Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Main Board
Good board and an upgrade from an older AM2+ asus one for me.

Plenty of expansion slots, and decent placement of them so the inside of my case doesn't look like spaghetti junction any more!

You get 2 x USB 3 ports on the back of the board and a connector on the board to add a few more - Shame they don't supply the lead and the header with the board...
Published 12 months ago by Buyer of Stuff

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars instead recommended I return the board to place of purchase
I had to return the motherboard due to CPU red light warning. A new CPU fixed the issue for a couple of months but then the same issue cropped up again.

Its hard to point the finger at the board or the CPU but ASUS support were not interested in troubleshooting the issue too deeply, instead recommended I return the board to place of purchase. AMD tested the CPU...
Published 2 months ago by RICHARD-H


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Main Board, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
Good board and an upgrade from an older AM2+ asus one for me.

Plenty of expansion slots, and decent placement of them so the inside of my case doesn't look like spaghetti junction any more!

You get 2 x USB 3 ports on the back of the board and a connector on the board to add a few more - Shame they don't supply the lead and the header with the board though!

The BIOS is also the newer UEFI type which can cause problems if you don't know what you're doing - Do your homework if you've never used this type before or you'll be scratching your head or thinking the board is broken when it isn't!

What else.. Oh, no IDE connectors on this board so if you still have any of those drives floating about, you'll either have to get an expansion board or transfer the data to another drive.

So far, the board is extremely stable. I run with AMD cool n quiet enable along with turbo which all works all ok.

Important thing to do after getting this board - Update the bios to the latest version (either old school way or through the Asus Live program) and Get the latest drivers for the on-board network controller as the driver that is supplied causes stupidly high latency issues! This is more noticeable is you use one of the newer generation of GFX cards with on-board audio and not the motherboards audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Product, Cheaper on amazon than eBay and Scan, Excellent!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
This motherboard is amazing, its heavy which is a good sign. Its packed with soo many features that I still have to discover. there are 3 PCIe Slots which is Excellent. all the connections are located in a perfect area for easy cable management. There are a total of 5 PWM fan connectors which is VERY GOOD. I've connected 4 fans including the CPU Fan (arctic cooling F12 120mm Case Fans). If you use the bundled fan xpert software from asus these fans are controlled from within windows.

I had to pick between many manufacturers and having previously owned a faulty motherboard from ASUS, as it was out of warranty they didn't help much, though i felt they should have at least offered a payed repair. I've now looked past this with this motherboard. I'm really glad I bought this motherboard and non of the motherboards from MSI, ASROCK or GIGABYTE or other manufacturers as this comes with lots of bundled software and features.

I installed this inside my XIGMATEK Asgard Case, with 2 X 4GB Corsair Vengeance ram, AMD Phenom ii 965 BE, arctic cooling freezer 13 pro, ASUS Radeon 6670 and a 600W OCZ ModXstream PSU. All work amazing with no blue screens, errors etc. Also I purchased all these from Amazon apart from the Case and Graphics card.

SO BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
This formed the heart of my new counter build, excellent packaging and bundled with 4 sata cables, software, I/O panel, comprehensive manual. As for the board itself, fitted into my Zalman case no problem, all the connections we well marked and easy to access. Has been running windows 8 since the release date fine. No problems so far, even as a novice upgraded the BIOS using their included software, went well, no issues. This was my first venture into a self build and I am pleased with the level of features/ affordability. It may not be the cheapest or the most expensive but if you run online games, surf, process photos and video on a home user basis this will work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good, strong board. delivered 2 days before I expected it, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
As for the delivery, Amazon shipped it through Royal Mail on free super saver delivery (together with an SSD bought in the same shipment) and it arrived 2 days before the estimate shown in the email.

The board, Marvellous.
Bought it as a replacement for an M4A78 board to run a few games on, and works like a dream, this board was chosen over a more basic board in the range (M5A97 EVO r2.0...this is not a bad board either!) reason? the AMD 990X chipset allows for the PCIe 2.0 x16 slots to run at x16, perfect for cross firing GPUs (the 970 can only really run one GPU) the external sata ports are a nice addition too.

For those new to PC building, take note, this board does not have on board graphics, and so must use a GPU

For those who know a little more about PC building, the board has a good number of switches and buttons to enable/disable EPU and TPU and check the status of various components (the Mem OK button for example, checks the compatibility of the installed RAM chips)

its worth checking the board before you buy one so here is a link to the board on the manufacturers website:[...]
you can check the specs and compatible CPU's/ RAM from that page.

cons: none so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than i expected!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
I always believe that ASUS is the best brand out there , ASUS is innovative company and provides high end futures at affordable prices.

Its very strong motherboard with many many futures, you can always check asus official site to see the long list of the futures that they are included in this motherboard and you cant go wrong purchasing it.

It has handle my high overclock on the FX-8350 without issues 1 month so far, it works flawless.

I want to point this future cuz it came really handy after i purchased my Siberia V2 headset from Steelseries, the motherboard futures the surround sound with Ultra PC II , that future makes your stereo headset to a surround headset 5.1 this is awesome future if u play games or watching movies, you feel where the sound comes from. I pint point this cuz more expensive motherboard like Sabertooth doesnt have this future and it costs 50pounds more, great isnt it? You have a cheaper motherboard witch has more usefull utilities and possibilites from other way more expensive mobos.

Im very very happy with this purchase i love the blue theme it has, and its a rly strong mobo that handles high overclock and gives me stability to anything i do so far.

Thanks amazon and great job to ASUS for creating this motherboard.

I wish you all a wonderfull day and happy shopping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
Nice board for my build. Not to costly and just has enough features to keep me going. It took my 16GB without any hitches at all. Nice board and surprisingly well behaved Touch Wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid piece of gear, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
Used this item for my first build and have had no known problems with it at all. Very happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
Very nice motherboard, everything is well placed, the Bios screen is very helpful and great for overclocking. Easy to take advantage of the 3 pci-e slots.

Running 750w PSU
AMD FX8350
8GB DDR3
MSI R9 270
ATI Firepro V4800
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good on board audio, beatts my xonar DG hands down, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
Never before have I heard my sound system produce this much bass on the lowest setting, the sound card on this mobo is unreal..
5 Stars because I am biased towards asus and for the price I think this motherboard does really well with a nice sound card included, realtek have gone quite a way since my last motherboard which had a fairly basic realtek sound driver on board.
In combination with an 8350 it performs quite well, all sata slots work fine and there is no issue with my set of hyperX 1866MHz ram, all is as it should be.
Only thing that is wrong with it is probably the fact that the asus q connector is quite flimsy and while building my PC I accidentally unplugged it not even trying to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars instead recommended I return the board to place of purchase, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard (AMD 990X/SB950, 4x DDR3, S-ATA 600, ATX, PCI-Express 2.0, USB 3.0, Network iControl, Windows 8 Ready, Socket AM3+) (Accessory)
I had to return the motherboard due to CPU red light warning. A new CPU fixed the issue for a couple of months but then the same issue cropped up again.

Its hard to point the finger at the board or the CPU but ASUS support were not interested in troubleshooting the issue too deeply, instead recommended I return the board to place of purchase. AMD tested the CPU and it passed.

Overall its a shame as this board was nice when it ran, but getting support from ASUS was painful. Amazon were brilliant at getting me a refund!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews