Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 56 Zombie
Zombie

Distributor: Blue Underground (US)

It actually doesn't matter which title you know this movie by, Zombie Flesh Eaters, Zombie, Zombi 2, Island of the Living Dead, Woodoo, the list is probably endless. The film however is instantly recognisable as the greatest Italian zombie classic ever put to celluloid and is widely regarded by many fans as...
Published on 6 Mar. 2012 by Blu Review Obscura

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's trash, but still good fun
There's no point in slagging it off for supposedly stealing from George Romero! Most films like this are bashed out quickly to cash in on the success of others: if you saw the opportunity, wouldn't you? Besides, it was Dawn of the Dead and all the dollars that one raked in, rather than the dated NOTLD, that caused this little zombie pic to be made.
The brain...
Published on 20 Mar. 2000 by D. Harding


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shuffling Dead Paint Our Screens, 4 Mar. 2004
By 
A M Jones (West Midlands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Zombie Flesh Eaters (ZFE) was the first of Lucio Fulci's assault on the walking dead splatter genre. It gained notoriety from its visions of extreme gore (most notably the shard of wood through the eyeball sequence), but is actually the weakest of Fulci's dead trilogy (the others being City of the Living Dead and The Beyond - the subsequent House by the Cemetary is something slightly different again).
The film was made to cash in on the success of the Romero film Dawn of the Dead, although apart from the flesh eating Zombies it is a considerably different film. Whilst Dawn of the Dead takes place in the heart of a civilisation already at the mercy of the undead, ZFE starts off with a much more isolationist approach but concludes with sequences which could be seen to actually set up Romero's tale. And, unlike Romero, Fulci is interested in his tale only and not on any commentary on society.
For many, ZFE became known due to its run-ins with the UK censors (although the full uncut edition of Dawn of the Dead has some fairly graphic moments, these are never as convincing or quite as well staged as those in ZFE). Fulci certainly never lets himself be drawn away from the main theme and it is only for brief moments that the film drags. One sequence which always irritates me for "getting in the way" of the narrative is an underwater fight between a zombie and a shark. It is an original scene in conception and raises an interesting point (i.e. the movement of zombies underwater - they don't need manmade craft afterall - given that they have no need of air this is a not unreasonable idea), but I just find the sequence to be too drawn out to be of any great use - I just want to get to the mayhem on Matoole!
Views on the acting vary (I don't have a problem with it), but look beyond this and you will see good fx, good cinematography (the frame is always filled with good visuals, and can even be quite creative - just check out the sequences preceding the famous eyeball scene)and the soundtrack itself features a good score (suitably unnerving electronica, along with trade make Fulci jungle sounds - I could pick out a few good examples, but certainly one of the most effective is the sequence where Ian McCullogh and his team come accross scenes of dissembowlment and zombie feasting at the Doctor's home, the full horror of the close ups is accompanied by a wild funky tune that captures the charged and ridiculous nature of the situation).
One other reviewer mentioned that Zombie Holocaust fans would like ZFE; I saw the films the other way around and thought Zombie Holocaust was a very cheap and lame effort. However, it is worth noting that Zombie Holocaust came about as the producers were so pleased with Fulci's ZFE - Fulci did not direct Holocaust, but that didn't stop the use of some of the same locations, cast and fx crew; but if the truth were known I don't think anyone's heart was in this effort.
Anyway, back to ZFE - it is a film out of one of my favourity sub-genres, I find the idea of the undead rather frightening - whether they be slow and menacing, or running around (as I gather they do in the Dawn of the Dead remake) - and a film I would most definately recommend to gorehounds. This film does stand out with gore aplenty but also with a quality of interest not found in many other exploitation/splatter films. Just try to make sure you see it in as close to its original form as possible (and as a letterboxed edition, not pan and scanned). And then get ready to sit down and watch the other Fulci films mentioned ...
Three stars is perhaps a little generous to this movie, but if nothing else I know how many times I have watched and enjoyed it over the years, so that must mean its pretty good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good... but seen many times before., 7 Jun. 2001
By 
L. Andrews "jointhepartyuk" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found it hard to rate this film. Is it worth a three or a four star? Whatever rating I give it, I have to justify that rating effectivley, so that my honest opinion is taken into account when this review is read.
So I'll give it a three star rating.
Zombie Flesh Eaters is a good film. I enjoyed it a lot when I watched it. I though the effects were good, I though the storyline was ok, and I thought that the zombie score was eerily spooky.
But I'd seen it all before. However good the film might be, I can't deny that it is a spin-off from Romero's zombie trilogy, a fact that, for me, takes a little of the enjoyment out of the film. Zombie Flesh Eaters is a good film, but it's not an original one. There's nothing new to be expected, which is a bit of a let-down.
Also, the DVD states that this is the EXTREME version - but it's not. I would describe the cut details, but I won't for fear of ruining the surprises for the viewers, but let me just say that the second half of the eye scene is still missing.
Good film, but only buy it if you're a diehard zombie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Alien' of Zombie movies, 17 Aug. 2007
Most zombies movies have very little plot, extremely poor atmosphere and terrible looking zombies. Surprisingly this is not the case here.

Fulci, who even in his poor films at least manages atmosphere, directs possibly the best non-Romero zombie film. Starting with a short zombie attack in New York harbour the film then slows to set the scene...

One woman must sail to an island to find her father. The island is apparantly 'cursed' and we know what that means... Zombies. There is a slow long build up including a short Zombie vs Shark fight, until it all kicks off for the last 40 mins of Zombie infestation.

The zombies look great, the music is actually very good and it's extremely well shot. As always some acting is poor and the story is a little, well, thin. But if you're going to 'zombie flesh eaters' you should expect that.

This is an absolulte must have for any zombie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fulci's Feral Food Feast., 30 Oct. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Being of a "certain" age and being British, I was firmly around at the time of the ridiculous "video nasty" mania that swept the UK in the early 1980s. Films that usually involved cannibals, either ferox, holocaust or zombified, and torture porn revengers et al, were banned, prosecuted or given a Viking burial at sea. One such film was Zombie Flesh Eaters (the best title the film has of the few it is known by), it became like the Holy Grail of video nasties, where to see it uncut would be like witnessing the last miracle performed by Christ. I never did get to see it back then, and as my horror leanings waned over the years I let it drift from my conscious. But now I'm here in my middle age and finding a new appetite for horror, I have finally managed to see the fabled shocker from Lucio Fulci.

In many ways it's a disappointment, I mean I understand that to view it now is never going to impact in the way that it did (could) in 1979, but casting aside for a moment the gore scenes, which I will get to, it's a bad film awash with badness, and not in a horror bad ass way. Much like the other Fulci film I viewed recently, The House By The Cemetery, ZFE is a series of blood and guts scenes strung together by amateurish filler. Be it bad acting, bad dubbing, hopeless dialogue and half hearted attempts at something cranial. However, if judging this particular Fulci film on its key horror scenes? Then it's got brains, imagination and style to burn. Marking it out as by definition a mixed bag genius disaster!

The zombies themselves are brilliant creations, all dripping with rotting flesh, caked in earth and having mother nature's insect creatures wriggling around their ravaged bodies. They shuffle along in classic Romero mode, and feast on flesh with carefree abandon. They are also perpetrators of some of zombie cinema's best moments, such as fighting a shark on the ocean bed, pulling a hapless female victim onto a wooden splinter - eye first! And one scene where they collectively rise slowly from the earth is atmospherically as creepy as it is stunning in its execution. It is these things that of course helped to make it a legendary part of the Italian Exploitation era, and it's these things that make it watchable still today, but let it not be said there is anything else worthwhile, because the rest is simply awful. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did somebody say CUT!!!, 27 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
I will make this short! This is a great zombie flick, Fulci's best if You ask me, but I have one HUGE problem whit this edition, the cuts! One of the things that made this movie famous is the eye scene, it's gone! so are other scenes from the original movie. If you are a zombie or horror fan, don't miss out on this one, it's a piece of horrorfilm history, a must-have for all film fans, but get the original movie instead, the title is ZOMBIE (ZOMBI in Italy) re-released by Blue Underground.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look out ..... ZOMBIE SHARK!, 22 Jun. 2007
I am a big BIG fan of all things Zombie, but I have yet to see all the zombie features.. so I'm a little slow - bite me ;^) This is one that has been in the back of my brain on my must watch list for a long time. Up until I recently saw the film, I suppose I was a little sceptic to it being in any way as entertaining as some of the brilliant Romero films (Night of the Living Dead, Dawn of the Dead, Day of the Dead).. But I was pleasantly surprised at how scary and gore-tastic it was. The fantastically eighties synth score really adds to the tense moments that unlike the zombies come in leaps and bounds. And like all good horror movies - there are memorable scenes that you'll remember until the day you die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a horror classic, 29 Jun. 2007
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget the criticisms about dubbing or budget, as horror films go this one is a masterpiece. And like any masterpiece you never get tired of watching it. Even the music score is part of the art. Marvellous horror imagery. Needs to be seen in widescreen though (as here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it is actually ok...in a manner of speaking, 12 Feb. 2003
the film may have been deemed obscene by the BBFC along with other trashy nasties of the late 70's and early 80's , but if you can get over the fact that this is a prime example of what people will call a video nasty, it is a reasonable film. Of course it lacks powerfull dialogue and state of the art effects but that just adds to its, I wouldn't say comedy value,its status. Its is as no way as good as Romeros "classic' Dawn of the Dead , but it is the best of what I would call the Italian Zombie Films. It is not that disstressing and may at times be that little bit gory, so if you want to see a previously banned , good horror film make this the one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're coming back to life, they're everywhere!!!!!!, 8 Jun. 2005
How many times have I seen this film? I dont know. Lucio Fulci has long been one of my favourite directors. His ability to ignore narrative and just go for your throat can at times be so claustrophobic and overwhelming, you wonder why Italy (or for that matter, the world) doesnt produce directors like him anymore! Along with Argento, he is simply a master of his art, Zombie being his first attempt at Romero style gutmunching, and the results are seriously good!Firstly, this film is scarier than Dawn of the Dead, the zombies are far superior,they look just like you expect the undead to look. the gore (especially the eyeball scewering and throat ripping) is believable and the music is just plain haunting. Oh, and how many Hollywood films have an underwater fight between a zombie and a REAL shark?! Not many. Acting wise, Ian McCulloch and Richard Johnson (particularly) are perfect for their roles. Johnson is superb! Tisa Farrow (Mia's sister) is not so good and just looks confused throughout. This film may have recieved bad reviews in the past,and rightly so if you are watching the cut, pan and scan print from Vipco, but in glorious widescreen, the colours come to life and the cinematography is very clever. I must say it took a couple of viewings, but it really grew on me, especially the full uncut anchor bay region 0 dvd. Anyhow, its all a matter of taste (or lack of) but i Love this movie, its always one of the first I show anyone who isnt familiar with the Horror genre, and they always love it! Also, check out House by the Cemetery and The Beyond. Both Lucio Fulci masterpieces. Ignore the dubbing and you'll be fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Zombie Flesh Eaters, 3 Jun. 2012
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In New York a abandoned Boat sails into the harbour and two coast guards board the ship only to be attacked by a Zombie which kills one of them before been shot and falling into the sea. Anne Boweles however is interrogated by the police as the boat belonged to her father who has gone missing so she teams up with reporter Peter West to find out what is going on.

Although many people claim this to be the greatest zombie film ever made, I have to disagree but this is by no means a bad movie. It has all the ingredients of a what the perfect zombie film should have its just no match for Dawn of the Dead in my opinion.

Lucio Fulci's direction as usual is good but he does let the film get a little boring in my opinion in the middle as I found myself loosing interest, what did grab my attention was the great underwater sequence where a zombie attacks a shark. The film seriously livens up at the end where there is a exciting zombie attack on the church.

The gory effects as with all Fulci movies are very impressive the most gruesome has got to be Olga Karlatos's famous splinter in the eye scene, which looks really realistic even by today's standards. The zombie make up is also very good and ghost town looks great and reminded me of a Spaghetti Western location.

Acting wise the film has a decent cast including British actor Ian McCulloch and Tisa Farrow (sister of Mia Farrow) but as expected the dubbing is poor but I love Italian movies so that didn't really bother me.

Fabio Frizzi and Giorgio Tucci compose a great main theme tune which is used to its not effective were the zombies crawl out of their graves. The rest of the score however isn't anything special.

Overall a well made, watch-able but flawed zombie film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook]
Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook] by Lucio Fulci (Blu-ray - 2012)
£59.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews