Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!!
Beautifully presented set in gorgeous box with original movie poster pictures on each side of the pages. Presented as a book with very strong cardboard type pages which the disc sits inside like envelope style (a little disappointing as you will find it hard not to smudge finger prints onto discs) apart from that am happy with the packaging. I am very impressed with some...
Published 22 months ago by Tinksjane

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece and not quite Masterpiece collection
Although this is a great collection and most of Hitchcocks best films are included, I found it very strange that films like North by Northwest and Notorious aren't. Instead, they have decided to include Torn Curtain and Topaz which are by no means even close to Hitchcocks best.
Published 6 months ago by Conroy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it!!!, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Tinksjane "tink" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Beautifully presented set in gorgeous box with original movie poster pictures on each side of the pages. Presented as a book with very strong cardboard type pages which the disc sits inside like envelope style (a little disappointing as you will find it hard not to smudge finger prints onto discs) apart from that am happy with the packaging. I am very impressed with some of the transfers especially considering their age (Sabateur) but equally a little disappointed with others where I would certainly not be able to say that it's stunning HD clarity, because it certainly is not. However, if like me you have been holding off buying most of Hitchcocks movies waiting for Blu ray then this is probably the best way to purchase, certainly price wise. However if you are hoping for the quality of picture seen in other Hitchcock Blu ray releases....ie. North by Northwest or Rebecca (USA release but is actually region free) which are fantastic HD transfers (in my opinion) then you may be disappointed with some of this box set. That said, as a Hitchcock fan I am still pleased to own this set for the pure nostalgia of it and I now have most of his films on blu-ray, really wish we could get The Lady Vanishes though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Complicated Issue., 27 Nov 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Yes, there are problems with the set, but although regrettable, they are not insurmountable. Most disks are fine - although only a couple have the "wow factor" or display over-hyped claims on the box. I have now watched several and sampled the others on my projection system. Okay "Frenzy" isn't a reference copy, but it's still better than the DVD release. Despite reviewers criticisms of "The Man Who Knew Too Much" I found it an impressive transfer and better than any previous release. However "Family Plot" - not a movie I have ever liked - is, quite frankly, very poor and if not the worse blu ray transfer I have ever seen, it comes very close. "Marnie" - which I love - is not as bad but very disappointing I'm afraid. There is so much grain swirling around it's almost as bad as the "Sleepy Hollow" Blu Ray transfer - and that's saying something! However, over complaints about this blu ray , and some others too, DVD Beaver has provided several fascinating insights and statistics which suggest the reason for the "problems" and infer that the transfers in The Masterpiece Collection are about as good as you will get on blu ray because problems with the source material become more apparent in HD. However, "bluray.com", is less forgiving and does an excellent disc by disc analysis which is far from encouraging and I really believe that my old DVD of "Marnie", for instance, is far better than this new release. It has good definition, no intrusive grain and wonderful colour saturation - and I have just noticed at the beginning of one chapter on the blu ray - a scene where Marnie is in her office - the spoken dialogue is mute although the subtitles indicate what is meant to be heard! What is that about?

That said, the classic movies in the set are generally good and as I purchased the collection as an Amazon Black Friday deal for £60, I'm happy enough as the discs work out at about £4 each. However if companies really want to promote blu ray, the faster they ensure their releases are all properly done, the better - just look at the mess Hammer have made with so many recent blu rays! That a major company like Universal has now done the same, and released some of these discs in such a shoddy condition, is a bigger mystery than any found in poor Hitch's films. He deserves better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A value priced addition to my Hitchcock collection, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I think one has to consider the price relative to the value of this collection. A Criterion quality re-mastered transfer to blu ray it is not but it does provide a quite serviceable blu ray transfer on most of the Hitchcock hollywood era titles and so much more affordable too. I bought this collection through amazon uk for US$87 when it was being sold on amazon US for over US$200. Ok, I had to wait three weeks for it to arrive to my US home by way of Royal Mail and USPS but patience has its virtues and I am very pleased overall with this purchase. To round out your Hitchcock collection you may want to purchase separately North by Northwest, The Man Who Knew Too Much (1934) and of course "The 39 Steps" and "The Lady Vanishes". I already had the Criterion names so I was able to complete my collection with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This appears to be the re-issued version, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
For those wondering whether this is the re-issued version or not, I've just played the opening credits to Frenzy and they are the original correct ones and not the re-created computer ones (with spelling mistakes) the reviewer in Sight and Sound referred to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hitchcock in BluRay, mostly awesome, however the bad transfer of Marnie is unforgivable!, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Daniel F. Ireland "danland" (Los Angeles, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Universal should be ashamed for the sloppy job of the MARNIE transfer in BluRay. The rest in this series are excellent to very good, however the dismissal of Marnie being up to par with the rest of them brings the rating down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous collection from perhaps the best director Britain has seen, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A fabulous collection from perhaps the best director Britain has seen. DVDs are included in a wonderful book, worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
this dvd has every thing that i wanted on a dvd box set i am still watching it and this is the second time i have seen the films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning restoration, amazing picture quality and great movie classics, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I am blown away by the work done on the restoration of these great classics of the Master. For some of these movies, the remastering and digitization job is simply breath taking. Awesome, crisp image and riveting sound. Hard to believe that they are over fifty years old. And it is a great deal as well. Most of Hitchcock's classics are there, barring North by Northwest and To Catch a Thief, which were both shot at the same period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
What could have said about a box so well crafted full of Hitch's masterpieces. Very well done specially the original posters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect collection, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
...at a nice price. Im enjoying it very much and the Blu Ray quality is correct with a beautiful finishing touch. Just like expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection [Blu-ray] [1942] [Region Free]
£41.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews