Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 56 Zombie
Zombie

Distributor: Blue Underground (US)

It actually doesn't matter which title you know this movie by, Zombie Flesh Eaters, Zombie, Zombi 2, Island of the Living Dead, Woodoo, the list is probably endless. The film however is instantly recognisable as the greatest Italian zombie classic ever put to celluloid and is widely regarded by many fans as...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Blu Review Obscura

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shuffling Dead Paint Our Screens
Zombie Flesh Eaters (ZFE) was the first of Lucio Fulci's assault on the walking dead splatter genre. It gained notoriety from its visions of extreme gore (most notably the shard of wood through the eyeball sequence), but is actually the weakest of Fulci's dead trilogy (the others being City of the Living Dead and The Beyond - the subsequent House by the Cemetary is...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by A M Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Blu Ray, 7 Jan 2012
By 
M. Stewart "kimble" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's get straight on to the Blu Ray review. This US disc is region free the 1080p picture was taken from a newlly re-mastered 2k print and looks great although their was sign of print damage in the middle of the movie nothing too intrusive. The film is uncut according to the back cover.

This is a 2 disc set with a disc of special features. The special features included are mostly interviews and Guilerno del toro intro.

Soundwise the disc has a dts hd 7.1 audio.

This disc is worth purchasing to see the shark vs zombie scene in HD one of the best zombie films of the late 70's era definately worth a blu ray upgrade over dvd releases.

Update arrow video in the UK are releasing a standard blu ray and a steelbook version on the 26th of november titled Zombie flesh eaters the reviews on the uk disc are good and people are saying the UK transfer is better but be warned arrow have messed up and their is 6 seconds missing from the new blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good... but seen many times before., 7 Jun 2001
By 
L. Andrews "jointhepartyuk" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found it hard to rate this film. Is it worth a three or a four star? Whatever rating I give it, I have to justify that rating effectivley, so that my honest opinion is taken into account when this review is read.
So I'll give it a three star rating.
Zombie Flesh Eaters is a good film. I enjoyed it a lot when I watched it. I though the effects were good, I though the storyline was ok, and I thought that the zombie score was eerily spooky.
But I'd seen it all before. However good the film might be, I can't deny that it is a spin-off from Romero's zombie trilogy, a fact that, for me, takes a little of the enjoyment out of the film. Zombie Flesh Eaters is a good film, but it's not an original one. There's nothing new to be expected, which is a bit of a let-down.
Also, the DVD states that this is the EXTREME version - but it's not. I would describe the cut details, but I won't for fear of ruining the surprises for the viewers, but let me just say that the second half of the eye scene is still missing.
Good film, but only buy it if you're a diehard zombie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the Earth spits out the dead, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook] (Blu-ray)
I don't think I'll ever forget the day my brother walked through the door (back in 1981) clasping a large cardboard box - on it read "Sony C5 Betamax VCR". This was it, Saturday nights were never going to be the same. Goodbye Cagney & Lacey, goodbye Ted Rogers & Dusty bin! Hello Enter the Dragon, hello The Exorcist and last but not least hello Vipco's Zombie Flesh Eaters (strong uncut version). I absolutely love this film and to top it all it's now in BluRay transferred from the original negatives and a wonderful transfer it is too; never did zombies look so good - worm infested eye sockets, purple congealed crusts cover the undead, the flies and stench of rotting flesh seem to almost seep from out of the speakers enhanced by the haunting music score of Fabio Frizzi. Who cares if there is some bad acting - bad acting never did Arnold any harm! This film has it all eye gouging, throat ripping shark wrestling, head smashing mayhem. Treat yourself to a Saturday night in as I did all those years ago - turn the lights down and the volume up and enjoy Lucio Fulci's classic "ZOMBIE FLESH EATERS"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fulci's Feral Food Feast., 30 Oct 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Being of a "certain" age and being British, I was firmly around at the time of the ridiculous "video nasty" mania that swept the UK in the early 1980s. Films that usually involved cannibals, either ferox, holocaust or zombified, and torture porn revengers et al, were banned, prosecuted or given a Viking burial at sea. One such film was Zombie Flesh Eaters (the best title the film has of the few it is known by), it became like the Holy Grail of video nasties, where to see it uncut would be like witnessing the last miracle performed by Christ. I never did get to see it back then, and as my horror leanings waned over the years I let it drift from my conscious. But now I'm here in my middle age and finding a new appetite for horror, I have finally managed to see the fabled shocker from Lucio Fulci.

In many ways it's a disappointment, I mean I understand that to view it now is never going to impact in the way that it did (could) in 1979, but casting aside for a moment the gore scenes, which I will get to, it's a bad film awash with badness, and not in a horror bad ass way. Much like the other Fulci film I viewed recently, The House By The Cemetery, ZFE is a series of blood and guts scenes strung together by amateurish filler. Be it bad acting, bad dubbing, hopeless dialogue and half hearted attempts at something cranial. However, if judging this particular Fulci film on its key horror scenes? Then it's got brains, imagination and style to burn. Marking it out as by definition a mixed bag genius disaster!

The zombies themselves are brilliant creations, all dripping with rotting flesh, caked in earth and having mother nature's insect creatures wriggling around their ravaged bodies. They shuffle along in classic Romero mode, and feast on flesh with carefree abandon. They are also perpetrators of some of zombie cinema's best moments, such as fighting a shark on the ocean bed, pulling a hapless female victim onto a wooden splinter - eye first! And one scene where they collectively rise slowly from the earth is atmospherically as creepy as it is stunning in its execution. It is these things that of course helped to make it a legendary part of the Italian Exploitation era, and it's these things that make it watchable still today, but let it not be said there is anything else worthwhile, because the rest is simply awful. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a horror classic, 29 Jun 2007
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget the criticisms about dubbing or budget, as horror films go this one is a masterpiece. And like any masterpiece you never get tired of watching it. Even the music score is part of the art. Marvellous horror imagery. Needs to be seen in widescreen though (as here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it is actually ok...in a manner of speaking, 12 Feb 2003
the film may have been deemed obscene by the BBFC along with other trashy nasties of the late 70's and early 80's , but if you can get over the fact that this is a prime example of what people will call a video nasty, it is a reasonable film. Of course it lacks powerfull dialogue and state of the art effects but that just adds to its, I wouldn't say comedy value,its status. Its is as no way as good as Romeros "classic' Dawn of the Dead , but it is the best of what I would call the Italian Zombie Films. It is not that disstressing and may at times be that little bit gory, so if you want to see a previously banned , good horror film make this the one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're coming back to life, they're everywhere!!!!!!, 8 Jun 2005
How many times have I seen this film? I dont know. Lucio Fulci has long been one of my favourite directors. His ability to ignore narrative and just go for your throat can at times be so claustrophobic and overwhelming, you wonder why Italy (or for that matter, the world) doesnt produce directors like him anymore! Along with Argento, he is simply a master of his art, Zombie being his first attempt at Romero style gutmunching, and the results are seriously good!Firstly, this film is scarier than Dawn of the Dead, the zombies are far superior,they look just like you expect the undead to look. the gore (especially the eyeball scewering and throat ripping) is believable and the music is just plain haunting. Oh, and how many Hollywood films have an underwater fight between a zombie and a REAL shark?! Not many. Acting wise, Ian McCulloch and Richard Johnson (particularly) are perfect for their roles. Johnson is superb! Tisa Farrow (Mia's sister) is not so good and just looks confused throughout. This film may have recieved bad reviews in the past,and rightly so if you are watching the cut, pan and scan print from Vipco, but in glorious widescreen, the colours come to life and the cinematography is very clever. I must say it took a couple of viewings, but it really grew on me, especially the full uncut anchor bay region 0 dvd. Anyhow, its all a matter of taste (or lack of) but i Love this movie, its always one of the first I show anyone who isnt familiar with the Horror genre, and they always love it! Also, check out House by the Cemetery and The Beyond. Both Lucio Fulci masterpieces. Ignore the dubbing and you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 star film, 3 star release, 16 Mar 2002
As I consider Zombie Flesh Eaters to be one of the best zombie films ever (second only to Dawn Of The Dead), I was more than a little upset by the fact that the BBFC decided that 23 seconds of the movie would be classed as 'obscene' under the Obscene Publications Act and so hacked the footage out. As a result this movie is not 'Extreme' and it doesn't contain footage that will shock you. What it does contain is 90 minutes of hilarious acting, brilliant fx (for the time) and an unexpected ending...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 70 Zombie Flesh Eaters, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook] (Blu-ray)
Zombie Flesh Eaters: Steelbook

Distributor: Arrow Video (UK)

So, how do you improve on perfection?

Well almost nine months ago we reviewed the most impressive release to date of Lucio Fulci's epic zombie masterpiece courtesy of US distributor Blue Underground.

The undisputed title of "best release ever" of the classic Italian gore fest looked set to remain unbroken with the disc boasting a fully remastered 2K transfer delighting long time fans of the film and making it highly doubtful whether the release could ever be bettered.

Things however move pretty quickly in the home video market as of late and with a little hindsight the US Blu-ray does come with some minor issues which have since risen to the surface. A number of collectors had been slightly put out by the use of DNR during a handful of sequences and there were also concerns over the amount of actual re-watchable content within the extra features, however all things considered the release itself still continues to hold up to its well deserved praise.

So taking into account the overall high quality presentation of the former release, UK distributor Arrow Video would certainly have a real task on their hands if they wished to challenge the Blue Underground disc to the title of best presentation to date.

So in the high definition battle of Zombie vs Zombie Flesh Eaters which is better?

Well to borrow a rather obvious catchphrase it seems there is only one way to find out...... FIGHT!!!

It's no secret that Blue Underground produced a brand new 2K scan from the original negatives for their US transfer which even on reflection looks highly impressive. Arrow Video however have come back with their very own 2K scan overseen by James White who instantly comes with a decent reputation for delivering the goods as far as restoration is concerned. Arrow's print has undergone much repair and removal of dirt and scratches however where the US release had some very minor issues with the dreaded DNR, the Arrow release thankfully forgoes this treatment entirely, presenting a rich and exceptionally detailed image with far superior colour representation than the US print. The new 1080p transfer really has to be seen to be believed and will no doubt leave fans of the film revelling in the pristine 2.35:1 presentation, although on first viewing you are equally as likely to spend most of the films running time picking up on background imagery which until now has passed by unseen.

ROUND 1 Arrow!

Audio is presented on the Blue Underground release with a 5.1 mix which can easily be considered faultless, especially considering the low budget origins of the film. Atmosphere is absorbing with the classic score powering through your home cinema system like never before. The new Arrow disc takes a slightly different approach however, presenting the film in Dolby Digital English and Italian 2.0. Whilst the audio tracks are completely free from distortion with both dialogue and sound effects appearing clear and well defined, for complete atmospheric immersion into the proceedings the US 5.1 mix will probably draw you in closer to the action.

ROUND 2 Blue Underground!

The final round comes down to extra features which are pretty decent on both releases although the Blue Underground disc mainly comprises of a recycled commentary track and various interview snippets which although appear somewhat engrossing do not really warrant a second viewing. In comparison Arrows new Blu-ray release begins with a short introduction to the film by leading actor Ian McCulloch then offers two brand new exclusive commentaries, the first being with Fulci biographer Stephen Thrower and horror critic Alan Jones and the second being with original screenwriter Elisa Brigante. Following the informative yak tracks is a 42 minute interview again with Ian McCulloch who now talks in depth about all three of his Italian horror outings. "The Rise and Fall of the Italian Zombie Film" which follows the interview footage comprises of reflections on the genre by a host of writers, directors critics etc.. which are far too numerous to list here and clocks in at around 60 minutes. Further extra features include interviews with Gino De Rossi who discusses his most famous special effects from the classic horror genre plus composer Fabio Frizzi and Dardano Sachetti who discusses his original screenplay for the film. Rounding off the already impressive extras package is a collectors booklet featuring a further interview with star Olga Karlatos, a comprehensive essay on the film by Stephen Thrower and a written history of "Zombie Flesh Eaters and the BBFC" which will no doubt prove essential reading for long time video nasty collectors. A final recent addition to the package comes in the form of an option to view the film with a choice of the original US, Italian and UK opening titles which again make a nice tweak for purists. Certainly one of the most extensive extras packages to date from the distributor and you really get the feeling that they threw everything including the kitchen sink at this release.

FINAL ROUND Arrow Video!

So it may seem almost impossible but Arrow Video really have outdone themselves with this stellar release and with a 2 to 1 round victory over the US competitor it really goes without saying that the new Arrow Blu-ray really is the ultimate edition of the movie. Although double dipping on titles certainly appears to be moving slightly out of fashion these days, this is one instance where you really should succumb to temptation as the improvements in the transfer and extras alone easily justifies a further purchase.

To add one final incentive to buyers who may perhaps remain undecided on whether or not to make a purchase, the Arrow release also comes with a variety of alternative packaging options which are mainly accompanied with a double sided poster of the original US and UK cinema artwork. The options presented here include a steelbook edition featuring some exclusive artwork, a limited edition four panel slipcase release and a regular Blu-ray edition albeit minus the poster.

All things considered this really is a no brainer for zombie fans everywhere. Arrow Video have made their Blu-ray the must own edition of the film and it is hopeful that this trend will continue with their future releases allowing them to move from the company people seem to love to hate to a well respected distributor which really has something to offer genre fans.

One final note worth mentioning is that the Arrow release is unfortunately locked to region B so US buyers will require multi region capability to be able to appreciate this release.

So If you should find yourself in the mood to revisit an all time classic in its undisputed best ever presentation, kick back, relax and prepare to experience some true Fulci nastiness at it's very best, after all as far as Italian zombie movies are concerned, this really is where it all started.

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - for Blu-ray reviews of lesser mainstream movies find us at blureviewobscura.yolasite.com and join the
discussion at our exclusive Facebook group.

UPDATE

It has since come to light that due to having the option of 3 opening titles, approx 6 seconds of footage has been lost from the opening shot of the film where the boat sails into frame. This has come as a huge disappointment to collectors and it is currently unknown whether Arrow will set up a replacement program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZOMBIE FLESH EATERS, 19 July 2003
By 
Mr. D. J. Stevenson (Newmarket, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is work of a masterpiece, its not like the traditional zombie films wheras they get trapped inside a house its more of an adventure type film where they have to find an escape route from the island because it's getting infested with zombies that come up from the ground. TIME IS RUNNING OUT, AH, I'M BITTEN!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook]
Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook] by Lucio Fulci (Blu-ray - 2012)
Used & New from: 67.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews