Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only for those who like non-stop action and extreme violence. And who doesn't?
I was really disappointed when Gail Simone's brilliant team of super-villains Secret Six wasn't to be part of DC's New 52 but I have to state that the new Suicide Squad has gone a long way to easing those feelings.

For newbies, the Squad is basically a team of super-villains doing dirty jobs for the government in return for time off their prison sentences -if...
Published on 8 Aug 2012 by Ian Williams

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harley steals the show
"Suicide Squad" is like Marvel's "Thunderbolts", a team of baddies who're put together and sent on dangerous missions. They even share similar plot points such as nanite bombs implanted inside each team member set to detonate unless they do what they're told. There's also a Hydra-like organisation included, calling themselves Basilisk, saluting and shouting "Hail...
Published on 6 Oct 2012 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only for those who like non-stop action and extreme violence. And who doesn't?, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really disappointed when Gail Simone's brilliant team of super-villains Secret Six wasn't to be part of DC's New 52 but I have to state that the new Suicide Squad has gone a long way to easing those feelings.

For newbies, the Squad is basically a team of super-villains doing dirty jobs for the government in return for time off their prison sentences -if they survive. The core team (for this first volume) consists of Deadshot (assassin for hire and team leader), King Shark (a sort of humanoid hammerhead shark with an appetite that's not for fish), Harley Quinn (the Joker's squeeze), El Diablo (old name, new character), and several others.

For those who've been around for a while, you'll be surprised to find that Amanda Waller (the government agent in overall charge) no longer resembles a short weightlifter but has been transformed into Halle Berry (no complaints there) who has a significant other in her life (husband, wife, child, other, we don't find out this time around). Deadshot is pretty much the same bar a new mask. El Diablo, while still Mexican-American, is a villain seeking redemption. And Harley Quinn (whose new secret origin is revealed) is just plain scary. There's even an appearance by mostly long-forgotten non-powered vigilante Mad Dog. And King Shark may be more than just an appetite on legs. You'll have to find out about the others for yourselves. Trust me, it's worth it.

Writer Adam Glass does a very good job of keeping up the action/extreme violence while piling on the twists and surprises while managing to give the characters room to breathe. Several artists are involved but if it was up to me I'd give the job full time to Clayton Henry who channels Brian Bolland extremely-lite.

Yet another success for DC's New 52 line. I'm really enjoying this revamp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harley steals the show, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Suicide Squad" is like Marvel's "Thunderbolts", a team of baddies who're put together and sent on dangerous missions. They even share similar plot points such as nanite bombs implanted inside each team member set to detonate unless they do what they're told. There's also a Hydra-like organisation included, calling themselves Basilisk, saluting and shouting "Hail Basilisk", ready to kill themselves at a moment's notice.

I recognised a couple of squad members, the Joker's squeeze Harley Quinn (along with her awesome mallet) and another member of Batman's Rogues Gallery, Deadshot (looking very Boba Fett), but the others were new to me - King Shark, Captain Boomerang, Diablo, Black Spider. In this first book we see them head into a stadium full of zombies while avoiding kill squads sent out to collect bounties on the villains' heads. Also Harley finds out what's happened to her puddin' Mistah J from another "New 52" book.

The book feels a little light as we only really get to know Harley and Deadshot, the other characters remain somewhat obscure. It's always great to see Harley and she takes centre stage in the strongest part of the book, the final third. This part also ties into "Batman: Faces of Death", so check that out before this to get the full story.

The story felt a bit weak, the team didn't really gel, and the characters were underdeveloped. The missions weren't very satisfying and it's unclear where this series is headed - do they just keep going on random missions indefinitely? Harley saved it but there are at least 5 other characters on the squad who are dead weight - she can't carry the book or series alone. "Kicked in the Teeth" isn't bad but it definitely needs a more ambitious story arc and a better writer too for it to become a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Squad Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
I bought the book for £0.49. First off, why haven't you at that cost? It's a full DC graphical comic!

The story is based on a bunch of super villains formed into a unit to do gov black ops type missions. The end appears to converge on the Harley Quinn story tie in with the death of the joker story line. I wasn't expecting that, but a brilliant addition and made this volume all the more valuable.

What can I say? It's DC so the art is good, as usual. I was not familiar with this series pre this book, but having read it I'm itching to move onto volume 2. We'll worth the money and highly recommended. The Harley origin story was well worth the cost alone!

Ps. If you're watching Arrow on Sky, the Suicide Squad features in s2, e16.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking fun and full of action, 17 Sep 2014
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Squad Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
I've never read Suicide Squad before, though I remember nearly getting back in about 87 when a re-launch happened and it looked very good.

I saw this collection on sale for the Kindle and decided to give it a go. I'm glad I did, it's one of the most fun, action packed and enjoyable collections I've read in ages.

I wouldn't say there is anything too challenging here, it is just sheer fun and full of action. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced, non-stop excitement, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Aaron (MELTON MOWBRAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I ordered this from Amazon when it first came out, but for some reason they could not locate the stock so had to order from elsewhere. I am glad that I did as this is, by far, one of the best offerings to come out of the New 52 (and to be honest, the New 52 is full of amazing titles so that is saying something).

The core of the story is a team of super-villains are assembled and promised time off their prison sentence in exchange for completing suicide missions. Considering their prison sentence is death row they don't really have much of a choice.

From start to finish this comic is filled with gorgeous artwork that captures the gritty nature of the story being told and the fights constantly going on throughout every turn of the page.

As one would expect, it has the reader forgetting the `good guys' are actually a group of bad guys and really has the reader pulling for them to succeed. A very well done piece and I look forward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Comic failure with Kindle app, 13 Oct 2014
By 
R. Hay (Wishaw, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Squad Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed it enough as far as I got (page 29 out of 158) which was saying something as the Kindle app doesn't allow you to zoom in. Small writing up to that point was just about legible but the next page, forget it. Downloaded the Kindle For PC reader but that failed to download the volume with an error message: "The item is not compatible with this device". Glad I didn't spend much money on it but had I known the Kindle app was incapable of allowing you to read comics / graphic novels on it, I wouldn't have bothered at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I like the mix of characters in the team, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an average rating because the story does enough to make you read on but its not a real page turner if you know what i mean. I like the mix of characters in the team, especially king shark, and how Deadshot seems to be the team leader and is perhaps keeping secrets from the rest of the team. I look forward to volume 2 but i am in no rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Okay(ish), 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Squad Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
This book kind of feels half complete, it does have some good bits but a lot of it is messy. For instance (spoilers) yo yo' s survival is pretty impossible, as is the weird characterisation of Harley Quinn. Alright for the money buy not one that makes me want to get the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very entertaining, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Squad Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
Great graphic interesting story. Very much enjoyed it highly recommend. Looking forward to reading the next issues soon. Go buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 49p what a bargain, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suicide Squad Vol. 1: Kicked in the Teeth (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
Different take on the hero team. Really good start especially the Harley Quinn story line. Will be buying the next ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews