Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insights into History for history buffs!
This great little book would appeal to all those who are seriously into the Horrible History series, providing fascinating insights into the life of the British throughout History ... or, at least, from around the 1600s.

Want to know what made Britain Great?
Want to read about some of our former colonies and what made them special?
Ever wondered why...
Published on 8 Oct. 2012 by E. Heckingbottom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All about the Empire
The British Empire explained for kids was always going to be a bit more of a tricky topic than talking about Egyptians or Romans, like others in the series. I think Tony Robinson pulls it off - just - in this horrible historyesque tome, which is a little easier to read than the horrible histories and full of black and white photos, line drawings and cartoons...
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by Angela


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insights into History for history buffs!, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This great little book would appeal to all those who are seriously into the Horrible History series, providing fascinating insights into the life of the British throughout History ... or, at least, from around the 1600s.

Want to know what made Britain Great?
Want to read about some of our former colonies and what made them special?
Ever wondered why so many people speak English?

Full of well presented, fascinating facts with clear black and white illustrations, this book, in common with the other related books, will make a fantastic stocking filler for an young History buff - especially those aged between 9 and 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ear Tony whats that you say, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Comical retelling of history using the Tony Robison brand , written slightly differently in style but with the same type of Content as the Horrible History's tomes.
An entertaining and enjoyable enough read and one my 11 year old boy did enjoy but then he is a fan of HH as well !!! Fans of Horrible Histories will probably enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All about the Empire, 17 Nov. 2012
By 
Angela - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The British Empire explained for kids was always going to be a bit more of a tricky topic than talking about Egyptians or Romans, like others in the series. I think Tony Robinson pulls it off - just - in this horrible historyesque tome, which is a little easier to read than the horrible histories and full of black and white photos, line drawings and cartoons.

The book doesn't shy away from some of the more tricky parts of the Empire - slavery and racism are mentioned, as is the Nazi party. At times some of the language may seem a bit trite, given this is recent history eg "Adolf Hitler was the leader of a bunch of Germans called the Nazi Party. Nazis liked dressing up in uniform, doing a silly straight-legged walk called the goose stop and sticking their right arm in the air while shouting "heil hitler"..." and being black and living under apartheid is described as "rubbish". Also reading it there are, as another reviewer has mentioned, far too many exclamation marks - the whole of the Empire experience is summed as being about "gold!!!!" - it all seems a bit over jolly given the subject matter. I would say the other book I've read with my child in the series Tony Robinson's Weird World of Wonders: Egyptiansis better. The reading level is fine for a 7-8 year old, I like the book, I just thought that in places a bit more decorum might have been a good idea and the humour falls a little flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun way to learn about our history!, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good fun way to learn about our history, very good illustrations to follow the information. My friends son loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Both better and worse than Horrible Histories (3.5 stars), 26 Aug. 2012
By 
Laura T (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tony Robinson's take on the British Empire is very engaging, funny and informative. There are perhaps fewer interesting pieces of trivia per page than in one of Terry Deary's Horrible Histories. But the payoff is a much better sense of the chronology and a more thorough understanding of what happened and why. Those who love history rather than just historical trivia, I suspect, would opt for Robinson above Deary. There are a few things in this book that might irritate. Top of the list is Robinson's excessive use of exclamation marks (e.g. 'But far and away the most popular thing to come from India was the food! The British in India were said to eat curry for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and they brought their taste for it back home with them!'). For those of us who fondly remember Tony Robinson's amazing TV series, 'Maid Marian and Her Merry Men,' which brilliantly combined kids' entertainment with cutting political commentary, it is perhaps a bit of a disappointment that a book dealing with a subject as politically charged as the British Empire didn't attempt something similar. The claims that slavery is a bad thing, Gandhi wasn't and that Francis Drake dabbled in piracy are about as controversial as it gets. But this is only really a loss for adults reading it to their kids; I'm sure that the latter will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tony Robinsons Weird World Of Wonders : British, 20 Aug. 2012
By 
Romreader "pawsperson" (Gosport, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A wonderful insite into the way we used to live and how our roots formed the basis of today.The Curiosity crew, Illustrated characters take you on a journey to find out how such a tiny country on the map ruled most of the world.
We had a great man called Christopher Columbus who started exploring and he also found south America and lots of fruits that we take for granted today.
Find out about our naval power and the famous battles at sea.Then came along Sir Francis Drake, and we were also Pirates.
Queen Victorias reign and World war one and two bring the history of our country up to date.
A Quiz is at the end of this fab book written for kids in a fun way with a Quiz at the end of the book.
You can also play a weird and wonderful Game by visiting the website (details on the front cover).
My seven year old loves all the books in the series what a fun way to learn thanks to Tony Robinson. Educational, funny and clear information,well worth buying all of the series, also gives you additional information to help with Junior school history homework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Baldrick for Juniors, 22 Aug. 2012
By 
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another fun history book from Tony Robinson giving gory, snotty and poo-related facts, this time on British history from around the mid 1400's.

It covers major Empire-related occurrences and is quite frank - dealing with slavery, piracy and corruption very well. It details how Britain grew and then lost it's Empire in about 150 pages.

These books are ideal for strong readers from 7 upwards, aimed squarely at KS2 children it should also attract Y2 children.

With that in mind though, the one real gripe I do have is that there is nothing regarding the Great Fire of London or Florence Nightingale - two subjects taught frequently in my experience, children really like to get more information on. If these were included, I'd have given 5 stars. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and quirky look at all things British, 10 Sept. 2012
By 
I. Horswell (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fascinating lighthearted look at what made us British. It is written like a kids TV programme - upbeat and bouncy illustrated with cartoons and sidebars. Ideal for the newly confident reader (junior school).

Find out about: the difference between Great Britain and the United Kingdom; what was the British Empire?; discovering America, sugar plantations and slavery; the Royal Navy and press ganging; Captain Cook; Lord Nelson; steam trains; Queen Victoria, why the army wears khaki; British India & curries; Livingstone & Stanley; our colonies and more...

Overall, my 8 year old and I really enjoyed this and we had some very interesting discussions. History was really not my favourite subject at school but books like these make it accessible and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you might expect, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This latest kid's series from Tony Robinson is really quite entertaining, even for adults!

This volume looks at the British. Obviously that's a lot of history to pack into a book of only about 150 pages (plus plenty of illustrations!), so this deals mainly with the British Empire, and indeed how the British came to have such an empire in the first place.

Obviously it's selective about which bits are included, as even 200 years has a lot of history in it, but it doesn't shy away from issues like slavery, even though this is done in a way which is appropriate for the target audience.

It's amusing and includes some nice gory bits bound to appeal to children! I think Tony Robinson is on to another winner with this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining history for kids, 10 Sept. 2012
By 
Pardo (Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
According to my daughter these books are better than Horrible Histories. She's 9 and is a huge fan of the Horrible Histories TV series but finds the books less engaging because she doesn't like the way Terry Deary complains about teachers so much. When I presented her with the first of these books she said "that's that elderly guy off Time Team... he's so old they're bound to be really lame." Half an hour later she was chortling away and quoting chunks out at me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews