Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little film with a lot of heart
We're in World War II, and Britain and Germany are battling over Norway's minerals. An RAF aeroplane and its Luftwaffe opponent crash in a wintry wilderness. Three German airmen take refuge in a deserted wooden shack; later, two Brits - including a ginger Scouser played by Hogwarts's Rupert Grint - stumble into it too. This film (based on a true story) tells the tale of...
Published 17 months ago by Nat Whilk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norway at war
Norway hasnt had much in the way of war films, was it because it was seen as a "side show"? ok Heros of Telemark with Kirk Douglas and another film which starred Dixon of Dock Green. and Max Manus i guess. so i had to buy this one, Rupert acts as a mid 20th cent working class conscript would when counteracting the enemy in deed and word. in times like these you...
Published 2 months ago by Jorn G. Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little film with a lot of heart, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
We're in World War II, and Britain and Germany are battling over Norway's minerals. An RAF aeroplane and its Luftwaffe opponent crash in a wintry wilderness. Three German airmen take refuge in a deserted wooden shack; later, two Brits - including a ginger Scouser played by Hogwarts's Rupert Grint - stumble into it too. This film (based on a true story) tells the tale of what happens next.

All my favourite films are extravagant fantasy blockbusters, so it's a tribute to this micro-budget production that I enjoyed it as much as I did. Although most of its action was confined to a space about the size of a double garage, the quality of the script, performances, cinematography and editing were such that my interest never flagged. There was tension aplenty, and humour, and pathos, and finally - or so it seemed to me - a lesson in human nature well worth learning and remembering.

Complaints? The blu-ray sleeve, with its dramatic image of aircraft and infantry absent from the film itself, might lead you to expect a different kind of film from what the disc actually offers. And I'd like to have seen a bit more of the film's beautiful Norwegian and Swedish locations. Oh, and I could have done without the script's handful of four-letter words - but then I am more than a bit tweedily old-fashioned.

The picture quality of the blu-ray is fine. The audio is just modest two-channel PCM, but this is entirely adequate to a soundscape not very different from a play's. About twenty minutes of German or Norwegian dialogue are given clear, legible subtitles. The only extras are trailers for three other low-budget war movies, although the film's closing captions tell us what happened to the film's protagonists after the events depicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tense Ensemble WWII Drama, 23 July 2014
By 
Bill Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cross of Honour [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an interesting career diversion for Rupert Grint, best known as one of Harry Potter's pals. This movie is based on a true story. A couple of aircrews, one German, one English, are shot down over the ice and snowbound wastelands of Norway in 1940. There is a British officer and his gunner (played by Grint), and a German officer and his gunner. In a struggle for survival in the harsh conditions, the four of them end up in a deserted hunting lodge. Initally, the Germans, who are armed, "imprison" the English crew in one half of the lodge, but as food supplies run out, the Germans realise that the four will need to work together in order to get home to their loved ones. It is a little bit predictable, but all four actors are likeable, and the dialogue is well scripted. Being enclosed in the hunting lodge gives the film a quite claustrophic and tense dramatic impact, which I found to be very effective. This is hardly Bridge on the River Kwai or Zulu, but it is at least on a par with Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence, if you like this sort of thing, which I do. I watched this with my 11 year old daughter on Boxing Day morning last year, and it kept both of us glued to the screen. The cinematography is very good, and there are lots of eye-catching scenes of the wilderness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norway at war, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Jorn G. Cooper "muscovy duck" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Norway hasnt had much in the way of war films, was it because it was seen as a "side show"? ok Heros of Telemark with Kirk Douglas and another film which starred Dixon of Dock Green. and Max Manus i guess. so i had to buy this one, Rupert acts as a mid 20th cent working class conscript would when counteracting the enemy in deed and word. in times like these you had to have unshakeable faith in the fact you and your side was right and true and the enemy was wrong. it wasnt 90 mins wasted for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 17 Nov 2012
By 
L. Parkes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful film about the lesser-seen parts of war: friendship and companionship between forced rivals. With stunning performances by the whole cast (especially Lachlan Nieboer!) this poignant, moving film certainly deserves a watch. An unknown gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something different a great film, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Great film something different a film with a real human side to it. Good acting Rupert's Liverpool accept spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I do not think it does the real heroes any injustice, 12 Aug 2014
Comrades in arms, band of brothers and all that - soldiers united against a common foe irrespective of their uniform. It is all here and forms a very passable 90 mins of cinematic engagement. Simply done and effective in my opinion. I have seen many a war film and many are average. I would say that due to its unusual subject matter in this vast war it is worth a look. Based on a true story I do not think it does the real heroes any injustice.
We are all hewn from the same wood it is just that upbringing and background give us a skin deep difference. When facing adversity we humans can rise above prejudice and hatred. Our very survival may depend on it as it does in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A decent watch., 14 Aug 2014
By 
Dennis Watts "dennis10825" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fairly decent film, although i'm not sure why Rupert Grint is headline actor, as he was hardly the lead. I'm glad they resisted the urge to 'spice' this up with a load of fiction. I suppose those that have rated this a one star, are just disappointed reality isn't always as exciting as fiction. But then those same people probably think U571 is a brilliant piece of factual film making. To be honest i can't say this is 'brilliant' must watch over and over film, but it's still worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cross of Honour, 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Rupert Grint has proven that some child actors get better as they age. In this war time tale of male bonding, courage and friendship he again demonstrates his versatility with accents and depth of expression. I would be surprised if there wasn't an OSCAR waiting in this young man's future.
This is a film about relationships and human resilience, don't expect thrilling chases or big special effects. Not all the dialogue is in English, it is not an English film, but there are clear subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Lars Jönlid (gothenburg Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Very nice film about friend and foes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging but Lacking, 18 April 2014
This review is from: Cross of Honour (Blu-ray)
Cross of Honour is a well intentioned story but it's slow and predictable.

Set in Norway during World War Two, German and British downed aircrews happen across the same hut during a storm, the battle for survival and witts is played out.

It's predictable from the pristine uniforms and makeshift equipment, the false hopes, the coup d'etat which turns the tables midway through the film, the personal story lines interwoven with the story of war and survival.

This is a low budget film, the cast and the mixed German / English track adds interest but not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross of Honour [Blu-ray]
Cross of Honour [Blu-ray] by Rupert Grint (Blu-ray - 2012)
£9.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews