Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tense Ensemble WWII Drama
This is an interesting career diversion for Rupert Grint, best known as one of Harry Potter's pals. This movie is based on a true story. A couple of aircrews, one German, one English, are shot down over the ice and snowbound wastelands of Norway in 1940. There is a British officer and his gunner (played by Grint), and a German officer and his gunner. In a struggle for...
Published 9 months ago by William Mason

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norway at war
Norway hasnt had much in the way of war films, was it because it was seen as a "side show"? ok Heros of Telemark with Kirk Douglas and another film which starred Dixon of Dock Green. and Max Manus i guess. so i had to buy this one, Rupert acts as a mid 20th cent working class conscript would when counteracting the enemy in deed and word. in times like these you...
Published 10 months ago by Jorn G. Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tense Ensemble WWII Drama, 23 July 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is an interesting career diversion for Rupert Grint, best known as one of Harry Potter's pals. This movie is based on a true story. A couple of aircrews, one German, one English, are shot down over the ice and snowbound wastelands of Norway in 1940. There is a British officer and his gunner (played by Grint), and a German officer and his gunner. In a struggle for survival in the harsh conditions, the four of them end up in a deserted hunting lodge. Initally, the Germans, who are armed, "imprison" the English crew in one half of the lodge, but as food supplies run out, the Germans realise that the four will need to work together in order to get home to their loved ones. It is a little bit predictable, but all four actors are likeable, and the dialogue is well scripted. Being enclosed in the hunting lodge gives the film a quite claustrophic and tense dramatic impact, which I found to be very effective. This is hardly Bridge on the River Kwai or Zulu, but it is at least on a par with Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence, if you like this sort of thing, which I do. I watched this with my 11 year old daughter on Boxing Day morning last year, and it kept both of us glued to the screen. The cinematography is very good, and there are lots of eye-catching scenes of the wilderness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little film with a lot of heart, 20 Mar. 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We're in World War II, and Britain and Germany are battling over Norway's minerals. An RAF aeroplane and its Luftwaffe opponent crash in a wintry wilderness. Three German airmen take refuge in a deserted wooden shack; later, two Brits - including a ginger Scouser played by Hogwarts's Rupert Grint - stumble into it too. This film (based on a true story) tells the tale of what happens next.

All my favourite films are extravagant fantasy blockbusters, so it's a tribute to this micro-budget production that I enjoyed it as much as I did. Although most of its action was confined to a space about the size of a double garage, the quality of the script, performances, cinematography and editing were such that my interest never flagged. There was tension aplenty, and humour, and pathos, and finally - or so it seemed to me - a lesson in human nature well worth learning and remembering.

Complaints? The blu-ray sleeve, with its dramatic image of aircraft and infantry absent from the film itself, might lead you to expect a different kind of film from what the disc actually offers. And I'd like to have seen a bit more of the film's beautiful Norwegian and Swedish locations. Oh, and I could have done without the script's handful of four-letter words - but then I am more than a bit tweedily old-fashioned.

The picture quality of the blu-ray is fine. The audio is just modest two-channel PCM, but this is entirely adequate to a soundscape not very different from a play's. About twenty minutes of German or Norwegian dialogue are given clear, legible subtitles. The only extras are trailers for three other low-budget war movies, although the film's closing captions tell us what happened to the film's protagonists after the events depicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent watch., 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Dennis Watts "dennis10825" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fairly decent film, although i'm not sure why Rupert Grint is headline actor, as he was hardly the lead. I'm glad they resisted the urge to 'spice' this up with a load of fiction. I suppose those that have rated this a one star, are just disappointed reality isn't always as exciting as fiction. But then those same people probably think U571 is a brilliant piece of factual film making. To be honest i can't say this is 'brilliant' must watch over and over film, but it's still worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norway at war, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
Jorn G. Cooper "muscovy duck" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Norway hasnt had much in the way of war films, was it because it was seen as a "side show"? ok Heros of Telemark with Kirk Douglas and another film which starred Dixon of Dock Green. and Max Manus i guess. so i had to buy this one, Rupert acts as a mid 20th cent working class conscript would when counteracting the enemy in deed and word. in times like these you had to have unshakeable faith in the fact you and your side was right and true and the enemy was wrong. it wasnt 90 mins wasted for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT'S BEEN A PLEASURE AND AN HONOUR,, 28 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Three Germans and two British pilots are shot down over Norway and end up in the same hunting cabin. They struggle with each other and realize that they are not much different. The come together to survive.

This is not an action war story, but an anti-war story. It is a good entertaining drama which is filmed mostly in one location. The film consists mostly of dialouge and interaction between the groups. It has some minor attempts at humor, but misses the mark unless a Brit asking for tea under the circumstances is funny.

It is a film I would want to see once, but not a second time.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived next day ,good film ! , as someone who is very interested in WW2 I found this film ,considering it was made on a budget to be very authentic and a good addition to my collection ,Norwegian ,German and English .
Just shows how people can come together in adverse conditions ,despite the initial animosity .
Many years after the war the German pilot met his English counterpart and became friends ,it is based on a true story although names have been changed nevertheless very good .
Basically shows you how stupid war is !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
L. Parkes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful film about the lesser-seen parts of war: friendship and companionship between forced rivals. With stunning performances by the whole cast (especially Lachlan Nieboer!) this poignant, moving film certainly deserves a watch. An unknown gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I do not think it does the real heroes any injustice, 12 Aug. 2014
Comrades in arms, band of brothers and all that - soldiers united against a common foe irrespective of their uniform. It is all here and forms a very passable 90 mins of cinematic engagement. Simply done and effective in my opinion. I have seen many a war film and many are average. I would say that due to its unusual subject matter in this vast war it is worth a look. Based on a true story I do not think it does the real heroes any injustice.
We are all hewn from the same wood it is just that upbringing and background give us a skin deep difference. When facing adversity we humans can rise above prejudice and hatred. Our very survival may depend on it as it does in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it., 14 Dec. 2014
By 
Quaser "Q" (Wellingborough, Northants) - See all my reviews
This was certainly a different kind of war film.

It tells the story of two aircrews from different sides, who are thrown together through circumstances which saw them both shot down, and then having to survive together in a hostile environment.

The portrayal of the both officers struggling to keep the upper hand is

As a study of human nature, it shows that people are basically the same, even when they are enemies. Of course, who the enemy is depends on politics, rather than any real differences. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of WW2 truce in a cabin,, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
alley kat (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cross of Honour [DVD] (DVD)
Average film, mainly inside a log cabin about a German bomber crew who had crash landed, then along comes an English bomber crew who had done the same, the authority changes around the crews from prisoner to captor & back again, but the harsh conditions & their chance of surviving the winter has to bond them together to work at getting food & fuel to keep warm, enemies become friends, until they are traced by the allies & a tragic concusion towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross of Honour [DVD]
Cross of Honour [DVD] by Rupert Grint (DVD - 2012)
£8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews