Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 56 Zombie
Zombie

Distributor: Blue Underground (US)

It actually doesn't matter which title you know this movie by, Zombie Flesh Eaters, Zombie, Zombi 2, Island of the Living Dead, Woodoo, the list is probably endless. The film however is instantly recognisable as the greatest Italian zombie classic ever put to celluloid and is widely regarded by many fans as...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Blu Review Obscura

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Shuffling Dead Paint Our Screens
Zombie Flesh Eaters (ZFE) was the first of Lucio Fulci's assault on the walking dead splatter genre. It gained notoriety from its visions of extreme gore (most notably the shard of wood through the eyeball sequence), but is actually the weakest of Fulci's dead trilogy (the others being City of the Living Dead and The Beyond - the subsequent House by the Cemetary is...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by A M Jones


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 20 Dec 2012
I remember this from when it was classed as a "video nasty" back in the 1980s. I watched it for the first time recently. I have to say, it just does not deserve all of the praise and positive comments made about it. The acting and dubbing are absolutely terrible, the plot is almost non-existent and the gore is nothing very special either. It is also exremely slow in some parts of the film, especially in the first half and middle of the film. I am sorry to say, I just did not like this film very much at all and I will not be watching it again - in fact, my copy of the film is already relegated to the bin. I give this only two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zombie, 19 Aug 2011
this is the best zombie film of all time if you watch this version which is uncut yes it pipps dawn of the dead on gore it is just pure gore brilliant also a remake in the waiting if directed properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AKA ZOMBIE 2, 29 Aug 2012
This review is from: Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook] (Blu-ray)
The new transfer & features look interesting - but - zombie 2 is the same movie & was relaesed in a 25th aniversary edition in the past two years & is a nice two disc set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great print but really bad movie, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was always a fan of old video nasties from the 80s, I used to collect the old VHS banned horrors and zombie flesh eaters was one of them.
I could not wait to see this released on blu ray.
Ok first thought on the release was a bit disappointed with the cover from arrow as previous releases have the slip box cover with various artwork covers and with poster but none of the on this release.
The movie, well the print is very good and sound good too but to be honest I thought the movie itself is awful, definitely not what I remembered from younger days or maybe I have just realised how bad it is, poor acting, poor special effects, terrible dubbing, terrible editing.
But this is my opinion.
I have bought all the fulci movies on release and I have sold them all, again in my opinion they are all dreadful.
If you want to view a good zombie movie go for a Romero one.
I would not recommend this film or any fulci ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waited 35 years to see this, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
classic movie. its got to be remade with modern effects. a totally classic movie. maybe if i watched it years ago it might of been better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Picture too bright - horror loves the dark, 27 Dec 2012
Old-school horror works far more effectively in shadow - it's the 'suggestion is better than statement' principle, which Fulci understood well as an atmospheric counterpoint to his signature eruptions of gore. Everything about the cinematography and nature of the film confirms this: the director was influenced by early black-and-white zombie films, so the look and mood should be sinister and mysterious, as in the later paintings of Goya and Rembrandt. Slightly cynically, a few commentators have suggested that traditional horror make-up is more convincing at lower light levels where its shortcomings are less obvious and there's some truth in that. Zombies look just plain silly in too much daylight, as we know from popular holiday beaches at the height of summer (some of the island scenes now resemble a Caribbean tourist village with severely sunstroked guests)!

We've had far too many 'restorations' and 'cleanings' (New! Improved! Buy now!) and I think Arrow's pointing in completely the wrong direction with this one. The packaging isn't great, either - why not a reproduction of the classic Italian cinema poster image instead of a crude latter-day sketch - and why the UK title?

Lucio's maggoty nugget deserves far more imaginative treatment.

One star for trying, but it's all disappointment for this reviewer, at least.

PS Have concluded that comparison of versions is futile: maybe in the last analysis it's just a cheap, silly old film and it's time to move on before the rot sets in and we become the living dead ourselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LONG LAST, ZOMBIE FLESH EATERS ARE HERE!!!, 28 Aug 2012
By 
N. DICKINSON "Niel Dicko" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook] (Blu-ray)
Like the person below, i'm writing my review weeks before the release, 28/8/12, hopefully, as described, this will be fully uncut.
This is my favourite movie of all time and i've been a fan since I saw it back in 1983, so i'm pleased that this timeless classic is finally being given the treatment it deserves.
Fulci is an absolute genius, his vision is second to none, Fabio Frizzi's pulsating soundtrack goes brilliantly with just about every scene in the movie, the decaying corpses wandering the island, courtesy of Gianetto Di Rossi's make-up team complete with worms in eye sockets, are both intimidating and convincing.
There's an infamous eye-gouging scene, very gory gut-feasting scene, even a shark is attacked by a zombie under water, and much more.
In fact, my favourite scene has to be the resurrection, the music starts and the dead begin to slowly rise from their graves, goosebumps....
From fast-paced beginning to climatic shoot-out, Zombie Flesh-Eaters, (aka Zombi), remains a cult-classic that rightfully deserves its place in the hall of fame and is a thoroughly enjoyable movie that simply has to be seen. Regardless of what people might say, they just don't make them like this anymore, an old cliche but true.
At last, Zombie Flesh-Eaters is here!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LUCIO FULCI BORES US AGAIN..., 13 Aug 2003
By 
Theres something about films by Lucio Fulci I don't like. They're so damn boring! You literally have to wait forever to see some action. The acting is dire and unintentially funny. It's one of those cheap Italian films that tries to be American.
After about 30 minutes into the film, it just becomes annoying and boring so you might as well just leave it lying there on the shelf in the shops, because it's not worth forking out money for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service!, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A promptly delivered gift. The recipient loved it and would recommend to those who love their horror served up with a large pinch of salt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last on arrow dvd release, 8 Sep 2012
Can't wait release on arrow dvd with poster zombie flesh eaters this is best version the other zombi 2 3 and 4 more glore and flesh better then dawn of the dead scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook]
Zombie Flesh Eaters [Blu-ray Steelbook] by Lucio Fulci (Blu-ray - 2012)
Used & New from: 69.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews