Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The skill of listening
This collection of excerpts from interviews with Michael Parkinson goes way beyond indulging our fascination with the rich and famous and qualifies as a serious and intriguing examination of human nature. It takes a second look to realise that the star of the show is really Parkinson himself. His interviewing style remains the best in the business. Again and again he...
Published 11 months ago by Phillip Kay

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice to go back in the memory lane
Wish there were more DVD from Parky shows, especially all the funny ones, if not all the shows from day one
Published 15 months ago by Mahilal. Wijeratne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The skill of listening, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
This collection of excerpts from interviews with Michael Parkinson goes way beyond indulging our fascination with the rich and famous and qualifies as a serious and intriguing examination of human nature. It takes a second look to realise that the star of the show is really Parkinson himself. His interviewing style remains the best in the business. Again and again he convinces the person he's talking to that he's really interested in what they have to say, and in them as a person. This must be a refreshing approach for people over saturated with media attention. Probably only possible in the extended 20 or 40 minute format Parkinson adopted. The research has been impeccable, the interviewees are at their ease, and Parkinson is quick to steer the conversation to where it is of most interest.

Subjects are:
1. James Stewart
2. Kenneth Williams
3. Orson Welles
4. Bette Midler
5. Joan Rivers
6. Victoria Wood
7. Richard Burton
8. Peter Sellers
9. John Cleese
10. Jonathan Miller
11. Peter Ustinov
12. Stephen Fry
13. Ben Travers/Henry Herbert 6th Earl of Carnarvon
14. Don McCullin/Wilfred Vaughn Thomas/Jacob Bronowski
15. Sharon Osbourne/Paul O'Grady
16. Oprah Winfrey
17. Judi Dench
18. Michael Caine

All these people have a fund of entertaining and revealing stories to tell, and Parkinson guides them and encourages them to do so. That most seductive form of flattery, interest and fascination with the other person, does its work. Whether Parkinson is deferent as he is to James Stewart, swapping stories about Orson Welles with Kenneth Williams or succumbing to the charms of Bette Midler, the audience sees the subject of the interview at their best. For me the most interesting interviews were at the start and at the end: few can match Michael Caine as a raconteur. I watched the DVD right through and would have done the same had there been another one. That's four hours of watching, and it went too quickly.

Still unreleased are interviews with John Lennon, Shirley Maclaine, Muhammad Ali, Jacques Tati, Peter O'Toole, Tony Curtis, David Niven, Duke Ellington, Jack Lemon, Jack Benny, Desmond Morris, Perry Como, John Romer, the Goons, Placido Domingo, Billy Connolly, Woody Allen, Richard Attenborough, Clint Eastwood, Sheryl Crow and Clive James. Parkinson says there are more than 2,000 interviews. Perhaps not all will be as fascinating as those on Parky's Picks, but, given Parkinson's skill as an interviewer, they probably will be. Let's hope the response to this DVD has been such as to encourage Parkinson to release more, though making the selection will be a tough job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parky's Picks, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
Good old Parky strikes again ! What a delight this compliation of interviews is and slightly different from the prevous dvd last year in that the time given to each celebrity is a bit longer. I hope Michael Parkinson goes on to produce many more dvds of the great interviews he did over many years. He was a great interviewer as he sat and listened while the celebrity had a chance to talk. I am a great fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parky is the best!, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this DVD. Was so happy to see some more 'in-depth' interviews he conducted with some fascinating people. My personal favourites - Richard Burton, the wonderful Peter Sellers, John Cleese and more. I would highly recommend this DVD to any Parkinson fan; you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Parky., 4 Feb 2014
By 
Joyce Haslam (COLNE, Lancs Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
The dvd is too short, I want the other hundreds of hours of broadcast interviews. Like all of Jimmy Stewart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parkys Picks, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
What a super DVD enjoyed every minute excellent value for money, over 2 hours of entertainment from the masters of their crafts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice to go back in the memory lane, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
Wish there were more DVD from Parky shows, especially all the funny ones, if not all the shows from day one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful - I have recommended this to friends and they like it better than his first DVD. A delight to watch again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parky's Picks, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent collection . I really enjoyed it . I could have done with more of Peter Ustinov and Dr. Jacob Bronowski . The BBC did a series of programmes on some of Parkinson's interviews with one subject per hour programme . That would be a really good next release of Parkinson's interviews . I recommend this very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
what we have seen has been great, but have not watched it all yet. We love Parky so sure we will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Dad, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parky's Picks [DVD] (DVD)
Bought back memories he loved it, would recommend to others who liked watching Parky's television show as my dad did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parky's Picks [DVD]
Parky's Picks [DVD] by Michael Parkinson (DVD - 2012)
2.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews