Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good - But A Little Black and White.
Nuttall is a very good writer of the military sci-fi book, however he does leave the subtle bit, at home sometimes. Having said that, his latest book, Ark Royal is more balanced so perhaps age, experience and maturity are coming to the fore.

If you want to avoid feeling a bit uncomfortable then you have to read this book very much on the surface because if you...
Published 10 months ago by M. G. Chisholm

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit one dimensional
Its an OK read, but the plot and characters are too one dimensional and cliche for my liking.
Goodies, baddies and no grey areas. Bad guys referred to as "The pirates" and "The bandits" and good guy marines that are exemplars in all that is good and true might give you some idea. However as this was the first in the series I thought I'd give the...
Published 13 months ago by Andrew Scooter Guy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good - But A Little Black and White., 10 Feb 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
Nuttall is a very good writer of the military sci-fi book, however he does leave the subtle bit, at home sometimes. Having said that, his latest book, Ark Royal is more balanced so perhaps age, experience and maturity are coming to the fore.

If you want to avoid feeling a bit uncomfortable then you have to read this book very much on the surface because if you look too hard then the empire marines start to look a bit too much like the Waffen SS - with morals, admittedly. If I'm being charitable then perhaps more like Spartans.

In a nutshell, an understrength company of marines are sent to the back end of a crumbling empire to a basket case of a planet because of internal political issues on Earth. Of course the marines are supremely effective as fighters and moral to a person and bring much needed leadership and backbone to the colony. With them is an academic who is also exiled because of his naive publishing of a book pointing out that the Empire is failing.

Immediately I spotted the dead hand of Asimov there as Nuttall had in effect created his own Hari Sheldon. This character seemed to have a point early on but almost vanished by midway through the book. Maybe he makes a return in subsequent books.

What Nuttall does do very well is action and adventure and he manages this perfectly with this story. It's fun. fast paced and well written, if a little black and white at times. Overall a great read as long as you don't think too hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit one dimensional, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Andrew Scooter Guy (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
Its an OK read, but the plot and characters are too one dimensional and cliche for my liking.
Goodies, baddies and no grey areas. Bad guys referred to as "The pirates" and "The bandits" and good guy marines that are exemplars in all that is good and true might give you some idea. However as this was the first in the series I thought I'd give the second one a chance. Unfortunately I found myself skimming through it to get to the totally predictable ending. So no more empire corps for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. S. Kear (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
Picked this up by chance from an automated Amazon recommendation.

I really enjoyed the theme of the book and particularly the introductory "quotes" to each chapter which helped create a solid backing and a believable but thinly sketched (not in bad way) backdrop for the story to be told.

I look forward to reading the next installment which I purchased only halfway through reading this one. Which hopefully imparts how much I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Empire's Corps, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
I think that the best stories are those that keep you up, way past your bed time, story in which you lose yourself, stories that you do not want to end. The Empire Corps have has this quality
There is a very good plot line and story arc, which is well written and develops nicely from book to book, the dialog of the central characters is believable, as is the way they are portrayed, but it is the creative of the writer that make this, such a good serious of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A prelude to a rip roaring space opera?, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
A mix of hard sci-fi, space opera, adventure and swashbuckling derring do. This book appealed to my 13 year old inner child as much as my 35 year old inner cynic, given the social and political complexities explored. A bit rough around the edges in places but, one of the joys of e books is how easy it is to self publish which in turn allows authors to hone their craft. All in all a good start to what could be a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great military sci fi, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
The best soldiers in the empire exiled for telling the truth to the edge of inhabited space. There they struggle to maintain order and morals against the scum of humanity. Great action and plot with an adult content too boot. Makes a nice change from a lot of similar story lines populated by characters who have no social lives. Not reccomended for young readers. Reading book three now and still loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining if a bit of a 'pot boiler', 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
There isn't much in the way of truly original thinking in the plot line, but the story is well enough told, though the characters are a little 2 dimensional and parts of the plot twists are predictable. It's well enough written though there are a few misspellings but not enough to irritate (why is it that 'breach' is so often misspelt 'breech'?). A good entertaining read on the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange but true, 3 April 2013
By 
Jp Hanson "halfday35" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
The synopsis tells of a capt in charge of his marines etc. etc. However what it doesn't tell you and seems to be the main theme throughout the series is that the male leads fall back and the super intelligent and wily women are the main focus of each story. The men opposing them are all misogynistic raping cannibals and that's the good ones. It really reads like an advert for why women should run everything and leave men to sit it out as they are not clever enough to do anything else and when left to there own devices become extremely stupid, brutal, rampant rapists, unable to string coherent sentences' together without prompting. Sorry to say that it runs through the whole series. On the pus side they are well written enjoyable stories, I just wish that some of the baddies were a little less stereotyped and the male characters actually did something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great find - exciting and intelligent, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
I like military SciFi, but some of it can be a bit brainless. The ideas in this book have roots in our own times, the characters are interesting, the plot is exciting and well thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gung Ho but you're worth it, 8 Dec 2014
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Empire's Corps (Kindle Edition)
Some reviewers have criticised Nuttall's presentation of politics. I see him reflecting politicians as they are, corrupt self-serving greedy liars.

The story develops at a good pace after the Marine Corp is basically marooned on a distant planet of the Empire where the marines have to stand or fall on their own merit. I like the quotes form a banned book which open most chapters, and the comments from a military leader which open other chapters.

I did empathise with some of the characters although they are not as deep as I would like. The action is fast and furious but the story is well paced and held my interest throughout. One thing I liked was showing that although the marines are highly trained and well equipped they are not gods. There are some interesting sections where the motives of the characters are questioned or explained.

Recommended if you like the author, which I do. His standard is consistently high, apart from the odd typo, but if you are new to the author I would recommend the Ark Royal series or A learning Experience as good introductions to his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Empire's Corps
The Empire's Corps by Christopher Nuttall
£1.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews