Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new series
Having read all of the ' Eagle' series so far, I was hugely excited by the release of this new series from Simon, especially when I realised it included Optio Macro. I wasn't disappointed. A novella rather than a novel, it is priced about right at £1.99 the same price as a quick read. Although it is a standalone story, it is obviously the beginning of a much longer story,...
Published 23 months ago by A.J. Armitt

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Barbarian
I have given one of my favourite authors only one star for this: based on the price. I thought this was a bargain at just under two pounds. However the book or should I say " kindle, short story" is only actually about 75 pages of proper narrative. I bought all 4 "books" and feel a bit cheated. It cost me 8 pounds for what collectively should be one book. These should all...
Published 15 months ago by Andy Whitley


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new series, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all of the ' Eagle' series so far, I was hugely excited by the release of this new series from Simon, especially when I realised it included Optio Macro. I wasn't disappointed. A novella rather than a novel, it is priced about right at £1.99 the same price as a quick read. Although it is a standalone story, it is obviously the beginning of a much longer story, one I will be happily following from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Barbarian, 10 Aug 2013
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
I have given one of my favourite authors only one star for this: based on the price. I thought this was a bargain at just under two pounds. However the book or should I say " kindle, short story" is only actually about 75 pages of proper narrative. I bought all 4 "books" and feel a bit cheated. It cost me 8 pounds for what collectively should be one book. These should all be described as "short stories". Not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book because of it being a short story packed with action of the period and is giving a picture of Macro's early life in the military
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More...more..we want more!, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Review:
Once again pure gold from Simon Scarrow. This is a short story giving Eagles fans a taste of the early life og Macro. Optio Macro is just as charming and affable as ever and has to steer the murky waters of Rome without the aid of his more cerebral sidekick Cato. As usual he lands in hot water (not of his own making) and has to use his own brutal uncompromising skills to get out of it by training Pavo. There are some juicy hints in there that i shall be emailing Simon about to see if I'm right (if he will give away and secrets that is).
The writing as ever is fun fast and well researched with a style that very few can come close too.

Highly recommended
(Parm)

Product Description:
The first in an ebook-exclusive series of action-packed novellas set in Ancient Rome introducing Pavo, a novice gladiator, and featuring Simon Scarrow's ongoing soldier character Optio Macro. It is AD 41. The savage Gaul Britomaris has defeated the best of the Roman gladiators in the arena. Now a young volunteer, Marcus Valerius Pavo, the son of a murdered general, has been given a month to prepare to face Britomaris in a fight which only one man can survive. He is to be trained by veteran soldier Macro, who fears for his young trainee's chances. But Pavo is motivated by more than a simple desire for victory or survival, and Britomaris may yet be facing his most dangerous opponent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
All I can say is that the author should be ashamed, for the price charged, to let his normally brilliant work be carved up in to tabloid sized chunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant novelist, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
fast moving brilliant follow on to previous book truly absorbing have read simon scarrows full set of his novels featuring marco and cato
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start to the series, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Good start - a lot to overcome for the young hero with no apparent clear solutions and a good deal of luck to help him along in his victories - only to have the promised prize slip through his fingers leaving the reader waiting for more . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, good old Macro, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
What can you say even though this does not involve both Scarrow's heroes just Macro, and at a time when he was just an optio, it still managed to make an interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Spartacus....Loved This, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
Short but sweet and very engrossing. I was already a big fan of Macro though I found myself missing his usual sidekick/partner Cato. Pavo does a good job of filling the breach however. The tale has everything you would want about gladiators and ancient Rome but be warned,you might as well buy all four books before you start reading cos you'll not be able to stop at one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't be faulted, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arena: Barbarian (Part One of the Roman Arena Series) (Kindle Edition)
very good looking forward to the last book in the series. As these books have got better and better I await with bated breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews