Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crime show I actually enjoy, gritty yet oozing with atmosphere and charm.
I'm kind of late to Ripper Street. I only found out about it's existence recently, three seasons in. I love the Victorian era though so started season 1 and it's one of the best tv series I have seen in years, years!

The premise follows H division, a squad of police in Whitechapel 1889 set six months after the infamous Jack the Ripper murders. The show I want...
Published 5 months ago by FallenGrace

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelming saga with good costumes.
Underwhelming indeed - as other reviewers have pointed out the series perpetrates several errors that spoiled it for us.
Now - your mileage may vary - you might like it (lots of people do), but if you like your period details right it'd probably not for you.
If you're not bothered about detail, I'll not spoil your enjoyment with a tedious list of oopsies...
Published 1 month ago by Big Ben


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best BBC series in quite some time., 26 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street [DVD] (DVD)
I love nothing more then getting hooked on a good tv series, but i didn't quite expect my obsession with Ripper Street to be so strong! I first saw the trailers around christmas and watched it each and every week, with my love of the different characters growing with every episode. Each character has their own story and unique hidden back story which gets revealed as the series continues. This added with each weeks different mystery leads for an addictive show, as you want to watch week by week as we discover more about the three lead characters.

Adam Rothenberg, Jerome Flynn and Matthew McFadyen (Jackson, Drake and Reid) are all brilliant, working well with each other to create a believable police unit, with great supporting characters such as Rose and Long Susan and adorable trainee policeman Hobbs!

I got given this DVD for my birthday and have already watched it through again twice, i literally can't get enough, the series improves each time you watch it as you pick up dialogue or notice things you had previously missed. Brilliant stories, amazing acting and spectacular settings, this really is one to buy. I have sat down to watch it with my mum as well, so it is one for all the ages, if you are a bit squeamish it might be best to close your eyes through some parts but don't let that put you off because the stories alone are just great.

I can't wait for the next series which is being filmed as i type, bring on more Ripper Street!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mullet man, 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just watched the latest episode , only one to go , hope we are going to get another series as will miss when finished. Have enjoyed the series and the way the character's have developed. BBC drama at its best. Great acting and filming. Would recommend to anyone who loves police period drama, as good as Sherlock .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good period piece drama, cancelled by the BBC, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ripper Street [DVD] (DVD)
.
The narrative is set in the late 19th century and the story begins with the tail-end of Jack the Ripper's terrifying reign of murder in the East End of London, however, the drama went on to examine multifaceted human motivations, to dissect the central characters and their lives beyond the police station. There is examination of what it means to be malevolent and/or human. The drama looked at the lives, and social ills of the people who lived in the area, and this was done through making the look and feel of the era in a really striking framework. For me the direction, writing and performance given, came together to make really interesting and finely tuned drama. It is really sad that the powers to be at the BBC could not/would not fight try to keep this very good show going, I am sure it would have sold well in North America and Australia. It seems to extremely poor judgement to cancel the show. I guess in its place will be another repeat set of programming, which seems to be the unfortunate mainstay of the BBC today - all rather sad really.

-------------------UPDATE--------------------------------------UPDATE---------------------------

22/11/2014

Amazon have revived show, after it was cancelled by the BBC so prematurely - high praise to the fans for getting the show endorsed again. It will be shown exclusively on Amazon Prime.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crime show I actually enjoy, gritty yet oozing with atmosphere and charm., 3 Feb. 2015
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I'm kind of late to Ripper Street. I only found out about it's existence recently, three seasons in. I love the Victorian era though so started season 1 and it's one of the best tv series I have seen in years, years!

The premise follows H division, a squad of police in Whitechapel 1889 set six months after the infamous Jack the Ripper murders. The show I want to stress is not about Jack, the idea is to focus on the police who failed to catch him and their fear that he will come back though it soon expands into a variety of crimes, plots and murders.

The show is pretty gritty, they don't really hold back with prostitutes, diseases, underpaid worker strikes all playing large parts, the era is not romanticized looking at darker elements of the time. There are also some nice historical elements put in showing the development of technology with cameras, the building of the London Underground which really help cement the atmosphere along with the brilliant costumes, suits, hairstyles and sets. It's an excellent show.

The acting is superb by every one of the cast creating some tense and sometimes genuinely emotional moments. Ripper streets main characters are Detective Edmund Reid (Mattew Macfadyen) who heads H division teaming up with former military man Detective Sergeant Bennet Drake (Jerome Flynn) and former US army surgeon Captain Homer Jackson (Adam Rothenburg) to solve cases. Each character has distinct personality as well as backstory that slowly develops as the show progresses for the 8 one hour episode season.

Final thoughts, I loved Ripper Street and can't wait to find the time to watch season 2.The atmosphere is great, the era is wonderful, the cast and sets are striking. It just felt full of character.

Recommended.

+ Historical technology is fun.
+ Sets, costumes and atmosphere are superb.
+ Interesting characters, splendid acting.
+ Delves into the darker parts of Victorian life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Escapism, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ripper Street [DVD] (DVD)
Forget about your worries and woes and watch this exciting and gripping series. This isn't perfect by any means but it has those great ingredients, action, violence, and pure escapism. Set some time shortly after the 'Jack the Ripper' killings have come to a close, this is based around the environs of Whitechapel.

As the police and detectives go about solving crimes, with the help of a mysterious Pinkerton agent as a forensic doctor they always have Abberline looking over their shoulders hoping to still catch 'The Ripper'.

With stories that involve murder, human trafficking, greed and violence, etc., there is a lot to take in, along with secrets and dodgy dealings. With the police using violence in interrogations and trickery to extort confessions and information this is old time action all the way. I think on this as 'The Sweeney' 19th Century style. With the main characters we also get background information and stories, making them more dimensional and easier to relate to.

All in all this is a well rounded crime costume drama that is fun to watch and offers pure entertainment and escapism. And in case you weren't aware, another series has been commissioned. With violent crimes in a historical setting this is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he lives forever!, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street [DVD] (DVD)
barring the almost impossible, jack the ripper will live forever in history as a shadowy figure of terror. ripper street captures the nervous people of the area just post-ripper, when no one knew if he was really gone or lurking in the shadows to step out again and resume his reign of terror. it's no wonder the police are still on edge, the people nervy - these are the streets the ripper stalked searching for his victims. ripper street recreates those streets and shadows and fears eloquently. I had to run out to the store late, after dark, the night I watched this. I looked over my shoulder, checked the back seat of the car and locked all the car doors. coming back was worse - I ran to my door and checked the whole apartment before I could relax. I also couldn't sleep until 4am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Review, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This well acted and produced highly original series is not for the faint hearted as it deals with some very shocking themes - a Victorian version of the French series "Spiral" springs to mind! However, despite all the care lavished on the design and detail, blu ray transfer is not perfect unfortunately. The opening section of episode one, in fact, has a problem of fringing during fast movement which is rather distracting but this settles down after about 10 minutes - a coding issue perhaps. On video projection it is much worse. The black levels are not very wonderful either but on a normal size tv are probably okay. Thankfully the audio is fine! That said, this highly ambitious series - superbly acted by it's leads - well written with an authentic note of "otherness" in the dialogue, and intriguingly plotted, does give a fascinating picture of Victorian life in the raw. The past is another country, they do things differently there - and "Ripper Street" certainly demonstrates that in all it's uncompromising horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ripper Street - ripping fun, 27 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best things on British TV in many years, infinitely superior to the first (ok) and second (silly) Sherlock Holmes movies if only for the superbly researched and handled dialogue. The highest possible praise to the scriptwriter for really doing something redolent of the speech patterns of the time, without falling into the cheeky cockney cliches of Hammer Film-style treatments of the Ripper theme. OK, so there's a misplaced American doctor, but international coproduction makes that inevitable - and much less obtrusive than the Irish dinosaur hunters imposed on "Primeval".

The best thing about Ripper Street is that it IS relentlessly distasteful and horrific, as street life of the period no doubt was. And the way modern technology makes an appearance in every episode - the moving picture, the mass-produced addictive drugs, the underground railway - is endlessly fascinating.

Matthew McFadyen's star turn is also suitably driven and tortured, an outstanding performance.

Can't wait to see the rest of the series and the DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victorian detective drama - dirt and all...., 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ripper Street [DVD] (DVD)
Having followed this series intently so far, and having read the current reviews on Amazon, I have come to the definite conclusion that purchasing this series on DVD is a must for me. I've always been a sucker for a Victorian Detective - firstly with various TV and film incarnations of Sherlock Holmes [even tho he is a 'consulting' detective] and then with the TV series 'Sergeant Cork' in the 1960s and 'Sergeant Cribb' in the 1980s.
These could be classed as the 'original' Victorian detective dramas I suppose although Victorian London did seem a bit on the clean side...
Ripper Street is every bit as good as these previous series were, plus I think it shows a more realistic version of Victorian London - grey, filthy, violent and awash with drink and drugs in some areas. Yet in the middle of all that we get glimpses of things to come and promises of a better future, tho not for everyone.
Not much different from the 21st century in some ways, when you think about it!
If you're into Victorian detectives then I happily recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very believable and absorbing., 28 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Ripper Street [DVD] (DVD)
This is just a review of the TV series so far, (after five episodes).
I love Ripper Street! It's a strange mix of thoroughly convincing Victorian dialog, slow and intriguing character development, excellent casting, acting and direction and the introduction, (as a previous reviewer noted) of `new technology' which gives the series an almost Steampunk feel without detracting from the impression that it is rooted in a very real and visceral world. I love the way that all the major characters are damaged in some way but hide their pain rather than wallowing in it.
That there is a token American in it is no surprise as the BBC rather patronisingly assumes Americans will only watch a British drama if there is one of their own in it.
I have no idea what the DVD sound and picture quality will be like of what extras will be included but, as this is a BBC production I would assume that they will all be up to par.
The only note of caution I would inject is that at £17 (or £17.99 for the Blu-ray) this is not cheap. Personally I am happy to wait until it drops by a few quid as it should do by the time I'm ready to re-watch it.
As the program has received good ratings and has also gained critical approval here's hoping for a second series.

Update - The BBC have just announced a second series of 8 stories for transmission in 2014. Hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ripper Street [DVD]
Ripper Street [DVD] by Colm McCarthy (DVD - 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews