Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new series
Having read all of the ' Eagle' series so far, I was hugely excited by the release of this new series from Simon, especially when I realised it included Optio Macro. I wasn't disappointed. A novella rather than a novel, it is priced about right at 1.99 the same price as a quick read. Although it is a standalone story, it is obviously the beginning of a much longer story,...
Published 20 months ago by A.J. Armitt

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Barbarian
I have given one of my favourite authors only one star for this: based on the price. I thought this was a bargain at just under two pounds. However the book or should I say " kindle, short story" is only actually about 75 pages of proper narrative. I bought all 4 "books" and feel a bit cheated. It cost me 8 pounds for what collectively should be one book. These should all...
Published 11 months ago by Andy Whitley


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't finish it, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
I found it had too much bad language and nasty gruesome stuff. I Couldn't get into it or relate to the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful.... Very thin plot and character development. It, especially the ending seemed artificial and rushed. Disappointing., 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Sadly not a patch on the Cato & Macro series, which showed a real depth, this is just an obvious commercial deal to knock out a couple of novellas out of what could be an engaging story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pamphlet, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
The story was exactly as you'd expect from Scarrow, enjoyable, fast moving but predictable. What was particularly dissapointing despite the 1.99 price was this is a pamphlet not a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short., 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book should have been twice as long. Scarecrow clearly saves the next element of the book for more cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars short and not so sweet, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
i like a book with a start a middle and an end not ...buy my next one it seemed to finish poorly in my opinion i have read many of his other books and i always finnished them with a smile on my face looking forwared to the next one but with this book i felt that i was being forced to buy the next one to find out the end of this one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series), 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Nothing like the Cato & Macro series, Simon Scarrow is a brilliant writer, and the story is as always good, but this is not a book, just a few lines, I read it in just over an hour. Unfortunately I pre ordered the next in series, due 27th Dec2012, I may well cancel the order, as it appears to be the same length, 93 pages!.
This is not the first time I found a good book only to find its split into 6 parts, meaning you need to download and pay 6 times for one story.
If this the future of Kindle books I'm going back to the local Library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simon has been watching spartacus on sky, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Bit disappointed as I thought it was a full book, a bit to much like Spartacus the tv series for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews