Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tense Ensemble WWII Drama
This is an interesting career diversion for Rupert Grint, best known as one of Harry Potter's pals. This movie is based on a true story. A couple of aircrews, one German, one English, are shot down over the ice and snowbound wastelands of Norway in 1940. There is a British officer and his gunner (played by Grint), and a German officer and his gunner. In a struggle for...
Published 7 months ago by William Mason

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norway at war
Norway hasnt had much in the way of war films, was it because it was seen as a "side show"? ok Heros of Telemark with Kirk Douglas and another film which starred Dixon of Dock Green. and Max Manus i guess. so i had to buy this one, Rupert acts as a mid 20th cent working class conscript would when counteracting the enemy in deed and word. in times like these you...
Published 8 months ago by Jorn G. Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a war film as such but a psychological profile, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
spYder (UK via elsewhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Not always believable throughout but a good war based story of the psychological aspect of combatants needing to cooperate to survive and the changing of attitudes. Watched it after 'A Midnight Clear' that has a very different slant and outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film, you begin to feel for the characters as the film progresses. Good script and acting. Recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible., 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Couldn't watch it to the end because of the low quality of the actors. The story looked interesting but the director failed to make something of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films to emerge about World War 2, 11 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Rupert Cringe. What a load of dross ! One of the worst films to emerge about World War 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
C. Andrew "Catty" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film. Its not about war, its about friendship and characters. The performances are uniformally strong but Rupert Grint as Smith does steal every scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film. Very touching and humorous at times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw dropping, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Cross of honour

If a good novel “informs the reader” rather than “tells the reader” then the same is surely true for films (or movies) and this is certainly the case here.

The film is outstanding. It left me open jawed thinking about it, and its relevance and for a long time after watching it.

When I Googled the film after watching it I realised the relevance of the “Scouser” on the cover of the DVD. I say “Scouser” because he evidently and surprisingly is not. But Gunner Smith (the Scouser) is, and I say this about the real man (be him from Liverpool or not) someone who we should all be proud of. But you will have to watch the film to see why.

Everyting about this film is near perfect. If, and only in the smallest way it is not quite perfect, and this is a minor criticism, it is because the characters are somewhat clichéd. Having said that, they may have been deliberately portrayed in such a way, and if so – it certainly works.

Cross Of Honour has very much the feel of a stage play, as for nine tenths of the film the cast are in one place and alone so it may not be for those who are looking for an action thriller. But for anyone who can appreciate a film with more intelligence than a Hollywood blockbuster then this could well be worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross of Honour (also known as "Into the White") Great Performances ALL ROUND !!, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
S. Dance (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a big fan of epic/war films, However there are many, many bad ones which is disappointing, this film, luckily, is not one of them. I was not expecting much from this film as I had never heard of it before, After the first five to ten minutes I had already decided that I was going to watch this film to the end. Rupert Grint shows that he is so much more than just the average child actor, his character is believable and he plays his role very well. Lachlan Nieboer is an actor I have never seen before and his performance as a posh RAF Captain is performed well and he works well with the remainder of the cast. Florian Lukas, Stig Henrik Hoff and David Kross play the roles of three German luftwaffe crew members and they all play their parts in this film without any floors with Stig Henrik Hoff becoming a much liked character in this film. I would recommend this film and it shows that a good low budget film can still tick all the boxes that some high budget films still fail to !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good survival story, 1 Mar. 2014
nice film and a true story well put together and good acting makes it work well shows that even in the depths of war the humanitarian side of human nature can prevail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross of Honour [Blu-ray]
Cross of Honour [Blu-ray] by Rupert Grint (Blu-ray - 2012)
£16.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews