Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning
Great country folk outing from these swedish sisters. Beautiful voices and strong songs. The expanded edition is worth the extra cash.
Published 16 months ago by Big Daz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Production!
Two very talented ladies. Fab songs and harmonies.I became aware of them through (Channel 4's)Live at Abbey road series.This was ordered as a xmas pres to ourselves.

The things that lets this down are threefold. Firstly and most important the drowning of the whole cd in reverb. This pushes the voices into the background and makes listening to more than a couple...
Published 18 months ago by 11000038


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Great country folk outing from these swedish sisters. Beautiful voices and strong songs. The expanded edition is worth the extra cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One listen and you're hooked, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Great album from First Aid Kit, demonstrating a different sound from their previous offerings but with those same beautiful harmonies, powerful melodies and touching lyrics. This special edition also includes the latter release single 'Wolf' which is well worth the extra pennies alone. Also includes poster of (I think) artwork from the 'Wolf' single cover, First Aid Kit guitar pick and a booklet with song lyrics and information. All packaged in a neat little box with new artwork.

Highly recommend to anyone with an interest in acoustic/folk/indie/americana especially, with some universally loveable tracks that will touch anyone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lilting Loveliness, 27 Jan 2013
By 
N. Baseley (Haslemere, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Maybe it's my age or maybe there is a genuine difference between today's 'indie country' bands and classic 'country' (which I've historically despised!). In any case, I found this a lovely listen with enough indie bite to avoid pressing my negative country buttons, whilst its unquestionable country element adds a high degree of charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Brilliant, absolutely love their voices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 8 May 2013
By 
Mr P G BUTT (Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Seeing the girls on TV and hearing them on Radio Paradise sowed the seed, and I am delighted with the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 25 Feb 2013
By 
bruce henry (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Instant classic album from the best female voices since Emmylou. 'The Lions Roar', tribute song 'Emmylou' and 'King of the World' with Conor Oberst are absolute magic, and the rest of the album is strong. It's truly amazing how much great country influenced music comes out of Scandinavia - finally the Swedes are giving the Norwegians (St Thomas, Midnight Choir) some competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Aid Kit are improving all the time, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
This is a terrific CD every track worth a listen, they are getting better all the time and I can't wait for the next offering from them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely harmonies, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
This is an album inspired by the country music of Emmy-Lou Harris and similar artists. There are some great tunes and lovely harmonies. This version also includes a guitar pick, poster and a few extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Bought this after being to see them play live in manchester and haven't stopped listening to it since! Definitely recommend First Aid Kit, they have a beautiful chilled out sound with some great harmonies, very relaxing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Production!, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Two very talented ladies. Fab songs and harmonies.I became aware of them through (Channel 4's)Live at Abbey road series.This was ordered as a xmas pres to ourselves.

The things that lets this down are threefold. Firstly and most important the drowning of the whole cd in reverb. This pushes the voices into the background and makes listening to more than a couple of tracks quite wearing. A dryer production would have felt much more intimate and in the room. Secondly there is not a moment of silence anywhere. A pad of organ-like keyboards pervades and there are unnecessary drums etc. poking through. This just emphasises the lacck of intimacy. Third the vocal recording is in places quite honky as though the wrong room, microphone or eq setting has been used.

My wife likes this more than I do. I have only listened to this once (which unfortunately is probably all I will).

Sort the production, have the confidence to strip back to the music and ditch the Lexicon / metal oil drum effects.

Update 07-04-2013. I did listen again and I agree with my original verdict still 2 stars. I am glad others are enjoying this though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion's Roar
The Lion's Roar by First Aid Kit (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews