Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Highly recommended
For the sake of up front honesty i have to post that I'm a HUGE fan of Christian Cameron's books.

The reason for this is that he is the best writer in the historical fiction genre, probably the finest writer i have ever read.

There was a comment recently where it was said he writes for re-enactors, I disagree, i think he writes with the knowledge of...
Published on 26 Oct 2012 by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars easy read
easy read but not gripping, great for the beach where not much brain needed! Bernard Cornwell has nothing to fear,
Published 17 months ago by Es Bowman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Highly recommended, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For the sake of up front honesty i have to post that I'm a HUGE fan of Christian Cameron's books.

The reason for this is that he is the best writer in the historical fiction genre, probably the finest writer i have ever read.

There was a comment recently where it was said he writes for re-enactors, I disagree, i think he writes with the knowledge of a historian and the experience of a re-enactor.
This brings the story to life in a much more real fashion... don't take my word for it, ask all the historical fiction authors who also read his books and cast jealous glances at them.

I never thought anyone would match let alone beat the simple elegance of David Gemmell's writing, but ...well Christian Cameron's books have me totally immersed in another world after just a few paragraphs, by the end of the book I'm utterly lost in another time.

Tom Swan is no exception. A character so real and so complex you are riding along his journey, not at his shoulder, but in his skin. Christian Cameron's tireless search for knowledge and perfection of his understanding of every period he writes in, just makes the world as vivid fr me the reader as i suspect it is when the characters talk to him during the writing of the story.

I love the fact that these adventures will be coming out monthly

Book 2 Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part Two: Venice

Book 3 Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part Three: Constantinople

but i lament the fact that there will not be a full blown series. As once again the writing astounds me.

Very Very Highly recommended

(Parm)
Other new books by this great author

Poseidon's Spear (Long War 3)

Product description

1450s France. A young Englishman, Tom Swan, is kneeling in the dirt, waiting to be killed by the French who've taken him captive.

He's not a professional soldier. He's really a merchant and a scholar looking for remnants of Ancient Greece and Rome - temples, graves, pottery, fabulous animals, unicorn horns. But he also has a real talent for ending up in the midst of violence when he didn't mean to. Having used his wits to escape execution, he begins a series of adventures that take him to street duels in Italy, meetings with remarkable men - from Leonardo Da Vinci to Vlad Dracula - and from the intrigues of the War of the Roses to the fall of Constantinople.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tom Swan and the head of St George Part Three, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Tone: "Historical Fad" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having now read all three of Christian Cameron books about Tom Swan. I have throughly enjoyed each one wondering what our hero Tom will get up to on the following page. Well written with drama and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read all three, really fast paced, action packed. Likable character.

Only negative was it was it ended to quickly, i want the next installment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 22 April 2013
By 
adenjack "Adrienne" (West Country, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part Two: Venice (Kindle Edition)
well written and made me really want to get further books in the series.... and the kindle versions are a good buy at 99p...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Swan: short e-novel, 20 Feb 2013
By 
A. Bibby "Big Al" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story continues, but with young Swan & the "gang" in Constantinople to try & find the Cardinals library. Swan finds love & discovers the underground water system. However, war is in the offing for Venice & they all need to escape the Sutans clutches.

The author combines another ripping yarn with pace, action & good English. Short chapters aid the books readability making it an ideal travel novel. Perhaps this type of e-novel format is the way forward. A well used formula used by Dickens & Conan Doyle.
Can't wait for fourth episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurry back Mr swann, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Mark I. Grant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr swann triumphs again in Constantinople . Smashing story I really enjoy this series certify look forward to the next outing please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swann a new hero, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Mark I. Grant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part Two: Venice (Kindle Edition)
Yet another smashing tale of Mr swann can't wait for the next instalment . Great to delve into another part of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tom swans short stories, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Swan and the Head of St George Part Two: Venice (Kindle Edition)
fast pace read good old fashioned adventure
ideal read for journeys and holidays or at any time
looking forward to the next adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Content, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did not seem to have the time get to know the car actors everything seemed to be over to quick,did not have the depth that a book can give for all that I enjoyed all three that I have read.i expect too much from Christian Cameron.my favourite author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Yarn, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fun with a good variety of full-bloodied players - cracking romp with period detail impressively displayed - chapter 4 please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews