Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of revolution!!
I just received this album at the break out of all the protests in Brazil and the album hitted me so hard that I can't stop listeing to it. It is basically an album full of lyrics of revolution, for people and general public not to stand still while corruption overtakes and overkill us!!
I love it!!
Regarding the musics, astonishing quality and harmony!! One of...
Published 13 months ago by André Luiz Cabral Dutra

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PROGRESSIVE METAL
5 YEARS SINCE THE AMAZING "DEAD RECKONING" AND THE DEPARTURE (R.I.P) OF MAC, THRESHOLD ARE BACK WITH THEIR MUCH ANTICIPATED 9TH RECORD.MAC WAS IN MY OPINION THE BEST FRONTMAN FOR THRESHOLD WITH POWERFUL AND HIGH VOCAL RANGE,ENERGETIC SCENE APPEARANCES.DAMIAN WILSON'S VOICE IT'S MUCH MORE PROG ROCK ORIENTED IN BANDS LIKE LANDMARQ,AYREON AND HEADSPACE. MARCH OF PROGRESS"...
Published 23 months ago by Banca Comerciala Romana


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album of revolution!!, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just received this album at the break out of all the protests in Brazil and the album hitted me so hard that I can't stop listeing to it. It is basically an album full of lyrics of revolution, for people and general public not to stand still while corruption overtakes and overkill us!!
I love it!!
Regarding the musics, astonishing quality and harmony!! One of the best of their albums!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 27 Aug 2012
I'm very new to Threshold but have been building my back catalogue in that time. Dead Reckoning is a fantastic album and was always going to be a hard act to follow. However, Threshold have done it with style and aplomb in this latest studio offering. Damian Wilson's singing style is refreshingly different to the raw style of Mac and he sings with operatic clarity.

There is not one bad track on this album, opening with the epic Ashes, March of Progress really is a progressive journey of prog rock. It's also nice to see that this album has been a truly collaborative undertaking with every member save Johanne James contributing to the song writing. Notably, Pete Morten for whom this is his first studio offering with the band, Morten definitely makes his mark with the amazing Coda (which also has a tribute to Mac towards the end) and the bonus track Divinity which is a very personal song.

Lyrically poetic, punchy and full of social commentary there is something in this for everyone. Expect some amazing guitar solos from Groom and Morten, Anderson's beautiful base playing, James' bombastic drumming and soaring keyboards from West.

I love this album and it's a real testament to the band of how far they've come in the last 5 years. My only complaint is that they are simply not big enough and deserve to be. It's also time for people to let go of Mac and accept that sadly he will no longer be a part of Threshold's future but his legacy will live on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prog metal album of 2012, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Sebastian Masso (petersfield, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Banca Comerciala, can you resubmit your review in lower case please, because right now you are shouting into a massive hurricane of euphoria that is heading your way to contradict your review. This is Threshold's finest moment. This cd sounds fresh whilst maintaining that Threshold sound. There are references to all of their previous albums and work, with and without Damian. Whilst Mac is very sadly no longer with us and his legacy remains, Damian Wilson puts in one of the most stunning vocal performances I have heard. Whether it was his experience in singing on the brilliant Headspace album, or the fact that Threshold are now writing better vocal melodies, or a combination of both; the vocals are a standout. There isn't a a track that falls below a five. This is progressive, melodic, metal, at it's best. The whole band are at the top of their game. The guitar and keyboard solos are better than ever, Morton having added a different slant to procedings. Johanne, as ever, provides a master class on the sticks, the rythm section laying down a technically complex anchor to the soaring melodies and solos. This is the most complete Threshold album to date. Worth the five year wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time After Time, 31 Oct 2012
By 
B. Turnbull (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Threshold are one of the most underrated bands in the world, which is a crying shame, as they have never released a bad album (or indeed a bad song). They are the best Prog Metal act to come out of the UK, one of the best to come out of the entire genre, and despite a five year absence after longtime vocalist Mac passed away, the band are back with 'March Of Progress', an album that blows away everything they have done before.

Recruiting former vocalist Damien Wilson (known these days for his work in Star One), Threshold kick things off with the awesome "Ashes", a song that recalls the simpler, more direct structure of the 'Dead Reckoning' material while also providing a lighter, more serene approach that hasn't been heard since 'Hypothetical'. In places, 'March Of Progress' sounds like their older, more obscure albums, such as 'Extinct Instinct', but mostly this release finds the band exploring new ground, which separates it from their previous endeavors. Through a production that offers warm yet crushing guitar work, keys that are both astral and earthly, drums that are tasteful yet groovy, and vocals that fight for solitude among theatrical backing choirs, these songs have the perfect playing field to let the listener take in all they have to offer. There is a lot of music on here, but it goes by in the flick of a switch.

This record is saturated in intelligent, socially-conscious lyrics, mesmerizing instrumentation, and powerfully effective vocal lines, all of which show how talented both guitarist Karl Groom and synth-wizard Richard West are as song writers. "Return Of The Thought Police" is a chilling mid-paced cracker, "Staring At The Sun" is a positive look at trifling circumstances, and "Don't Look Down" feeds its uplifting message through post-Thrash riffs and Neo Prog melodies. "The Hours" is the biggest throwback to their previous album, while the devastating "Coda" is everything Threshold have been and more. There is not a moment wasted on this thing; it collects a magnificent set of songs that once heard will never be forgotten. Threshold have not only created the album of their career with 'March Of Progress'; they have also served up the best 2012 has to offer. Miss it at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last!!!, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album seems to have taken an age to get to the racks, but it's been worth the wait. When the late 'Mac' left Threshold, I feared for the band's future as I regarded him as very much the 'complete' hard rock singer, whose voice was easily identifiable and synonymous with the group. He genuinely brought Threshold songs to life with his performances and I didn't know how they could possibly replace him.
Bringing Damian Wilson back into the fold was a clever but risky move for me. He's an amazing vocalist, as well as a former frontman with Threshold (two spells); the problem is that he has a reputation as being a bit of a mercenary with a habit of leaving people in the brown stuff. Just ask Rick Wakeman. The big question is always going to be whether or not Wilson is in it for the duration. Only time will tell.

In terms of 'March of Progress', Threshold have returned to the slightly 'proggier' sound of 'Wounded Land' and 'Extinct Instinct', which ironically, both featured Damian Wilson on vocals. I don't think that's a coincidence. Where Mac's vocal sound was harsher, rougher and raspier, Wilson's is cleaner, dramatic with an operatic edge, more suitable to progressive rock. A more sophisticated Bruce Dickinson if you like.
That's not to say that Threshold have lost their hard edge, far from it; 'March of Progress' has more crunching riffs, soaring solos and twin guitar attacks than you could wave a stick at, courtesy of Karl Groom and Pete Morten. The difference is that Richard West adds arguably more lush soundscapes, classical sweeps and swirling progginess than ever before.

Highlights for me are the superb opener 'Ashes' with it's tried and tested, patented, classic Threshold style chorus. It's a reassuring track from a die hard perspective and engages the listener straight away.

'Staring at the Sun' isn't about Rupert Murdoch; it's a rocky protest ballad with an uplifting chorus and an excellent vocal display from Wilson.

'That's Why We Came' is another ballad (written by Wilson) with a nice acoustic flavour. Again, it's beautifully sung by Wilson and has good radio appeal. It would have made a good lead off single in my opinion.

'Don't Look Down' is another lively, exciting track with trademark instrumental runs and a rollicking chorus.

Album closer 'Rubicon' is a vintage Threshold epic which rounds the album off perfectly and even gives Richard West the opportunity to play the church organ.

To be honest, there isn't a duff moment or album filler on this record. A five year gap studio album-wise in addition to some heavy touring here and there has done wonders for the band. There's more creativity and imagination in 'March of Progress' than ever before and the band sound tight and confident. There's an impressive array of musicianship on offer, but unlike fellow prog metallers, Dream Theater, Threshold (as they have always done) manage to stay just the right side of self indulgent.
The band still have the ability to marry hard rock/metal with prog and then stuff it to the gills with melodies and irresistible choruses. However, unlike previous albums, the emphasis seems to be more on the prog side of things, making them less predictable than before. A good, slick production also means that the band sound leaner, modern and relevant.

As of writing this, I'm happy to hear that 'March of Progress' has done quite well commercially, as it's fully deserved. However, the fact that Threshold aren't selling millions of records and filling arenas is an absolute travesty, especially given the consistency of their back catalogue.

This is another top quality album, from a top quality band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I took a chance as I have a few albums, hearing that Wilson was back, I just had to have it. WOW was I blown away! The songs are incredible. Everything from song structure, leads (Keys and Guitars), and the voice! The sticker on the cover said "Album of the Month" ..... I have to agree. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Threshold delivers again :), 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Threshold have delivered another fantastic album. I've been listening to these guys since their 'extinct instinct' album back in '97. They consistantly deliver the good stuff.A cerebral mixture of genres, going from balls to the wall heavy riffs to silky smooth solo's and harmonies. If you havent heard these guys, please buy this cd,its amazing. Their back catalogue is worth picking up too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Thomas Maaetoft (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great, great album. It's very good on the first listen, but it REALLY grows and becomes a masterpiece. Other than pointing out Damian Wilson's one-of-a-kind vocals for obvious reasons, I want to mention Johanne James' drumming. It's been a long time since I heard such tasteful drumming work. It's like he's playing a lot but never too much. Highly recommendable!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not their greatest, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In all previous Threshold records there was something that caught me immediately, like Slipstream on Dead Reckoning or Mission Profile on Subsurface with new nuances revealed with consequent listenings.
After the first 70 minutes after I inserted March of Progress into my CD player there was nothing to remember - it did not catch me at all. Things changed after I listened to the album a couple more times - I started to like it. It's definitely Threshold with freshness added by Damian's, Steves's and Pete's contribution to song writing. Despite my first impression was spoiled (perhaps simply because I expected too much from this release) it is still very enjoyable music to listen.
I also recommend buying digipack version with "Divinity" bonus track - I don't understand why this impressive piece is not included in CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever!, 22 Sep 2012
Damian Wilson is back with his beautiful voice, the music is still the same, full of great melodies, songs with a lot of catchy chorus. The guitar of Karl Groom is always shinning with some exquisite solos, the rhythm section is solid and the keyboards of Richard West are efficient as background. The combination of all these elements have created a texture that make the music of Threshold something very consistent. The quality of the compositions is in their ability to unite the metal with the neo-prog approach without falling in too much complexity and technicality.

After listening many times to this release, i get the feeling that there is something more in this one than the previous one. They have surpassed themselves with some stronger parts that seems new to me, despite the fact that their style doesn't allow for a lot of diversity. Maybe the comeback of Damian Wilson is the beginning of a new chapter for the band in their quest to be one of the leader in the progressive metal genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

March Of Progress
March Of Progress by Threshold
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews