Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine for connecting a Panasonic MiniDV NV-DS33 video camera to my iMac via a Firewire 800, 9 pin to 4 pin cable..
Used this adaptor in conjunction with a FireWire 800 Cable, 9 pin to 4 pin, to connect an old Panasonic MiniDV NV-DS33 video camera to my iMac. Video's transfer easily with no problems.
Published 10 months ago by Boris

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thunderbolt plug adapter.
This adapter works fine, Its a pity no one told me that it would damage the firewire port in my camera, if I connect it while the camera is turned on.
I now have two HD Video cameras with damaged fire wire outputs. thanks a lot guys.

After hotswapping my firewire leads in several camera's for years, I nover thought for a minute that this was likely.
Published on 18 Jan. 2013 by Videoman


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thunderbolt plug adapter., 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
This adapter works fine, Its a pity no one told me that it would damage the firewire port in my camera, if I connect it while the camera is turned on.
I now have two HD Video cameras with damaged fire wire outputs. thanks a lot guys.

After hotswapping my firewire leads in several camera's for years, I nover thought for a minute that this was likely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine for connecting a Panasonic MiniDV NV-DS33 video camera to my iMac via a Firewire 800, 9 pin to 4 pin cable.., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
Used this adaptor in conjunction with a FireWire 800 Cable, 9 pin to 4 pin, to connect an old Panasonic MiniDV NV-DS33 video camera to my iMac. Video's transfer easily with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thunderbolt to FireWire, 23 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
Had no problems with the product as of yet. The only bad thing I would say is that it is very short but this shouldn't be a problem as your FireWire cable is probably long enough anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Socket to me, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
I love it simply because I can now read my old external hard drive. Unknown to me, I had the older version firewire and when I bought my new iMac it wouldn't connect without it. Mind you, it's bl88dy expensive for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars should be labelled better, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
I wasn't aware it was firewire 800, I needed a 400... so I had to buy an extra adapter. should have been labelled better in the seller description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says and FW Daisy chain works fine., 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Ian Turner "Ian" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
Used it with a number of FW800 drives and works fine.

Slight problem is that the Thunderbolt end does not hold on very tight so is prone to slipping out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
As advertised, it is what it is. Bought to link a Mini DV to mac book pro, so bought with an adapter as well, which all works and does the trick, if a bit heath Robinson to look at!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apple MD464ZM/A Firewire (800) socket 9-pin to Thunderbolt plug, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
This adapter plug works well and I am now able to carry on transferring DV video from my camcorder to my computer. It is just a shame that it has to be as expensive as it is. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars slow connection, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Gary J. Hunter "Family Hunter" (Malta, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
works fine but in use with an external 1 TB hard drive I expected better transfer speeds. firewire 800 was always faster than USB2 for this device. USB2 connection is faster than firewire 800-to-thunderbolt.
In short, if you can use USB2 or USB3 to connect, do so. Do not bother with a firewire 800 converter to thunderbolt. Its too slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but works under Windows 8.1 so happy :-), 26 April 2014
By 
Ian Stark (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter (Personal Computers)
No-one was able to answer the question of whether this would work under Windows 8.1 on an Asus laptop equipped with Thunderbolt but I was quite desperate for a super-quick solution so I gave it a go. And it works flawlessly (so far) without any set up trouble. I confess I hadn't read the description sufficiently to realise it was FW800 so I had to make an emergency last minute trip to Maplins to get a 800 to 400 cable (another £20), but on setting it all up and attaching a Canon XH-A1S video camera to it everything connected seamlessly and without any intervention or tweaking from me. It just worked. For anyone interested I am capturing using Sony Vegas Pro 13. Next challenge is to see if it will capture for up to an hour without dropping frames. Fingers crossed.

I'm a professional videographer with fifteen+ years experience of flaky firewire connectivity so my hopes were not particularly high, however I am delighted that I can continue to use this old camera as a capture device. It's sat in a box for two years and is probably unsellable now.

In my case the adapter has already paid for itself as yesterday I was asked to supply a third camera for a product launch event in 36 hours time. For a total outlay of fifty quid I am able to charge my client an additional amount many times more than my outlay. The alternative would have been to rent a third camera for several hundred, if I could get one at such short notice.

Next day delivery c/o Prime meant I ordered the adapter on the Friday afternoon and it arrived on the Saturday morning.

Despite all the good news, it's still rather expensive for what it is - but that's Apple for ya, and that's why I dropped a star :-)

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple Thunderbolt to FireWire Adapter
£20.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews