Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uncut - at last!
this is the uncut version of david attenboroughs masterpiece. 12 aprox. 45 min. episodes (not only 30 min. as in the previous edition available).
picture quality is crystal sharp, sound is fully stereo.
a pleasure to watch, highly recommended for any "fan" of david attenborough and his way of writing and presenting documentaries about nature.
Published on 4 Oct 2004 by Armin Undank

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only half the trials
The Trials Of Life, the third and final part of David Attenborough's Life Trilogy, was a masterpiece of broadcasting that deserved 10 stars (out of 5).
Unfortunately, what you're getting here is a cut-down version. The 12 original episodes each ran for 50 minutes, here they run for 30. This means that over 4 hours has been omitted. The start and end credits have also...
Published on 20 Oct 2003 by Glenn Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uncut - at last!, 4 Oct 2004
this is the uncut version of david attenboroughs masterpiece. 12 aprox. 45 min. episodes (not only 30 min. as in the previous edition available).
picture quality is crystal sharp, sound is fully stereo.
a pleasure to watch, highly recommended for any "fan" of david attenborough and his way of writing and presenting documentaries about nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check which version!, 10 July 2005
By 
Buyers, check which version your seller is offering.
The technical details above refer to the 4 disc 583min full version released in 2004, but many sellers will only have the 3 disc 358min cut version released in 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great on BLU RAY, 19 Nov 2012
This review is from: Trials of Life [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent remastering of a program that looks in all honest dreadful on the original 3 DVDs. This has been given a 1080i remaster at 50hz and a dts-hd soundtrack on 4 bluray 50gb discs. It is well worth the upgrade from the DVDS as the picture quality for a 30 year old series is great. Only real problem is the underwater shots which look sd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only half the trials, 20 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Trials Of Life, the third and final part of David Attenborough's Life Trilogy, was a masterpiece of broadcasting that deserved 10 stars (out of 5).
Unfortunately, what you're getting here is a cut-down version. The 12 original episodes each ran for 50 minutes, here they run for 30. This means that over 4 hours has been omitted. The start and end credits have also been removed.
What's particularly galling is the packaging clearly states "The complete series". How is leaving a quarter of the material out "complete"? Trade descriptions act, anyone?
On a technical level, there's nothing wrong with this disc at all. Sure, it's 4:3 ratio, but it was made in 1990 - 8 years before widescreen broadcasts were even available. It was also one of the first programmes to be made with stereo sound, which had just become available.
Overall though this was a huge disappointment, and gross mis-advertising on the BBC's part. One can only hope that the BBC re-release this as a genuine "complete series" and offer a free replacement to anyone who's bought this.
However, this is the only part of the Life Trilogy that has been butchered in this way. The recent releases of "Life On Earth" and "The Living Planet" are, indeed, complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My patience rewarded, 18 Oct 2004
At last the full, uncut version is available. What was the BBC thinking with the first release? Nevermind that though - this is one of David Attenborough's finest series. The wealth of information, the beautiful photography and the sheer reverance for the natural world which David Attenborough exudes makes this and his other BBC natural histories second to none. From the termite 'mansions' (my favourite) to the open ocean, we are given a perspective on the natural world which is awe-inspiring. David Attenborough gets attacked by birds, braves caves and clifftops and much more besides to bring us this unique portrait of our world. Unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars something's missing, 27 Feb 2004
After watching Life on Earth, the Living Planet and the Private life of plants this DvD is truely awful. We have been gripped by all the other Attenborough offerings and are 3/4 of the way through Life of Birds (which is superb) with Life of mammals waiting in the wings.
I saw the reviews here and thought I could live with the cutting of this series but I can't. Each episode feels hurried and there is no pleasure for me in watching them. Sure the series itself is probably worth 5 stars but not in this horrid butchered state. Buy all the full 'Life of' DvDs 1st and get this last (if you really have to).
I would dearly love the full series to be released but I don't think I'll ever look at the edited version again. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray worthwhile upgrade, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trials of Life [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's very quick to feel reassured if you upgrade from dvd to blu ray. The first shots are of stunningly scarlet crabs on Christmas Island (good grief how comfortably the Attenborough sits amid the raging red pincers), On the DVD they are washed out little souls. My DVD version is from the all singing Life boxset and displays the picture in a full screen version on widescreen. I assume through pan and scan or full zoom. Blu ray plays in 4:3 as in the original showing.....However I can"t shake it out of this picture by zooming. Normally I"d be well irritated...but the intensity of the picture like a glossy birthday card overcomes my dislike of the lack of widescreen. There was a reason why we all went wow back in 1990 when this was first shown. Relive the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb series, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trials of Life [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Trials of Life is my all time favourite David Attenborough series which is why I have given it 5 stars. But what you really want to know is what's the picture quality like. In places it's very grainy, almost like watching a worn out VHS tape, however, if you sit at a good distance from the screen then you can't see the grain and the PQ is actually very good and quite sharp. The colours are quite vivid in places too. It's a big improvement compared to the DVD version. The problem is though the colours on disc 4 still look a bit washed out and was nowhere near as good as discs 1 to 3. Not sure why. I was actually a bit disappointed but still gets 5 stars for just being The Trials of Life. And let's not forget that superb theme tune. One of the best theme tunes I have ever heard. Sometimes just put it on just to listen to it. This set contains all 12 uncut episodes plus a making of documentary. Highly recommended to any Attenborough or wildlife fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this series, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect for any Attenborough fan. Amazing footage for the time of filming and with that classic epic scene depicted on the front cover. Spectacular
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trials of Life-Brilliant, 14 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I bought this product I had only seen one episode. It is exactly what it says on the box, the natural history of behaviour but it is presented in a great way. There are hundreds of examples to keep you interested so it doesn't just focus on one animal. The facts are interesting and different. I actually used it as a revision aid for my Animal Behaviour module; it gave me more examples to talk about in my exam and helped me link together different aspects of the course.
I would recommend this DVD to anyone, the footage is amazing and David Attenborough is as always brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trials of Life [Blu-ray]
Trials of Life [Blu-ray] by Sir David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2012)
10.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews