Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's in the box?
You really don't need another review about the film itself - it is what it is. I saw it on Boxing Day 1967 and I've seen it a few times since - this new presentation is the first time I've sat down and really enjoyed it completely. This new boxed version is as definitive as it is ever likely to be.

So what's in the box? Well, there is no CD of the music, but...
Published 22 months ago by James B. Spink

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but not so goldie
Its a very good work of restoration, but the film is boring.
The best still its the musical clips. This justificate the purchase.
Published 18 months ago by Gregorio Rosenchtejer


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Revisionism with the Songs, 11 Oct 2012
Its a shame it is not the correct original film because of many audio differences, the first one being that Lennon's 'Roll Up.... Hurry Hurry' bit has been replaced with the standard version of the Title song with the regular McCartney vocal, such a shame because now its a lost opportunity to have a decent sounding alternate great version of the 'Magical Mystery Tour' song, we already have this version on the album so not sure why Macca and Co would not prefer to have the alternate Lennon version with John Lennon doing the opening like it was originally and why the need to have McCartney doing it, it sounds so bland now in my opinion, the late 1980's George Martin stereo remix contain on the orignal VHS is a much better soundtrack IMO, very disapointed :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service., 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a Beatles' fan since forever, the remastered MMT DVD is a must have.
The DVD was in excellent condition, & arrived much before the stipulated time frame.
Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic for me!!, 7 Nov 2012
By 
E. Fowkes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a massive Beatles fan and have been for 35 years since I was 13. Had the video and had the DVD that was available but now it is re-mastered and updated it is perfect.
Not everybody's taste and never has been but it holds it's own in Beatles history, musically it's hard to fault, but a mess of a film to a lot of the public. To me it's the Beatles with a bus load of friends and fanatics having fun, more of a home movie session made by a group of four musicians with time to kill, ridiculous plots and dream sequences to elaborate changes in the story. The fact is where else will you see John Lennon singing I Am The Walrus and Paul in that coat singing The Fool On The Hill, nowhere??!!! On the whole it has a great soundtrack updated to HD5.1 which makes a great difference if, like me you have a DTS sound system, the film has been restored beautifully and the extras in the box set are well made and up to Apples high standards.
For me it was well worth the money and I look forward to the same being done to Let It Be, always being promised but never released. Surely this must be on the cards as it's the only film left needing a revamp!!
A great purchase and worth the money!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRAGICAL MYSTERY LURE, 12 Sep 2012
By 
JOHN MORRALL (HAMSTALL RIDWARE, STAFFS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i was exited when i received the official BEATLES/APPLE mailshot on 22nd August announcing the release of MMT finally restored and on DVD/blu ray. I WAS A LOT LESS EXITED ABOUT THE PRE ORDER PRICE OF 59.99 !!! So im very pleased to see that Amazon are offering it a full 30 cheaper at 29.99 !!!! Apple are also offering the DVD at 19.99 (Amazon 8.89.....less than half price) and Blu ray at 24.99 (Amazon 12.59.....nearly half price).
MMT pre order prices only came through on Amazon uk yesterday, so i can only assume Apple held back confirming its price to other UK retailers by THREE WEEKS to try and maximise their own sales at these massively inflated prices. And unlike Amazon, if you had pre-ordered with Apple you would have had to pay in advance.................I guess Apple dont want to be seen to undercut other retailers by selling direct, but their prices are ridiculous and i'm sure many loyal fans wil have pre-ordered with them , not realising how inflated they were,and maybe even thinking its was exclusively direct from Apple.
Anyway, thanks again Amazon..............im looking forward to receiving my box set from YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For mad Beatles fans only!, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If like myself you want everything of The Beatles,then this is for you. Excellent box set with Blu-ray & DvD,book,double 7 inch single with booklet & a bus ticket,hence the 5*!! The film(2*),i'm not a fan of,but love the music(5* & that would be for 'I AM THE WALRUS' alone). Lucky to get the pre-order price of 30,while other retailers inc The Beatles site were charging 60.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now The Drugs dont work...They Just Made It Worse!!, 7 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Andrew Garlick (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is good reason this "movie" has not been seen since 1967...it's dreadful!!!

Now,The Beatles were/are my favourite band of all time,as they are of millions of people on this planet..They had it all,charisma,charm,personality,appeal to children & adults...but most of all,MUSIC!!...not acting.I would listen to anything,that's been discovered in a recording studio,but never released by the band..ie The Anthology..but this film should have stayed on the cutting room floor,and NEVER seen the light of day.
To say the film is an experimental piece of "art" is a cop-out,its not art,its garbage.The acting,the cinematography,the supporting cast members..all diabolical.Its quite painful to watch,the embarrassment of it.It's like watching your loved ones doing an amateur play,and making complete tits of themselves.

Only buy this dvd if you are an avid COLLECTOR of Beatles memerobilia...NOT! if you are a Beatles fan,as its not very pleasant seeing your heroes producing such a shoddy mistake...Ten out of Ten,as ever for the acommpanying music though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Price, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After searching round wanting to pre-order it immediately on announcement of release, Sainsbury's appeared to be the cheapest until I found Amazon were selling the deluxe box set 10 cheaper (30 cheaper than most other sites). A great buy for Beatles fans or for people who are just getting into the Beatles as the DVD and Blu-Ray are packed with extra's too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not really getting this for the movie per se......, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music sequences aside, MMT is every bit the the turkey you have heard it is. Its supposed rehabilitation as a Python-influencing art movie is rampant revisionism gone wild. I suppose everyones balloon has to get punctured from time to time and this was the moment for the Fabs. Thankfully their musical smarts remained unimpeachable.

But, this deluxe edition will be beautifully presented with DVD and Blu-Ray, has a nice range of extras, the vinyl bits of course and I am hopeful the accompanying book will be a pleasure too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tragical History Tour, 11 Oct 2012
By 
K. Baty (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At 44 this could almost be considered a bargain beside the many other phenomenally overpriced Beatles and Beatles-related reissues that are perpetually bunged out to soak up the pension payments of the baby boom generation. The only problem is that it's generally pointless and interest-free. However, it does contain some great songs that are wasted in the desperate visual context of this shambolic film. It also contains a 'faithful reproduction' of the original 1967 double-EP with booklet, which is all you really need. I'd suggest that, instead of wasting your money on this bloated rot, you purchase a copy of The Rutles' first album and the 'All You Need Is Cash' DVD where you can have the whole MMT treatment summed up in a couple of (great) songs and knowing filmic satires of the terrible Beatles effort. And, you get to save your money to put towards the forthcoming 6-CD box set reissue of 'Back To The Egg'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a pile of pretentious garbage, 7 Oct 2012
By 
Richard W. Cowdell "music lover" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this and the preceding 'documentary' last night on BBC2 thinking I might buy the DVD. It is nothing but a pile of trash. The 'acting' makes 'Crossroads' look like the RSC. The filming is cheap, nasty, cliche-ridden and dated, it's not even clever for the period. The whole thing is wirless, mindless, pretentious and stupid in the extreme. It's just one luvvie-fest, one vanity film from start to finish. There is one decent song in the thing 'Fool on the Hill', and the mastering (I was watching on HD) is diabolical, but perhaps the original was so appalling - most viewers would have seen it in a ropey black & white TV transmission - that nothing can be done to improve it further. Had it not been made by the Beatles I doubt it would ever have seen the light of day. This is the pits and anyone that spends 44.00 on it must have more money than sense. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magical Mystery Tour [Blu-ray] [2012] [Region Free]
18.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews