsion style descent into madness or a depiction of a woman slowly becoming possessed by malevolent forces. For once an american film-maker has given a central character with a real job, real-world problems and this helps Molly become far more identifiable as a character, and her downfall all the more tragic and chilling.

For once a horror that deserves all the great reviews on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent horror film, 27 Jun 2014
By 
M. Brookes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovely Molly (Blu-ray)
The trailer looked interesting although I wasn't expecting much. The story isn't anything special although it's a solid haunting/possession affair. It moves along at a good pace and there's a few wince worthy moments. The production quality is high and that helps lift it somewhat. I also appreciated that it made a good effort at building a tense atmosphere before bringing out the blood. It's not great, but it's a decent enough horror watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars PASSABLE..., 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly [DVD] (DVD)
Not bad, but wouldn't watch again. Good performances but plot was too vapid. Some truly disguisting scenes which could have been replaced by a better storyline. At best, a time killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eerie, 20 May 2014
By 
J. Pogmore ""trash hound"" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovely Molly [DVD] (DVD)
An unsettling psychological horror film that is based in an authentic seeming blue-collar reality. The director keeps the horror grounded with suspense and and realistic depiction of addiction, abuse, and mental-illness. Molly's struggles are harsh and the supernatural undertones can either be taken literally or as a symptom of Molly's fragile state of mind. Gretchen Lodge gives a strong, raw performance that is both scary and pitiable.
This is a far stronger film than the vague and gimmicky Blair Witch Project, which could only ever be good for one viewing and gave birth. to the flood of god-awful found footage efforts churned out today.
Lovely Molly is a genre film with substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Golly Miss Molly, 8 May 2014
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovely Molly [DVD] (DVD)
!!! WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. !!!

Now this is a real horror film. Not for the squeamish, it is quite an uncomfortable viewing experience, as the title character Molly( Gretchen Lodge, superb), either suffers a complete nervous breakdown, caused by drug abuse and a long buried family trauma, or is possessed by a diabolical supernatural evil. If it is the latter, and the film's ambiguity does force the viewer to question their assumptions, then it is one of the best examples of demonic possession ever to be shown on film, insidious and underplayed. For long periods of the film the viewer witnesses events unfolding from Molly's point of view, and this is what partly leads the film to become such an uneasy viewing experience, as the other characters become mere cyphers, as Molly starts to mentally disintegrate. The other characters become simple irritants in her skewed world.
This is in my opinion, director Sanchez's best film by far. He should be rightly proud of this superlative, if dispiriting horror gem. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovely Molly [DVD]
Lovely Molly [DVD] by Eduardo Sanchez (DVD - 2012)
£2.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews