Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars104
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 February 2013
The Thick of It is a modern day classic of British TV and is great if you're a fan of either politics or comedy, although if you have a good understanding of British politics, you're bound to understand more of the references.

If you have never seen the show before, treat yourself and watch it from the beginning. It'll definitely help with knowing more about the characters.

Season four may not be the strongest series overall, as the opening episodes start off a little weaker than what is to come, but it soon picks up the pace and the latter episodes are up there with the best of them

Season 4 is quite a bit different to the previous series, largely because the previous ones have focused on the (fictional) Labour government. But, as The Thick of It always stays topical, we're now treated to the same show `coalition style.' This has attracted some criticism from fans, not liking the new set-up. However, I found it the natural progression of the show and the fact that it still works is a reminder of just how flexible the show really is.

The last couple of episodes are a little different to the rest as they're based on the Leverson enquiry - these ones aren't `laugh out loud funny,' but they're an integral part of the story and foreshadows what is to come

I would say the only downside to the season is that it's the last. Once it's ended it still leaves you with a sad feeling knowing that it's all over now and a thirst for more. I'm sure if the writers wanted to continue it they could, but they've decided to call time on it before it got stale.

Enjoy it for being the greatest political comedy since Yes Minister (and certainly the most sweary!).
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Oh, how great it was to see some of my favorite characters again! Ben Swain, Malcolm Tucker, Glenn Cullen and Terri Coverly are my particular favourites but to me the absolute perfect character is Peter Mannion. Roger Allam plays him brilliantly, a tired politician who has stopped trying and hates his career. To me, he is most lifelike, a bitter, sarcastic but still principled man who hates the way his party is going. Every line he gave had me laughing. "He was homeless only in the sense that he had no home" had me laughing for half an hour. His squabbles with Stewart Pierson are hilarious.

But every character and actor get a chance to shine in this season. Malcolm is still a gusher of inventive swearwords, still as evil as Voldemort but this time around he has been slightly defeated. Nicola Murray is still the gaff-prone klutz, Olly is still the self-centered jerk, Terri is still as oblivious as ever and Glenn Cullen is still by far the most sympathetic character in the whole of the Thick of It. Much praise to James Smith for his portrayal. The speech at the end of the last episode was superb and I hope he will at least be nominated for an acting award. The only character you can't loath.

Ianucci has said that this is probably the last series of the Thick of It, I really hope it's not. I want to see these characters again. "Veep" was a fun show but it didn't come close to being as good as the Thick of It.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
There's so much going on in this show that you can re-visit it time and time again and pick up something new. I suppose the novelties in this series are the way the focus switches between both the government and opposition ministers (this was rarer before), and the depiction of the coalition. As I think someone else here mentioned, the comedy takes a while to reach its peak, but when it does you'll be roaring with laughter—Adam Kenyon's comment to Glenn and Will about the zombie apocalypse works so well I nearly died!
Buy it. Even if you already own it. This is comedy so good it's worth owning twice.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Final series, which for me, was not as great as the earlier ones. The whole thing felt like it was unravelling just a bit, the structure looser and the humour not as crisp. There are certainly some great set pieces and themes in here (the "Mr Tick-el" debacle being one of them), but I thought it was running out of steam. Understandable, perhaps, after burning so hot, for so long. Certainly the actors, Capaldi in particular, get more chance to show more depth, particularly in the final episode, but overall it's past its incomparable prime in my view. Don't get me wrong, still outstanding and worth seeing, but (judged by its own standards) a good time to say goodbye. Brilliant piece of work, The Thick of It. Brilliant.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
The best in its class; and VEEP, the US version (sort of) is almost as good. But Season 4 is very different from the previous, so be prepared, particularly the enquiry episode.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Like all the best TV series, this finishes when it's ahead. We're not going to get Series 15 or whatever. All us fans of Armando's superb work WANT more but know we don't REALLY want it!

Series 4 needs to be viewed in sequence as there is a running storyline through all the episodes, and it all climaxes in the hour long special, Episode 6, set entirely in a judicial enquiry, that tool so beloved of politicians these days.

The resonances with real life enquiries recently - humblings, memory lapses, claims not to have been told what was going on - are stupendous and quite scary.

All set within a coalition government with the squabbling and backstabbing and contrary policy announcements, just like "No more wind farms" "Yes, there will be" that we had just last week from the government.

A must have for any fan of TTOI. A few deleted scenes and commentaries as extras.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
I knew before the fourth season even started that it was going to be good, Malcolm is Malcolm, and Jamie the Priest is sadly missed. If there is one addition in the fourth season that really hits the mark, it's the character of Peter Mannion. His tired, outspoken, sweary feedback to his own hippy spin doctor's plans in solving 'situations' are hilarious, he's obviously been around so long that he's become immune to intimidation by party whips; Armando Iannucci did well in giving Mannion more screentime. It's a real shame there will be no more Malcolm, Jamie, Hugh et al, but what can you do, all things must come to an end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
One of the reviewers says not laugh out loud funny. Well, can only speak for myself but I almost had to change the sheets in episode 3 when health worker who's been a thorn in the Government's side commits suicide while Stewart, the PR spin doctor takes his team on a bonding session at some country hotel [ yes and ho! ] where the kids play area is the only place to get a phone signal and a golfer snaps them on the kids slide, it's worth buying just for that but plenty more where that came from. Another buy and keep!. Anyone who finds politics interesting should add this to their collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
After what seems a lightweight start, this series suddenly gets very dramatic (in a 'House of Cards' way) and is very funny and gripping, if not quite reaching the highs of the 2 'Election Specials'. Without giving too much away (wouldn't want to leak), series 4 takes a sour look at the workings and machinations of the coalition government and the new opposition, which is now led by a hapless Nichola Murray.

It builds towards a public inquiry, not a million miles removed from the Hutton Inquiry, in which, arguably, the death of David Kelly was caused by the kind of vile people this programme satirizes. Malcolm Tucker (now which Hutton Inquiry witness was he allegedly based on again?) doesn't appear as often as in the previous shows, but he is still at the heart of the political plotting and every scene in which he is present is darkly humorous and superbly vitriolic.

The dialogue is still witty, but more toxic than ever before and Peter Capaldi's acting is spell-binding. Tucker is described as 'Iago with a blackberry' and Capaldi and the writers bring a Shakespearean dimension to the character. Aside from Iago there are analogies with the downfall of Richard II too.

There are a number of great comic performances where the character and the actor blend to such perfection that the actor never truly escapes the role ever again: Steptoe / Corbett, Fawlty / Cleese come to mind, for example, and Tucker / Capaldi may find himself, for better or worse, in this group of comedic geniuses.

It is not quite a perfect series. Too many characters swear and insult each other in a similar Tuckeresque way. Some argue this is due to the corrosive effect of Tucker on political communication, but some of the dialogue, perhaps, needed a bit more variety and nuance. Also, the 'liberal coalition' characters are suitably opportunistic, but slightly too puerile for my tastes. (I look at weasels like Clegg and Alexander and find them unpleasant, unprincipled, but not frivolous and I had hoped to see the 'junior' coalition partners in the series get more of a satirical battering - although Glenn takes a step in the right direction in the final episode.) Nonetheless this is clearly one of the few unmissable recent UK comedy shows. And what can replace it?
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
The coalition, a mixture of greasy pole riders, spin doctors and calamities that ensure hilarity. OK, so this isn't "Yes, Minister", but it is something better, a close analogy to real politics where politicians are tortured by the media into revealing their innermost thoughts (that must not be allowed to be heard at any costs!) and the subsequent "management" of the ensuing crisis. Great fun to watch and makes you feel a little more sympathetic to your MP when he's getting roasted by Paxman :P
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)